Time + Tide Chinzombo

Time + Tide Chinzombo

Just a few steps from your bedside; heaven
Traveller (156)
DAWN AT CHINZOMBO
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#18 of 24 lodges in South Luangwa National Park
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the ultimate in wild luxury at Zambia’s premier safari camp. Situated on a sweeping curve of the Luangwa River, Time + Tide Chinzombo brings style and sophistication to the Luangwa Valley. This wildly luxurious camp retains its bush authenticity with grass and canvas walls and spacious living areas that melt into the exquisitely tranquil riverside setting. Its six spacious luxury safari tents (including a two-bedroom, two-bathroom family tent) rest beneath ancient msikizi trees. Each has a private pool and soaking tub with panoramic views over the river and its abundant wildlife. Down a winding path, the main lodge beckons. Lounge on the riverfront sun deck with a book from the open-air library. Enjoy dinner under the stars, made with produce we grow ourselves. Sip a drink at the bar while browsing through old books and photos or around the fire pit suspended high atop the river bank. This is one of the most game-rich areas of South Luangwa National Park. Take a boat across the river with our experienced guides for a game drive, safari walk or boat cruise (seasonal) to catch sight of lions, leopards and other predator action.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Hot bath
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Ironing service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy

Location

Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
97Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
awnmiller wrote a review Jan 2016
Santa Monica, California7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everyone was so welcoming, knowledgable and treated us like family, my 3 year old daughter misses them. The location was perfect, animals everywhere, the giant green trees, incredible view and a cool breeze from the river. The food was incredible, I loved all the salads at lunch, they have a garden to grow vegetables, bake their own bread, make their own pasta, cater to all dietary requirements. We were so spoiled. The villas and the lodge are so beautifully done, you feel like you are in a travel magazine. It's crazy this place exists, better than the photos. And when you leave to go on safari, you are in the coolest land rovers with the BEST guides in Africa. Too good to be true.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EAG1125 wrote a review Dec 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiance and I recently spent 3 nights at Chinzombo and we were blown away by the simple elegance of the camp. Our chalet was perfectly comfortable -- equipped with private plunge pool, air conditioning, and a spacious bathtub -- and we opted out of some game drives to enjoy bird and game watching from our verandah. The manager and staff were wonderful and appropriately attentive: they checked in with us, offered lovely cocktails from the bar, and gave us our space to absorb the peace and quiet of the camp. Our game drives were eventful and wonderful -- but what else can you expect from the South Luangwa! With Abraham as our guide, we were also attuned to the smaller wonders of the bush: the returning cuckoos and kingfishers, and the beautiful vegetation bursting to life after the first major rains. A truly special experience and one we would recommend to anyone who enjoys an easy, sophisticated perspective on one of the most spectacular safari destinations.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1962Tim wrote a review May 2015
Ilkley41 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We started our trip with two nights at Chinzombo and followed it with a stay at Luwi (bush camp) and a sleep out, completing our fantastic stay with a night back at Chinzombo.

We arrived across the river to a warm Chinzombo welcome and were pampered and spoilt from there on.

This is an unfenced camp with wildlife free to roam around although we never once felt unsafe or at risk. There are camp wardens around the site 24 hours a day. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and very comfortable. The staff are smiling, attentive and could not be more helpful. The food was excellent, varied and constantly available - you will not lose any weight here!

The game drives were fantastic and our guide, Shaddy, seemed to have eyes in the back of his head and a sixth sense. We saw all we wanted to and more.

Luwi was very different but equally enjoyable. It was luxurious but small and friendly, and as with Chinzombo, we had beautiful linen bedding and supremely comfortable beds. Once again the team were smiling, friendly and attentive. The food was great and the hospitality faultless. The sleep out was exciting and something to remember. Once again, despite being out in the 'wild' with only a circle of fires (and an armed guard) to keep inquisitive animals away, we always felt safe and in good hands. We woke with the sun rising around our mosquito net 'room', well rested and ready for the breakfast already cooking on the fire. Lawrence, our guide and the King of Luwi (according to Prince Frank, his brilliant second in command) went out of his way to make our experience a great one - and he succeeded.

Our final night at Chinzombo turned out to be extra special as the team had arranged for a romantic dinner for two on the 'terrace' in front of our room, overlooking the river, and we fell asleep to the quiet chomping of the hippos trimming the grass close by the front of the open rooms.

A magical trip and we were looked after so well by the whole team - Yaliwe, Robert (aka Jaguar), Shaddy and Lawrence especially. ALL the staff were exceptional!!

This is real Africa and if you are looking for sterile straight edges, closed door privacy and clockwork predictability, go to Dubai. If you want a true African luxury experience and with friendly professional guidance - this is the place for you.

We will be going back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie H wrote a review Jan 2015
Dubai, United Arab Emirates13 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful New Year's Eve at the lodge with a toddler. Zambia was my 121st country to visit and I have been on numerous safari's and the staff at chinzombo were amazing. We had great game drives, watched hippos graze from our room and braved braved many exotic insects in and around our room. We highly recommend the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
m m wrote a review Dec 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had promised ourselves a safari 34 years ago (kids, mortgages, parents etc caused a slight delay!).
We stayed 5 nights during the 'rainy season' in early December when the prices were lower. The camp was quiet, but that suited us and we were looked looked after like royalty by an enthusiastic team of hosts.
'Innocent' our guide was highly knowledgeable (we both studied zoology) and our walks in the bush a (safe) assault on the senses and not to be missed.
The accommodation was less 5 star camping and more the presidential suite at Gleneagles ++ that happens to have canvas walls. The food and beverages were included, constant, varied and of a high standard.
All in all, expensive, worth every penny and an experience never to be forgotten. December was a great time to go.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo
Responded 13 Jan 2015
Thanks for your review and it might have taken you 34 years to get here, but I'm sure it won't take you that long to come back - at least somewhere in Africa for another safari! December is a fabulous time to come and I'm so pleased you agree, there is something about the colour green here which is indescribable. Thanks for your feedback on Innocent and the Chinzombo team, we'll be sure to pass it on.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tina Wright wrote a review Oct 2014
London, United Kingdom18 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Complete and utter luxury, it was lovely to sit and watch the animals across the river. Unfortunately staying close to the airport meant that if our guide who was very good saw an animal and if we stopped, so did another 4 or 5 cars. It seemed even worse at night with all the car lights on. When we were told that one of the managers thought she had Malaria I could have said that I was not at all surprised as I suspect the light pollution in the park minimised the chance for insectivorous bats to eat the 3000 plus mosquitoes that each bat normally eats every night as they don't like flying if its light. The camp was also had an enormous number of lights on at night so not as many insectivorous bats would be flying around it either. Which coupled with the water would mean more malaria carrying mosquitos are around though we did not get bitten.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NormanCarr, Owner at Time + Tide Chinzombo
Responded 14 Oct 2014
Dear Tina, Thanks for your feedback and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the views from you room; we are certainly lucky to have the animals come right into and around camp on a regular basis. In other feedback you have sent through via your agent, you mentioned that our guides and guiding was excellent, so I’m pleased you enjoyed this aspect more than your daughter (see review on Chinzombo below). Katie, our lovely Chinzombo Manager unfortunately suffers from migraines; it was this that she thought she had rather than malaria. Chinzombo is fortunate enough to be on mains electricity which many of our guests enjoy especially after they have been staying in our remote bushcamps which run on solar power. It’s a shame you felt it had a negative impact on the environment - this hasn't been raised as an issue before and we can assure you that every effort was taken during the construction of the camp to make it as eco-friendly as possible. You also mention light pollution on the game drives - it is a busier area than our remote bushcamps where you will not see another soul. It sounds like you had a particularly bad experience and for that we can only apologise and hope that the sightings you did have and the memories you made were overwhelmingly positive and not marred by this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hansNetherlands wrote a review Sept 2014
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands345 contributions198 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me this time start what would be against staying here......the location is not the best there is. You might have to share the leopard you spot with a lot of cars also coming out ot Luangwa as that is exaclty where you are. On the edge of the park. Having said that, can live get any sweeter? What a super place and a privilige to spend the night! Incredible.......How it looks, how it feels and the deluxe feeling they give you. That is a once in a live experience but be aware that there is a hefty price tag attached to that.......I do think however it is a great place to start you visit to South Luangwa.......They tried something that few people have done before them as there is the AC which is a special system just covering the bedding are, i mean, just to only think of that is special......Well, go and try out for yourself. I think the only complaint possible is that this is too luxurious for camping in Africa.......
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith L in Charlotte wrote a review Aug 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina340 contributions172 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I think the best way to approach the review for Chinzombo is to break it into two pieces: (i) animals and (ii) accommodations.

Starting with the animals, Chinzombo is based immediately outside of the South Luangwa National Park, granting easy access. In fact, sitting on the porch of your villa, you will be able to see hippo, impala, elephant and baboons. During our 3 day stay, we went on four game drives with sightings of 10 leopards, 2 prides of lions (there are no cheetah in South Luangua) and plentiful giraffe, buffalo, zebra and hippo. Our guide was the very knowledgeable and humorous Brian, who had worked in the park for 14 years. Having been on prior safaris in the Serengiti and the Kruger, I would say that South Luangwa and Chinzombo deliver an experience on par.

