Time + Tide Chinzombo

Time + Tide Chinzombo

Just a few steps from your bedside; heaven
Traveller (156)
DAWN AT CHINZOMBO
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#18 of 24 lodges in South Luangwa National Park
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Experience the ultimate in wild luxury at Zambia’s premier safari camp. Situated on a sweeping curve of the Luangwa River, Time + Tide Chinzombo brings style and sophistication to the Luangwa Valley. This wildly luxurious camp retains its bush authenticity with grass and canvas walls and spacious living areas that melt into the exquisitely tranquil riverside setting. Its six spacious luxury safari tents (including a two-bedroom, two-bathroom family tent) rest beneath ancient msikizi trees. Each has a private pool and soaking tub with panoramic views over the river and its abundant wildlife. Down a winding path, the main lodge beckons. Lounge on the riverfront sun deck with a book from the open-air library. Enjoy dinner under the stars, made with produce we grow ourselves. Sip a drink at the bar while browsing through old books and photos or around the fire pit suspended high atop the river bank. This is one of the most game-rich areas of South Luangwa National Park. Take a boat across the river with our experienced guides for a game drive, safari walk or boat cruise (seasonal) to catch sight of lions, leopards and other predator action.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Hot bath
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Ironing service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy

Location

Luangwa River, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
97Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BertrandMaire84 wrote a review Sept 2014
Paris, France
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Chinzombo was the last camp we visited after almost a month of travelling in Botswana and Zambia for our honeymoon. We picked Chinzombo as our last camp on purpose, this camp being brand new and luxurious, perfect to relax and enjoy your own swimming pool before going back home and after a month of wild adventure. This was also the 4th Norman Carr camp we stayed at, 5th if you consider the “Return to wild” experience as a “camp” in itself. We were very much looking forward to it.

Katie, the young co-manager, warmly welcomed us on arrival and showed us around. The camp is of course beautiful and whether you like the style or not, it’s exactly like on the photos. We loved it and also loved our huge and modern villa with our private swimming pool. We had lunch shortly after arriving, and again were very satisfied with the food.

The wildlife around is great, and you can see huge crocs basking from your terrace, hippos fighting by day in the river and grazing by night all around camp. Our guide, who picked us up in the morning at Luwi Camp was very nice and knowledgeable, but you wouldn’t expect anything less from a Norman Carr’s guide, would you? The only thing you need to know is that this part of the South Luangwa is not as remote as where the bush camps are set. Here, in the Mfuwe area, the wildlife is great, really, but there are numerous lodges and roads in this part of the park, therefore you WILL see many other cars, sometimes gathering in number around a leopard or a pride of lions. As it happened to us when we stayed at Kapani, you might get stuck with more than 10 other vehicles because there is one of the big 5 around. It is up to your guide not to accept to be part of that. We did not experience it with our guide from Chinzombo who was a respectful and very experienced guide. But if you are looking for a very remote place, and if you want to avoid other tourists as far as possible, you should consider going to the northern part of the park, where the small and intimate bush camps are set.

Anyways, you think Chinzombo will have everything for you to experience the very best of Africa, and to match your expectations. Wrong: it lacks charisma, and more importantly, it lacks service. When you compete with other camps in Zambia but also in Southern Africa like Chiawa, Sindabezi Island, Mombo, Duba Plains or others, you can not afford to be so wrong. It is nice to hear Chinzombo’s male manager telling you over and over that “everything is possible”, you just wish he would do it. A few examples:
- It was our honeymoon and our fourth camp with Norman Carr Safaris? We didn’t receive any personalized note when we entered the room, nor special treatment or attention in 2 days
- I asked if they could lend me a tripod for my camera because I had forgotten mine? I am still waiting for the answer although the manager promised me to look into it
- We used our towels around our private pool? They weren’t replaced nor folded when we got back from our safari, not once in two days
- My wife asked the manager to take her breakfast in the villa the following morning? They were more than 30 minute late, the scrambled eggs were cold, and there was neither salt nor pepper...
- We asked the manager to prepare us a bath for when we got back from safari in the evening? First he makes us wait more than 1 hour (!) at the bar when returning to camp, pretending there is a problem with the water in our bathroom. Fine. Then, when we’re finally walked to our villa, we find a half-empty bathtub with boiling water, so hot it’s impossible to get in, and no bubble, no candle, no bottle… how romantic!
- We were promised (without asking for it) a special dinner for our last evening? Again, we are still waiting for a special something
- We asked for a late breakfast on our last morning? There was simply no buffet anymore at 8 a.m., the time we had agreed upon with the manager the night before… and since everything was gone, we had to ask the staff to get some food and drinks, food which consisted of the following: butter and jam with some bread which had been toasted 2 hours earlier for the other guests, and no fruit juice at all because “they ran out of it”… oh but yes, we managed to get coffee…

Well, it is this almost constant inattention to us and to details which really disappointed us. Not the setting of the camp, not the guiding which was great, but the serious lack of service (once in camp) that you expect at this level of price and reputation, especially when you compare it to other lodges in Africa or anywhere around the world. This lack of attention and warmth, especially from the manager (I stress it) didn’t make us feel very good after a while, like we weren’t at the right place, like we didn’t matter (maybe because we were a lot younger than the other usual guests and not taken seriously..?). So instead of feeling a great atmosphere, we felt like the camp was an empty shell, beautiful but without soul.

Last but not least, I honestly told the manager how we felt about our stay and let him know our disappointment before leaving, hoping it would be useful in the future. As an answer we got a “sorry but we’re only opened for 1 year”… What kind of answer is that? Again, at this level of reputation, when you gather among your best guides and staff, when you pretend to be the flagship of such a respected and famous safari company, and when you charge your guests a minimum of 750$ a night per person, it is inacceptable to hear that. Either was the manager simply laughing at us, or was he incompetent. In any case, it is inacceptable. We sincerely hope that Chinzombo will not only take advantage from Norman Carr Safari’s reputation, but that they eventually will live up to their guests’ expectations, like their other camps Nsolo and Luwi for instance.

To finish on a positive note though, we want to thank our two “masseuses” who offered us an incredible massage in our villa, and who were very attentive and smiling. What a change…
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NormanCarr, Director of Sales at Time + Tide Chinzombo
Responded 06 Sept 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for putting a lot of thought into it. Firstly let me say we take these comments very seriously and are extremely sorry you had this experience. I know you mentioned some of these to Tom/Katie when you were in camp and they apologised personally already and have made sure that the immediate things you mentioned were improved upon as quickly as possible. We pride ourselves on giving a fabulous personal service, so again I'm sorry you felt that didn't happen when you were in camp as every guest is important to us. We’re glad that you enjoyed the other Norman Carr camps and Chinzombo Spa, and again, thank you for your feedback and we will certainly endeavour to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunny77777 wrote a review Sept 2014
Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles
No doubt about it, Chinzombo is an amazing place. So many wonderful things about it and it's so, so close to 5 stars. I just have to be a little extra critical here given the sheer cost of a stay at this lodge (close to $2k per night in the high season) - and there are a few easy improvements that could be made to get it up to that caliber.

Highlights:
1) The view: the view from Chinzombo is spectacular. It's across from a lagoon (you take a pontoon boat to get to/from your safari rides) and on the other side of the lagoon are a ton of animals - we spotted giraffes, baboons, crocodiles, warthogs, hippos, and more just from our deck in the afternoon. Probably one of the best views from a room that I've ever had in my life. rivaled only by a room on the caldera in Santorini.

2) Main areas: The main areas are very upscale. It might even feel a bit flashy if you're coming from the bushcamps, but it's very pleasant. Lots of areas to relax and enjoy the breezes. Decor is more modern than other safari camps I've been to - more clean lines and light colors. There's a nice fire pit surrounded by plush seating. Great spot for pre-dinner drinks. Nice bar area as well. The good thing is that with only 6 villas, it never gets crowded and is always comfortable.

2) Rooms and deck: The rooms are huge and quite lux. Large comfortable bed, desk and chair, huge separate bathroom area including a standalone bathtub. There's even a version of air-conditioning - just over the bed, but it cools it off enough to be comfortable. Nice shower with good toiletries, including conditioner. Plenty of hot water. The deck was amazing - not only for it's view but for it's variety of options. There are a few chaise lounges, a large sunken couch, a separate chair - and of course there's the plunge pool. This makes for an amazing afternoon. I recommend skipping the siesta and taking full advantage of being out on this wonderful deck and watching the wildlife.

3) Wifi in the main areas - it was nice to be completely without wifi in the bushcamp. However, it was equally nice to be able to get connected here. The connection can be slow or non-existent at times, but it was nice to be able to check in. As a side note, there are lots of plugs in the room to recharge all of your devices.

4) Staff: Everyone was very friendly - especially Katie, the manager. It's a young team and everyone is very enthusiastic. Our guide Brian was also great, not to mention funny.

5) Food: The food is excellent. And there is lots of it! Breakfast, tea and cookie stop on the morning drive, lunch, afternoon tea, sundowners and snacks stop on the afternoon drive, and of course dinner. Breakfast is the typical toast, eggs, bacon, etc. Lunch is a buffet with mainly vegetarian items and one or two meat options. Dinner is 3-courses. You choose your dinner items (appetizer, entree and dessert) when you go for afternoon tea. Options were always one meat and one veggie for the appetizer and entree and either a traditional dessert or a cheese plate for dessert. Wines are good and champagne is included (rare for a safari lodge).

6) Game drives: We only had one other couple join us for each game drive. I believe the maximum per drive is 6 persons, so everyone gets a "window" seat (though the vehicles are open-air). This small group idea makes a world of difference. I have been to a lodge where every single seat is full, even the middle seat and it definitely makes for a lesser experience. Finally, night drives are permitted in South Luangwa. This is key (many other parks in Africa do not allow this and is gives you a better opportunity to see animals hunting).

However, there are a small things that, if improved upon, could make a huge difference:

1) Bugs in the room: I have a horrible phobia of moths. Odd, I know. But I emailed the lodge prior to our stay and asked them to do everything they could to make sure there were none in the room. To my horror, there were actually two in the room when we first got there. To their credit, the staff removed them promptly and we never had an issue again (though we did keep the lights off at night). But had someone checked before our arrival, it could have gone a long way towards ensuring comfort. Yes, this is Africa and the point is to be amongst nature. However, I also need to mention that this is the only place on the three safaris I've been on that this has been an issue. Why? Because the rooms aren't completely sealed. The tent flaps don't zipper completely to the ground, there's a large gap in the door when you close it, and their are gaps in the floorboards as well (letting in spiders and other creepy-crawlies). All of these could easily be fixed, even the floorboards could be sealed with some putty. At $2k per night, I highly doubt I'm the only guest that doesn't like bugs in the room.

2) Wifi in room: It's actually advertised on the Norman Carr site that there is wifi in the villas. There is not. Only in the main areas. I wasn't craving being connected that much but again, another simple fix that at this price point should be available.

3) Little things: It would have been nice to have some blankets in the vehicles. This is something we've had at every other camp. It doesn't get freezing here, especially not in late August, but it does cool off a little bit and it would have been a nice touch.

4) Towels: The towels weren't always replaced even when placed on the floor. It's not something that really bothers me as there were plenty of towels, but again, just a small detail that should be polished up.

As for the game viewing, which is, of course, key to any safari - the area is probably not the best for viewing. Though we did see wild dogs (apparently really rare), a pride of lions from afar, some sleeping lions, a few leopards and of course many elephant and hippo (which are so common in South Luangwa) - the set-up in this area makes it a bit difficult. Per park guidelines, vehicles aren't allowed to go off-road. Not only that, but it's a relatively busy area of the park and another guideline states that only 3 vehicles should be at a sighting. There's a balance here...of course, you don't want it to be crowded but then again, you may miss seeing things if there are already too many vehicles there. Generally I found that the game viewing was better at the bushcamp we visited in South Luangwa South. But variety is always good, so I'd recommend a mix of both areas (or more if you have time).

It's a truly wonderful place and I'd stay here again, but would hope they can make these little updates in order to make it truly world class.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy S wrote a review Aug 2018
Port Douglas, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The drive from Mfuwe Airport to Chinzombo is a game drive in itself. The Lodge, situated on the Luangwa River is complete Luxury and the Accommodation stunning. Warmly welcomed by Hosts, Billie and Ben, you are instantly spoilt by all the staff and served delicious food for lunch. The accommodation is huge with a wonderful deck to relax on inbetween game drives or a relaxing cool down in your own plunge pool. When you do tear yourself away from the Lodge and experience a game drive, you are treated to a vast array of animals including a surprising number of Leopard sightings. Very very special Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tommaso Totis wrote a review Sept 2017
Treviso, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 nights and it had been just a perfect time. Beautiful villas along the river bank with privacy from other guests but st the same time wonderfully surrounded by wildlife. Sometimes you can see hippos or even elephants walking in front of your room while you are lying in your bed and there will be just a mosquito net between you and them!
Very gentle staff, good food and just unforgettable experiences in the park!
Just wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Boudecca wrote a review Sept 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Chinzombo was in its opening season. Most new operations have teething problems and Chinzombo was no exception. The problems we encountered were probably exacerbated by the fact that the on site husband and wife management team had no previous experience in the nuances of running a safari camp. Though seasoned in small hotels in Europe, the dynamic Scottish team, were, in my opinion, handed a job that even a seasoned manager would find challenging. .

The camp itself was gorgeous, the most elegant of the many camps we visited during our Zambia journey. Situated on the river, designed by an Italian architect, constructed out of gorgeous materials, this property is unique in the South Luangwa area.and is by far the most elegant camp in the area. If you like your safari with the luxury of the South African camps this is the place for you. It even offered a version of air conditioning which was much appreciated on the very hot nights. During our stay, the camp attracted a very interesting and eclectic group of sophisticated travelers which made for interesting conversations. This is contrast to other camps we visited which favored British families.

The food service was okay, nothing special but one does not go on safari for the food. However, we were frequently hungry because the portions were so small. The management was very eager to please and worked very hard at trying to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. This is quite a task when you are in your twenties and are dealing with a very upscale type of guest.

Our dissatisfaction resulted from a lack of experience which was not the fault of the managers but the fault of those who hired them, very quickly and very serendipiiously from what we understand. The managers did not understand the essence of safari and I thnk sometimes taken advantage of by some of the sophisticated guests.. An experienced manager would be tuned into the individual game drives and would pair people up for the drives and pretty much keep them together for the duration of their stays, unless of course there were personality differences. This allows continuity of the ranger and gives him better control of the vehicle and the sightings. Also, the guests are all on the same page in terms of what game was seen on previous drives.

Much to our disappointment, we were there for four days and had four different drivers and four different sets of truck partners. There was no obvious reason for this. What that meant is that each day that we went out, we had to hear the same explanations about the various animals over and over again. Since the explanation was given by four different drivers, the "facts" were different on occasion but the guest questions were the same. The search for animals became redundant and the entire experience became quite boring. Chinzombo's viewing range required a boat trip to the main part of the park;s entrance, which was mobbed by trucks from other game lodges. This meant that five trucks could pull up to a leopard sighting which was hundreds of meters away and no one could see anything. Also, there are no lions in this part of the park which again was disappointing.

Finally, some of the drivers were grumpy, and at least one was very unhappy because he apparently had been demoted from a desk job which he liked to a field position driving the truck. These attitudes permeated the game drive.

The bottom line was that there was zero management of the trucks. It almost seemed that the more experienced guests hijacked the game drives since a couple of them were given private trucks with the same guide at no additional cost (yes, I asked) while the rest of the guests were shuffled around in the remaining vehicles. It was a bit strange.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise P wrote a review Apr 2014
Guildford, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It was green season so not busy and possibly staff out of practice but did not deliver on a luxury experience - apart from incoming helicopters breaking the silence as they ferried camp owners back and forth. Cigarette butts in fire pit but no fire - breakfast or any other time! Food good. Decor not for me - very colonial with belts, buckles and chains dominating in a white setting which does not blend with the environment at all. Guiding great but no encouragement to walk which I had expected. Rooms good but not serviced properly - no attention to detail with towels left trailing, over sized robes for giants only , dirty cutlery etc. Electrics in our tent kept shorting - specially in the night and management unable to fix. Unsettling to be in camp in reserve with no lights, no torch (not company policy!) and no communication. Beware of luxury accommodation that has no feedback forms! Luckily we also went to Tongabezi and KayaMawa both of which were exceptional. ( and had feedback forms)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NormanCarr, Director of Sales at Time + Tide Chinzombo
Responded 17 Apr 2014
Dear Louise, Thank you for the feedback here, which you also mentioned while you were in camp. We're very sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we pride ourselves on our service to guests and rest assured we are addressing the power and other issues you had in your Villa. During your stay the helicopter was also used for a medical emergency for a resident of the Valley. We have followed up directly with your agent and hope your memories of the positives from your trip like the guiding, food and wildlife will be the ones you remember in time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoldfishLondon wrote a review Aug 2013
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can add very little to the rave reviews of this place - but here goes... We too loved every minute of our stay at Chinzombo. We stayed there with our three children (10, 13 and 15) and had the most fabulous time.

Finn and Wendy were superb hosts and coming back to the camp at the end of each drive felt like coming home. Shaddy, our guide, was very knowledgeable and looked after us during the drives and during our walking safari (well worth doing - although I found out more about animal poo than I ever thought or hoped to know!).

The lodge is beautiful - right by the river so you can sit outside your room and watch the animals come down to drink - holding your breath as the crocodiles bask waiting for a potential meal. As the year progresses I suspect that the location by the water will mean even more animals gather. It feels tucked away and private - away from all the activity in the park itself. The accommodation is luxurious whilst still feeling like a "camp". We were woken one night by the sound of a hippo eating grass just the other side of the canvas from our bed and saw a leopard just away from the camp.

The attention to detail at the camp is amazing. After a dusty drive around the park it is wonderful to feel so pampered when you get back - and of course I mustn't forget the sundowners with delicious nibbles, the excellent selection of wines, the lovely lovely breakfasts, the cozy capes in the early mornings, the open fire for evening drinks before dinner and generally wonderful service. This really is luxury safari!

One other thing worth doing is asking to go to see Chipembele. This is a charity run by an amazing couple from England who help to educate local school children about the wildlife, provide a sanctuary to injured or abandoned animals as well as being involved in the drive against poaching. Wendy suggested it might be interesting for us and our children - and it really was. If you have time do go. It gives you another insight into what goes on in and around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
andal03 wrote a review Dec 2019
Darien, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife had an accident in Malawi while traveling to Zambia, so we will forever be thankful for the great service and flexibility we were provided. They took such extraordinary care of us and they did everything in their power to accommodate and change our itinerary to what ever worked best including spending the first night at the closest camp to the airport to see how she was doing and get a South African doctor to check her out (this doctor was fantastic, and even with the poor resolution x-rays of my foot, she could diagnose that I had bone fractures and treat my wounds, etc., that the Malawi doctor could not). When the Tide and Team later saw we enjoyed being in the northern part of Southern Luangwa (less crowded ) they offered us at the last minute another camp to stay overnight for us (which turned out to be a favorites). All their camps worked extremely well as a team, communicated together and up to date on how I was doing. Service was perfection at all the camps, and a shout out to the women’s management team at Chinzombo (believe Glory or Gracie, Faith and Precious) and there was also exceptional team at Kakuli too, who unfortunately can remember their names.

Aesthetically, a beautiful, very spacious and well-designed – both camp main areas and ‘tents’ in lovely setting right on the river. I was initially a little put off by use of synthetic materials, but Tide and Team’s thought is that this would save trees. the camp does border where hunting is still allowed, but didn’t see any impact of that.

For such a beautiful camp, they one thing they could improve is the cuisine to classify as luxury. This is something we would have never thought important on safari, but having had so many exceptional dining experiences in the bush, even camps far away from a major city, it becomes part of our comparison now. Also they seem to allow smoking close to the dining area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mindy Roberts, General Manager at Time + Tide Chinzombo
Responded 24 Feb 2020
I apologise as I see our response to your lovely review wasn't posted by TripAdvisor, therefore I do apologise in the delay. Thank you for your delightful review and we wish your wife well on her recovery after her accident in Malawi and I am so pleased that you experienced a wonderful safari with all of that. We look forward to you returning in the near future to Zambia Best regards the time + Tide family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert H wrote a review Jul 2018
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed of our time there. Being the Time and Tide premier camp, the expectation of comfort and luxury was there prior to our arrival and the reality was that it met all of those expectations. The communal areas – bar, dining and casual lounge – are well appointed and appropriate. Our accommodation was very comfortable and provided all of the niceties that one would expect from a premier camp. The lack of privacy between the villas may concern some travellers however the units had great outlook over the water and to the animals of the other side. Of a night we could see the hippos and buck coming in to graze just in front of our unit. Dining is individual and the food choices are varied and well presented. The lunches, in particular, were excellent.
The staff are well trained and cater for ones needs and more.
Our guide, Friday, was very good company and knew the park, its animals and birds well which was great. We had good sightings of Leopard and Lion together with the rest of the animal and birdlife.
We highly recommend Chinzombo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gordon C wrote a review Jul 2017
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is amazing. The best accomodation we stayed in on safari. It is expensive but it delivers everything you would expect and more. Food, wine, people, attention to detail is faultless. Location on the river is great. Hippo's at night chomping on the grass sets the mood for safari. The game viewing and river venue makes for a great stay. The guide was excellent. My only criticism was the pick up at the airport was not a good start. We drove in the open 4x4 through a large area subject to burn off - 30 minutes of smoke and bugs hitting you in the face, not good if you suffer from asthma.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LauriSharp asked a question Sept 2023
Darlington, United Kingdom2 contributions
Is your restaurant open to non guests?
Answer from Bushbaby7
Cape Town Central, South Africa6 contributions
No, Chinzombo is an all inclusive luxury tented camp for booked guests. Meals are for staying guests only
Rosnicjay wrote a tip Aug 2020
Lusaka, Zambia21 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"With only 5 to choose from they are all good choices"
Read full review
Lucy S wrote a tip Aug 2018
Port Douglas, Australia28 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are identical so you can't go wrong. Just ask if you want to be closer to the main Lodge or prefer a short walk."
Read full review
Gordon C wrote a tip Jul 2017
40 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All amazing"
Read full review
charlielucky wrote a tip Sept 2016
boston32 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It seems all are excellent"
Read full review
UsaJules wrote a tip Jul 2016
usa447 contributions142 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in room 6---it was wonderful. We enjoyed the walk but if you are mobility impaired you may want one closer to the lobby area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Luangwa National Park area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chinzombo - Norman Carr Safaris
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TIME + TIDE CHINZOMBO - Lodge Reviews (South Luangwa National Park, Zambia)

Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire