We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Makokola Retreat

Save
Share
Mangochi Malawi
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
View all 7 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (267)
Pool & Beach (65)
Room & Suite (63)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Mangochi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Makokola Retreat. Brilliantly green gardens reveal spacious beach villas and rooms perched along the shores of Southern Lake Malawi. We provide gracious service in an unmatched experience in Malawi. This showpiece property captures the essence of African design, culture and tradition. While staying with us, fill every moment with a sense of natural connection in our wonderful retreat.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Golf course
Squash
Tennis court
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Lake View

Location

Full view
Contact
Mangochi Malawi
Getting there
Lilongwe Intl Airport157 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
174Reviews7Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 82
  • 58
  • 16
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LS wrote a review Feb 2021
6 contributions
+1
It is hard to put into words how beautiful this place is. My husband and I spent two nights of our honeymoon in the Sunset Villa. The infinity pool seems as if you are swimming right into Lake Malawi. The privacy of the Villa makes you feel like you’re the only ones there. The food, especially the pizza, was delicious. All of the staff were so welcoming! I would highly recommend Makokola Retreat and the sunset Villa to any honeymooners, couples, or anyone looking to spend some time in the beautiful oasis The Makokola Retreat has created here in Malawi. We are looking forward to going back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Tamara S wrote a review Jan 2021
Herndon, Virginia214 contributions123 helpful votes
My 8-year old daughter and I stayed here twice; once in October 2020 and a second time in November 2020. We stayed in the new Lakeside area and during the times of our visits children under 12 could stay on that side as part of a special. Normally children under 12 cannot stay in those villas. The lakeside suites are lovely. We had a great bottom floor villa with a patio. Normally, I would prefer a balcony, but during COVID they delivered food to the rooms, but only the lower ground floor rooms. The decor was lovely and the room very comfortable. We had a view of the Lake and were very close to the dining area and the infinity pool. On our second visit we stayed at the Sunset Villa, which is two floors and has its own infinity pool. Honestly, I kinda do not want to go
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eager Traveller wrote a review Dec 2020
30 contributions46 helpful votes
We had fish n chips in crumbs which came soggy n all the crumbs had basically peeled off the fish ... cherry on the cake , 1 serving was forgotten to b prepared by the chef so came ridiculously late after everyone had finished eating... a simple bread roll could not b served too as it was still being baked ! (Of which the server could not inform us how long it would take !) Snd even that was served after deserts !!! Cherry on the cake we were charged for it too although not consumed 🤪😳when we asked for the standard of the fish dish to be reviewed by the chef we were told he was not available!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Temwani Simwaka wrote a review Nov 2020
Mangochi, Malawi10 contributions1 helpful vote
This Chambo (fish fillets) tasted divinely. I recommend it to everyone who visits The makokola retreat. Thank you Makokola chef for preparing this dish to perfection. It just complimented the beautiful setting and the cool breeze coming through from the beautiful and famous Lake Malawi.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Wathando Mughandira wrote a review Oct 2020
Lilongwe, Malawi70 contributions28 helpful votes
The way I was treated felt like black people are not welcome at this place. I will never go back to this place though it's such a beauty. They need to change their attitude towards black guests seemingly so many have complained about preferential treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Makokola Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Makokola Retreat
Responded 18 Oct 2020
Dear Mr. Mughandira, Thank you for posting a review and bringing this to our attention, your review is very concerning to us. We’re sorry to hear that you felt unwelcome and felt like preferential treatment was given. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further, as we take feedback like this very seriously, we aim to always serve all our guests equally regardless of race, gender or ethnicity. Please could you contact our Managing Director at benedetto@makokola.com or our General Manager at nickdumba@makokola.com Please advise a suitable contact number for them to reach you on, so we may discuss your specific personal experience and work with you to resolve the unfortunate experience you had. Kind Regards, The Makokola Team
Read more
ALSO KNOWN AS
the makokola retreat hotel mangochi
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Club Makokola
LOCATION
MalawiSouthern RegionMangochi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing