Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company

Africa Bliss
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 6 special resorts in South Luangwa National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
There’s nothing quite like waking up at The Bushcamp Company's Chamilandu. Early morning views don’t get much better – the rippling waters of the Luangwa River, the gentle rise of the Chindeni Hills and a vast African sky especially when you’re lying in a four poster bed in a stilted tree-house. Camp can accommodate up to six guests in three raised tree-houses and offers guided walking safaris, plus day and night game drives (open from June to November).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Luxury

Location

The Bushcamp Company, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
138Reviews1Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
richjacobson18 wrote a review Jul 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chamilundi was a much awaited stop on a 3 1/2 week Southern Africa Safari swing. All the camps were of comparable guest pricing and quality (or so advertised.) Chamilundi, though it has many virtues, is a flawed managed and designed camp. First the flaws: No overhead lights in the suite tent, which is quite large, and very dim and depressing day and night. Light is needed in bathroom area and general bedroom area. There is an expansive view of the Luangwa River. Problem, there are fold-in wooden doors that when opened leave two vulnerabilities day and night: insects, as there is no screen doors (essential and built-in at all camps I have ever visited) and protection from baboons that eat from trees above the tents in the camp. There is no menu selection at any meal, as I recall. This makes for a very limiting eating experience. I can understand Bush Camp management being concerned about food waste. Certainly the simple answer is the very least preparing a menu for review at a prior meal to determine main course and other course selections. The rickety old Land Rover gave off fumes that was not only unpleasant but unhealthy. A 12 year old vehicle is not appropriate for an advertised lusury camp experience. Chamilundi is situated within South Luangwa Park on a private concession. From experience the drives within the main part of the park, not uitilized by the Guide and manager of the camp are limiting in viewing wild life. The public part of the park offers a much more varied and exciting experience for game viewing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amy Alderman, General Manager at Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Responded 08 Jul 2022
Hi Rich, We appreciate your post and will take this under advisement, though I do want to clarify a few things. Food: while it is true that dinner is a set menu, brunch is a buffet, offering a wide variety of meats, salads, etc., so it is not entirely accurate to say that there is no choice. I know that one day you experienced a surprise pizza in the bush, offering an array of pizza toppings. Rooms: there are well-placed lights in the bathroom by the sinks and in the toilet area. In the bedroom, there are bedside lights. The raised chalets, with their open-front design, are generally very popular with our guests, and are one of the reasons people book the camp. The mosquito net provides protection during the night from any insects. And of course, the doors can be shut if the guest so prefers. Chamilandu is not located in a private concession area; we don’t have those in South Luangwa. We do pride ourselves for being the only camps located in the southern part of the Park, as that gives us a privacy and remoteness not found in other areas, but the loop roads, etc. are all part of the National Park system, though we do maintain them ourselves. The Land Rovers are all regularly maintained, overhauled, and completely rebuilt, and I don’t think that it is entirely fair to say that they “spew exhaust” any more than any other diesel vehicle in use. In conclusion, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your time more, but hopefully the 3 leopards you saw on one drive helped make your stay somewhat acceptable!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carol p wrote a review Oct 2023
Penang Island, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only three tree houses. They were enormous. Wonderful facilities apart from no wi fi.
The camp was well kept and the accommodation well maintained.
We had an excellent driver/guide, plus a very friendly government ranger/soldier with a gun
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: October is a bit hot reaching 40 degrees some days. We also had heavy rain two evenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smapenzi wrote a review Aug 2023
san miguel allende, mexico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Incredible, the camp is beautiful, the beds are confortable and the linens so great, the food is outstanding, the staff so nice and helpful. our guide was really good and we saw dogs the first time we arrived.
it has only 3 suites and at the time it was only us, so much fun
the sounds of the bush are just incredible, the colors... the river.. the crocs!
the orange cake for high tea! I could have it all day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Enjoy the food is incredible, Pizza in the bush!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamelaB1960 wrote a review Jun 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stunning location, professional and friendly staff with personal service. Luxury accommodation in wild and remote bush. All 3 Bushcamp Co camps we stayed in gave us a true Africa experience immersed in the bush away from the crowds. The walking safaris and night drives got us up close to nature.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The camps are unfenced and you are up close with nature. No wifi, phone service or elec in lodges.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris wrote a review Oct 2022
Bath, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved the remoteness of this small camp. The welcome was warm, food very good and the accommodation very spacious with a beautiful setting. Lots to see - South Luangwa has never disappointed. Had a fantastic time, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HSP wrote a review Nov 2015
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were advised to go out into the bushcamps if we could but with three teenagers in tow were anxious about the heat, no pool and the fact that we had travelled for 72 hours non stop - we werent sure. How glad were we to arrive at Chamilandu where we were given a rousing greeting and handed refreshing drinks and towels.After a short rest and squeaks of delight at our fantastic open fronted accomodation with a foam nested frog in the loo, we were posted straight up to the hide to relax. Wihtin minutes a whole family of elephants had joined us and proceeded to entertain squirting mud and water everywhere. James guided us for the next 24 hours and was a mine of information and eagle eyed at spotting game both big and small. Our night game drive was thrilling as we watched three lionesses set up a hunt in the dark one circled out landrover to get into position and the tension was palpable. the impala got away this time and we headed back to camp to an excellent feast, captivated and ready for our morning walking safari. Sleeping in the open fronted chalets was cool and comfy and added a frisson of danger for the kids!
Our walking safari wiht James was fascintaing and informative and even tho it was blisterngly hot the time flew and we learned so much that we were all disappointed to be heading back to the camp. We were sent cheerily on our way afer anohter delicious meal of fresh salads and tasty quiche.Sad to go and praying we can come back one day very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Any would be perfect.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IdahoTimber wrote a review Nov 2017
Seattle, Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The wildlife is second to none, and the camp staff and guide are excellent. The issue we had with Chamilandu is that one side of the chalet is completely open air. No screens at all. Large, folding doors are available, but it was well over 100 degrees in our chalet in this intense heat wave that just hit, and we needed whatever breeze was available.

We had just come from Bilimungwe where lions had been adjacent to our tent walls, on our deck, and sleeping up against our door for 3 days. So we were not comfortable with the totally open nature of these chalets. There were also animals nearby, such as baboons which could make alot of mischief if they decided to enter a chalet. Also, my husband hates bats, and they were helping themselves to insects in our chalet at night, chomping loudly.

If there had been screens to pull closed, we would have been totally pleased. As it was, we chose to move our third night to Mfewe Lodge, which was very charming and hospitable. We were happy to see it and have screens, electricity and a strong fan in the scorching weather.

Do note this is well over a 2 hour drive from the Mfewe Airport, so one must prepare for a long and bumpy transit. Plan to get the noon flight to Mfewe from Lusaka. We were scheduled on the 4:00 p.m. flight and were not told what was in store for us, so were exhausted.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
M O wrote a review Jul 2016
London, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Chamilandu camp was a disappointment. The staff was friendly, food okay but the game viewing was lacking, very disappointing indeed. We realize this is not West World or Disneyland where one flips a switch and the animals become animated and active, but the game viewing covered much the same area as the camp we had just visited not far from Chamilandu. This IMO, was poor planning on the part of the travel company who arranged the safari for us. Chamilandu camp game in at just 2 Stars and last place of the 4 camps and lodges we stayed at in Zambia.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheBushcampCo, Manager at Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
Responded 10 Aug 2016
We are sorry that your stay at Chamilandu did not live up to your expectations. It appears from your comments that the only negative point was the lack of game. As you no doubt realize, this is not something that we have any control over, and in fact, you did spend a significant period of time one evening watching a leopard. You also saw several large groups of elephants, plains game, and many species of birds. You mention that the game-viewing area seemed similar to that of our Chindeni Bushcamp, but in reality, the game-viewing areas do not overlap. We appreciate that you found the staff friendly. The low rating for value and middle rating for service is disappointing, given that we arranged a private guide and vehicle for only you and your family at short notice at your request and at no extra cost to you. Finally, we feel it’s worth mentioning that the review entitled “Incredible Experience,” rating all aspects of their stay at Chamilandu at 5 stars, is from guests who were in camp at the exact same time as you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeakTravellers12 wrote a review Oct 2015
Bakewell, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a superb small camp; the three raised chalets are well designed and constructed to provide comfortable accommodation including an outside shower and toilet, with great views from all areas.
The central bar and dining area is simple but comfortable making it the the perfect setting to enjoy the excellent food, but it is the hospitality that makes all this work, nothing is too much trouble with everyone so friendly and helpful. The two afternoons spent in the very elegant and comfortable hide where rewarded with some great viewing of Elephant, Giraffe, Baboons and many birds.
For our week in South Luangwa we stayed in three Bushcamps and decided to take their private guiding option. This worked really well giving us flexibility and continuity, with our guide James Chabuka soon understanding our particular interests and preferences. James is an excellent guide who is able to communicate his vast knowledge, and at times displays almost a sixth sense in understanding how animals will behave and then finding them. Whilst a Chamilandu we had three sightings of Wild Dogs including one just seconds after making a kill, Leopard, Lion, lots of Elephant and Hippo, and a really good sighting of a relaxed Porcupine on a night drive. The bird watching was consistently good and wide ranging, including a nice sighting of African Skimmers fishing in the late afternoon.
We walked each morning, but didn’t manage quite as much as we had hoped, but when faced with such choices as following the Wild Dogs or walking – no contest, what walking we did was really good and James was able to show us lots of interesting and exciting things.
Our three days at Chamilandu produced a sustained game viewing experience probably as good as anything we have experienced in fifteen years of safaris.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meanwhile wrote a review Jul 2017
St. Louis, Missouri
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 nights at Chamilandu with my husband and two teenage sons. It is as beautiful as the photos. The staff is incredibly attentive. Our guide was Fannuell and he was nothing short of an enthusiastic walking encyclopedia. There were no questions about the flora and fauna he could not answer.
This camp is very remote. There is no electricity. But notwithstanding the service is impeccable and the food is delicious. If you are looking for 5 star service in the bush, this place is for you.
Note on timing versus photos - By June, the river has receded and you will only be looking out across a dry riverbed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is only 1 chalet with a king bed. The other two chalets have two double beds.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PamelaB1960 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom22 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The camps are unfenced and you are up close with nature. No wifi, phone service or elec in lodges. "
Read full review
carol p wrote a tip Oct 2023
Penang Island, Malaysia153 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October is a bit hot reaching 40 degrees some days. We also had heavy rain two evenings"
Read full review
smapenzi wrote a tip Aug 2023
san miguel allende, mexico46 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the food is incredible, Pizza in the bush!!"
Read full review
Chipili Chikamba wrote a tip Jul 2019
Lusaka, Zambia572 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to the parkno later than 2pm to start enjoying the game drive transfer"
Read full review
Eileen M wrote a tip Jul 2019
San Francisco, California99 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All of the rooms are spectacular."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the South Luangwa National Park area.
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHAMILANDU BUSHCAMP - THE BUSHCAMP COMPANY - Specialty Resort Reviews (South Luangwa National Park, Zambia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company
What are some of the property amenities at Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Does Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company have airport transportation?
Yes, Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Chamilandu Bushcamp - The Bushcamp Company have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire