Lake Safari Lodge

Lake Safari Lodge

Traveller (88)
Standard Room in the late afternoon
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (21)

View prices for your travel dates

R 2 210
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Siavonga
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lake Safari Lodge is located on the shores of Lake Kariba in Zambia. We are an ideal destination for holidays, workshops, conferences and seminars in cool, relaxed surroundings. We are fully air-conditioned and have a very well stocked bar. The Restaurant, bar and pool have excellent views.The perfect Place to work, Play and Romance!Some of our facilities are:Business Services, 24 hour internet/email, Lush Gardens, Free Parking, Laundry facility, Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Air conditioned bar/lounge, Helicopter Pad.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Family

Location

Plot 230 Simamba Road, Siavonga 10101 Zambia
122Reviews7Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 46
  • 22
  • 3
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jhellq583822 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lake Safari Lodge is in the most spectacular location, right on the shore of Lake Kariba. The TV in the room didn't work, but we were so busy having fun, that it didn't faze us, however for a single traveler it may have been a problem. Water pressure in the shower was very weak, and the bed linen was old/worn. The aircon worked well, but the fan was a bit noisy. Apart from that, the pool for the residents was spotless and the grass and gardens were well kept (big thumbs up). The staff were good. Audrey at reception, and Nelson our skipper were great. The breakfast which is included in the price was really nice. The shop at the gate was outstanding! Freshly frozen seafood, delicious assortment of cheeses and delicious, well-priced fresh vegetables. We took lots back to our little town in Zambia with us. Overall a great weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 06 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of our property Lake Safari Lodge. We appreciate the rating and your feed back is valued, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and had the opportunity to experience what we have to offer. We have noted your comments regarding the rooms and are pleased to inform you that improvements on these aspects are well under way. If there was anything else you were not one hundred percent satisfied with please feel free to contact us directly. Kind Regards Lake safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron V wrote a review Jul 2022
Lusaka, Zambia15 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed my stay at the lodge. The owners and staff are super friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very standard for most hotels. The views are simply stunning and sunsets were totally spectacular.

Small details need to be taken care of like plugging in lamps next to beds and making sure they are working and electrical are safe. Too much furniture in the rooms. Towels in bathrooms before check in. Clean grout in bathrooms. Such a nice big TV in rooms but sadly did not have any channels. Would be great to have at least one international plug or adapter in the rooms but they do supply this service with a charging station at the dining area by the top pool.

Sadly some of the guests were totally messy and had littered in front of their unit and that was only cleaned up the following day which did create an eye-sore within the pristine environment .

I would certainly return to the lodge and look forward to flying the drone to get some great footage next time.

Thank you. See you soon..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The bottom rooms near peninsula were fantastic, R27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 04 Aug 2022
Dear Guest We would lie to thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of your stay with us at Lake Safari Lodge. We appreciate the rating and your feed back is valued, we are pleased to see you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service and the views on offer at Lake Safari Lodge. We have noted your feed back with regards to the room amenities as well as tv we want to assure you management will look into these issues. We hope to welcome you back to the Lodge in the not too distant future and we wish you safe travels ahead. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CuddSwipper wrote a review Jan 2021
Lusaka, Zambia1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lake safari lodge is an awesome place worth recommending, however service needs improvement. The receptionist who worked the day after our check-in day, should work on her customer service skills, she was a ‘fly on the cake!’. The aircons for the executive rooms are so noisy, i had trouble sleeping the first night, something (if possible) should be done about them. The meals were very good with excellent restaurant staff, the rest of the staff i interacted with, were quite friendly and helpful with heart warming smiles.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of our property Lake Safari Lodge, We appreciate the rating and your feed back is highly valued. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your overall stay and we are glad to see that you have enjoyed the meals and the service. We have noted your comments with regards to the customer service and the aircons. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Musolě K wrote a review Sept 2020
Newark, New Jersey8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bottom line: I'll go back in November for more than a night.

What I loved: The executive suite has an amazing lake view and comfy bedding. I'm very particular about food prep/ servings but I'll say I was pleasantly pleased with everything I ate. The two pools are a huge plus and I'm thankful one of the managers was obliged to a slightly later use of the pool so I can cool off. Parking is close to rooms and very safe with security at the one entry/exit.
They have boat cruises available but not enough people where game for it and I didn't feel an urgent need to spring for a solo ride, not that it's expensive.
I also appreciated the helpful and respectful staff.

Suggestions
The living room area has two 2-person couches with some slightly worn covers but pretty comfy and still decent. But I didn't see a need to whine about that, I spent most of my time out in the pool, but the water.

#DiscoverZambia and Support Local!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 08 Oct 2020
Dear Guest We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your rating and review of our property Lake Safari Lodge. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your visit with us and had the chance to experience the Lake Views and the services we have on offer. We have noted your suggestions and management will look into them, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mfuwe wrote a review Jan 2020
Isle of Man, United Kingdom48,595 contributions549 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on a day visit to the Kariba dam and had been recommended to lunch here so we did. The lunch was beautiful. We tried the Crayfish and were not disappointed. It took a while to arrive being cooked fresh of course and the bar service was prompt and efficient. Prices were very reasonable.
We will be back for more next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakeSafariLodge, Manager at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 01 Jan 2020
Dear Mfuwe Thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of our property Lake Safari Lodge. We are grateful for your review and rating, we are so pleased to read that you had a good experience, we take pride in preparing all our locally sourced fresh ingredients on site. We are pleased to see you had the opportunity to experience the Kariba dam as we as our service. we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Our reservations team is available around the clock if you wold like to make a booking next time: Email: bookings@lakesafari.com Reception Phone:+260211511148 Reception Mobile: +260962202038 (Call, Txt, imessage, Whatapp, Facetime) Reception Mobile: +260978659584 (Call, Txt, Whatapp) Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any information. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anastasia L wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a lovely location to take some time out. The staff was friendly the food was very tasty and fresh. We
had a room with the view of the lake and close to the guest pool which was perfect.
The bath/shower in our room might do with a few touch ups (did not inform management).
Definitely going back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear Anastasia L We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of your stay with us at Lake Safari Lodge. We appreciate the rating and your feed back is valued, we are pleased to read that you had the opportunity to experience the views and what we have on offer at Lake Safari Lodge. We have noted your comments with regards to the shower, we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ToweraKachingwe wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful trip. But the Lodge management needs to put up signage from the Siavonga district turn and atleast indicate on the signage the number of kilometers left to finish the trip. At one point, we thought we were lost and had to make many stops to ask locals if we were indeed on the right route as this was our first trip to travel along that route. So far so good we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LakeSafariLodge, Manager at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 08 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to submit a score and review of our property Lake Safari Lodge. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and your comments regarding the signage has been noted, Management will be looking into this soon as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and wish you safe travels ahead. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E.Smith wrote a review Jun 2022
Bridgend, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is located in the beautiful area of Siavonga near the Kariba Dam. The food was soo good buffet style with western and local options, food was fresh and tasty!
We stayed in executive lake view and these rooms were huge, clean, great view, Air con and big bed.
The pool area is beautiful and the views and palm trees make it a peaceful place to relax. I loved that they played modern songs but a drawn back piano instrumental versions which made the whole atmosphere so peaceful.
The bar was fully equipped so i enjoyed a cocktail in the pool whilst I read my book.
There is a beach area down some stairs nearby also.
Negatives: There is no net on the balcony doors so bugs can get in if your not careful. We were late checking in because previous guests hadn't checked out but the hotel offered us free lunch and a room upgrade because of the inconvenience so can't argue with that!
Overall a perfect stay i would definitely recommend and hope to come back for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 05 Jul 2022
Dear Guest We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of your stay with us at Lake Safari Lodge . We appreciate the rating and your feed back is valued. We are happy to see you enjoyed the atmosphere and we have noted your comments with regards to the balcony doors. We would also like to say thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thembie D wrote a review Feb 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe54 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is so beautiful, once you check in you think you are in a different world altogether. WE enjoyed the sunrise as we looked into the Lake and the sunset was just as amazing. I felt the place was quite the right place to unwind and rest. The rooms were fair simple and habitable, the breakfast was good but the other meals lacked variety as lunch and dinner were just almost the same, there is need to change around the meals considering that once you are in there with the ambience you do not feel like leaving the place. We had a great time by the pool next to our lakeview rooms. I was disappointed with the cocktails that we ordered as they seemed to be more water that the alcohol and mix.

Above all the stay was short and great
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Lakeview rooms have the best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 21 Mar 2022
Dear Thembie Thank you for taking the time to submit a rating and review of your experience with us at Lake Safari Lodge. We appreciate the feed back and your rating is valued, we are pleased to see you had a good overall experience with us and we have noted your feed back with regards to the meals at lunch and dinner as well as the cocktails. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future and we wish you many safe travels ahead. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HardyLMS wrote a review Jul 2022
Lusaka, Zambia47 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The experience in 2020 was better compared to the now experience. In 2020 we booked the rooms facing East. Now we are in the rooms facing Wæste (pun intended). The rooms are horrible. Rooms feel stuffed… food from restaurant was horrible. We are spending another night here. For tonight’s dinner we hopping to go eat from another restaurant. If you going to stay here… insist on rooms facing east. Pay extra if you have too… unfortunately I couldn’t pay extra as all rooms are fully booked… long weekend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book in advance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maurice Diamond, Owner at Lake Safari Lodge
Responded 04 Aug 2022
Dear Guest We appreciate you choosing Lake Safari Lodge, and taking the time to submit a rating and review of your time with us. We are disappointed to see you did not have the best time and service that we pride ourselves on at Lake Safari Lodge. We have noted your comments with regards to the rooms and the food and want to assure you that management will address the points you have highlighted. If there was anything else you were not one hundred percent satisfied with please feel free to contact us directly. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future for a more pleasurable experience with us at Lake Safari Lodge. Kind Regards Lake Safari Lodge.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LakeSafariLodge
Siavonga, Zambia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Trc-explore, I have checked availability for you and found we fully booked on the 24th Feb. Please contact us via email or mobile if you would like us to book you alternative accommodation at our sister hotel. Contact: Email: bookings@lakesafari. com Reception Mobile: +260962202038 (Call, Txt, Duo, Whatapp) Reception Mobile: +260978659584 (Call, Txt, Duo, Whatapp)
Answer from LakeSafariLodge
Siavonga, Zambia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Good Day Please see below contact numbers 0211 5111 48 +260 978 659 584 +260 962 202 038 Please do not hesitate to contact us should you require any additional information Best Regards lake Safari Lodge
Answer from LakeSafariLodge
Siavonga, Zambia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Good Evening I hope this message finds you well. Our Executive rooms are very spacious there is a king bed and we could easily fit two single beds in this particular room. we hope this is helpful please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you require any further assistance in making a booking. Best Regards Lake Safari Team
Answer from LakeSafariLodge
Siavonga, Zambia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Good Day These are our current Rates Standard Rooms: Single K900.00 Double: K1080.00 Executive Rooms: Single K1500.00 Double: K1800.00 All rates are inclusive of breakfast
HardyLMS wrote a tip Jul 2022
Lusaka, Zambia47 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance"
Read full review
Ron V wrote a tip Jul 2022
Lusaka, Zambia15 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bottom rooms near peninsula were fantastic, R27"
Read full review
Thembie D wrote a tip Feb 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe54 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lakeview rooms have the best views"
Read full review
TaonaN wrote a tip Jan 2022
Lusaka, Zambia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had room 18 and 19 - good view and close to the residents-only pool"
Read full review
Wattie wrote a tip Nov 2019
Livingstone, Zambia22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Executive rooms have a lovely balcony where you can see the sunset and rise"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Siavonga area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,495 - R 2,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake safari hotel siavonga
LOCATION
ZambiaSouthern ProvinceSiavonga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKE SAFARI LODGE - Now R 1 579 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶2̶3̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Siavonga, Zambia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Kariba (6.2 km) and Kariba Heights View Point (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lake Safari Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lake Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lake Safari Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Does Lake Safari Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lake Safari Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.