We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Umzimvubu Main Road, Port St Johns 5120 South Africa
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (82)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (9)

About

#1 of 11 in Port St Johns
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
# Spotted Grunter Resort is situated on the banks of the mighty Umzumvubu river in the heart of the Transkei's wild coast. Our air-conditioned units make for a comfortable stay all year round. Units are fully contained for self catering. Braai facilities as well as a fully equipped restaurant and bar are on site. Large lawns with fantastic views of mountains. Relax on our deck overlooking the river or at our sparkling swimming pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
109Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 25
  • 13
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Explore51348776733 wrote a review 09 May
1 contribution
We had an awesome few days at The Spotted Grunter Inn. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The view is amazing. Having a glass of wine on the deck in the evening or a cup of coffee in the morning overlooking the river and mountains is the most relaxing and enjoyable time i have experienced in a while. If you want to break away from city life and get back to nature this is the place to go.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tracy P wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
We were a group of ladies going for a hike and we unfortunately broke down en route to Spotted Grunter from JHB on a Sunday night in the middle of nowhere - when phoned and begged - the owner of the establishment - Vernon - was not prepared to help/ offer assistance eventhough he had the means - he was not even prepared to assist with numbers of people that could possibly help us. We found out in our 4 day stay in Port St Johns that it is a wonderful town of extremely helpful and kind people from the helpful tow truck driver Palial Junior, to the owner of Ntaba River Lodge Ivan Moodley and the assitance offered by the resturant owner Steve of Steve's Pub & Restaurant - the owner of the Spotted Grunter - Vernon - is unfortunately NOT one of them. Thank you to the gentlemen that helped and assisted us - we are forver grateful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Vernon Malyon, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We, at Spotted Grunter Resort have always gone the extra mile for our guests and continue to do so, our reviews show this. On the night of your breakdown we called a local minibus owner to collect you, whom we understood you spoke to, but you thought the 1.5 hour travel time to get to you was too long. Unfortunately that would have been the travel time for anyone based in Port St Johns to get to where you were broken down. The minibus owner took it that his services were not needed as it would be quicker for you to arrange transport from closer to you, and he subsequently went off to bed. You did tell us that you were dealing with your insurance company as well as the AA. Our vehicle was stuck at Ntafufu at this time and only recovered 3 days later. If we had a vehicle at our disposal we would certainly not have hesitated to fetch you, albeit a trip of at least 1.5 hours. You stayed two nights with us and we chatted a few times during your stay. If you had brought this up during that time, I am positive we could have clarified the situation.
Read more
cae2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
Polokwane, South Africa1 contribution
Rooms nice, except the location of the one we happen to get - last one in a corridor, dark and not very attractive. I would, if I was the owner, use this room as storage, and not rent it out. Luckily we did not stay for an extended period.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Vernon Malyon, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Apologies for your bad experience. If this was brought to our attention at the time we would have most definitely moved you to a more suitable room. Regards Vernon
Read more
Ganishwar A wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions
Excellent family stay. Thanks to Vernon and the team. The friendliness and go the extra mile attitude was refreshing. I must state that the restaurant is a bit expensive...although food quality is impressive. Well done.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
cbaldiecb wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Over priced for what is offered. Water pressure is an issue. Offered a plug in mosquito but with no adaptor. Only supplied toilet paper an hour after we checked in. Poor inventory of food, did not even have sparkling water. Terrible mattress.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Vernon Malyon, Owner at The Spotted Grunter Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Apologies for your bad experience, we have noted your concerns and have put steps in place to prevent further similar incidents. Please contact me personally and your next stay will be at no charge. Regards Vernon, 0843167639.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapePort St Johns
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spotted Grunter Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Nearby attractions include Silaka Nature Reserve (6.2 km), Dwesa Nature Reserve (5.9 km), and Poenskop Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Steve's Pub & Restaurant, The Waterfront, and Cafe 167.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Spotted Grunter Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Spotted Grunter Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Spotted Grunter Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Spotted Grunter Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Spotted Grunter Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Spotted Grunter Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.