Now for the accommodation: Chinzombo offers high style and modern villas with private plunge pools, fine dining, and a relaxed approach that takes your lead. The common spaces and the villas are quite simply, among the most luxurious that I have seen in the bush. The villa is open plan with large sleeping, sitting, and bathroom areas. In addition, there are wonderful views from your large porch which offers ample seating, loungers and a private plunge pool. The villa walls are canvas with the rear covered in screens, allowing you to soak up the views and catch breezes. Rest assured that your nearest neighbor is probably at least 40 feet away, offering complete privacy. In the room, you will find yard after yard of cool linen draping and covers, wood furniture with leather accents, and a tone on tone color palate. The rooms offer a certain nod to classic safari styling, but this is a more modern approach that still offers warmth and comfort without the cliches. A special feature to note is the unique a/c device above your bed that gently blows cool air to make sleeping in hot weather more comfortable. One of the things we enjoyed most was lying in our bed and gazing out directly to the sunrise as it comes up over the bush and the river and awakens you gently - that will be a memory we carry forever. We also enjoyed coming back to camp for a cocktail after long drive in the bush.

Dining at Chinzombo is a treat. Meals are served in the open air living areas against backdrop of the river and the park. Private dining is also an option. We met new friends at Chinzombo and opted to dine with them, a change that was readily accommodated. Breakfasts are continental style, but eggs an bacon can be cooked to order. Espresso drinks were available via the Nespresso machine. Lunches are served buffet style and favor a variety of fresh vegetable salads (a welcome change from the heavier camp fare seen elsewhere) with a protein (ask for the fish cakes while you are there). Dinners were delicious with nods to French cooking (think duck breast, cheese soufflés, beef in pastry, etc).

Making all of the above work in seamless and fabulous style is Katie, the camp manager, and her crew. Know that they will do whatever humanly possible to accommodate you and make you feel at home. In particular, Katie has a very friendly and vivacious personality and we enjoyed getting to know her on a personal level.

In summary, we loved the wildlife we saw, our guide Brian, the fabulous accommodations, the great food and sundowners, Katie and her hospitality and the opportunity to make some new friends in camp. Don't even think twice about booking this camp!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DD17DD wrote a review Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom250 contributions96 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely end for our 1st Safari trip to Zambia. Its river location requires a boat trip on arrival for all to get to the lodge which was a fun, quirky extra for myself, husband and two teenage children. Mind the hippos and the crocs in the river! The camp is more luxurious than other surrounding lodges and the decor is modern but extremely tasteful. We immediately felt relaxed here and were warmly greeted by the staff. We stayed in two large luxury tented rooms and were surrounded by a few more luxuries then were offered in the Bush camps! Fridge, wi-fi and our own electric points etc. Our guide Shaddy was brilliant, aided by Gideon, a quiet but extremely good scout. Thank you for answering all our questions and making our drives so informative. We had 3 nights here and the game viewing was plentiful. We spotted leopards every game drive which was wonderful - thank you Gideon!!. We were very close to all the animals and I took some amazing photos here! Not so many lions in this part of the park, but we heard them at night, along with the baboons calling out, hyena and many other animals. Do be prepared for bats flying at the tent and lizard/frogs/spiders about as well! The hippos were the funniest when one "grunted"? it then set off all the others in the river, with their nightly territory calling and there were a lot of them!! They tended to leave the river late at night and could be heard eating outside the tents - which took a little getting use to, but added to the fun!! The food was all outstanding and the chef met my dietary requirements perfectly - thank u so much. Better than many London restaurants and my fussy 14 yr old ate everything. Top marks ! x
On route to the airport we had two stops. One to Tribal Textiles a great place to buy a gift if you want one, selling all locally made crafts including many linens and wooden carved animals. We then stopped off at a British ladies house who sells the rare Norman Carr books -we were quite taken with the brief account given to us of his life's work here in South Luangwa. We felt we'd like to read about it in some more detail. Consequently we came away with two of his books to read sometime soon. All in all, a brilliant 3 days stay thoroughly enjoyed by us all. A real adventure!! Many thanks to Norman Carr Safari's, especially Katie, the wonderful host and to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TwoTimez wrote a review Jun 2014
36 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After roughing it (well sort of) at the bush camps for 7 days to arrive by boat at Chinzombo was an amazing site. The rooms were massive with everything you can need, even a hair dryer! The views from the rooms and the common lounge area were fantastic and an added bonus was the visits from the local wildlife.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Luangwa National Park area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chinzombo - Norman Carr Safaris
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TIME + TIDE CHINZOMBO - Lodge Reviews (South Luangwa National Park, Zambia)

Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire