We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
46KM peg, Matobo Kezi Rd, Matobo National Park - The Matopos Zimbabwe
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$233
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/29
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (132)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (10)

About

#3 of 8 Speciality lodging in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Big Cave Camp reposes atop an enormous granite whaleback commanding inspirational views across the famous Matobo National Park. Big Cave Camp has a four star lodge with restaurant, as well as a well equipped camp site with adjacent Ndebele village. Sophisticated African architecture incorporates colossal boulders into a luxuriously appointed thatched lodge positioned amidst ancient Khoisan rock art.Retire at a day's end to the natural rock-pool and sundeck, the Leopard`s Lair lounge and bar, a cave-style boma for pre-dinner drinks or the popular lodge library. The seven thatched A-frame lodges, each with en-suite bathroom and private balcony, resonate African creative flair.Find solitude within an intimate retreat as secluded as the original Kalanga grain bins that nestle amongst the rocks.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
46KM peg, Matobo Kezi Rd, Matobo National Park - The Matopos Zimbabwe
See all nearby hotels
142Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 37
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jukka wrote a review Mar 2020
24 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed at the Big Cave for two night in February during the low / rainy season. Despite the season, we saw a lot of wildlife on the game drives, and had a great time on the historical tour as well. Walking tour with the white rhinos is definitely a highlight of the area, though I have to say I felt a bit uncomfortable as the rhinos seemed nervous to have us so close (10-15 m) to them - not for our safety but for disrupting the rhinos. I can recommend the activities the Big Cave offers; game drive and historical tour to the Mapotos park, and the walking and driving tours on the property. Lynn is a wonderful and very welcoming manager and our guides were very knowledgeable, helpful and kind. The lodge is beautifully built on side of one of the rocky hills, and the cottages are stylish and very functional. Each has a nice private terrace overlooking the valley. Lunches and dinners are served communally around a big table, which allows you to get to know other guests too - and the food was lovely... :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Hi Jukka. Thanks so much for the lovely review of the lodge. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rhinos do spend a lot of time with the Parks officers that guard them in fairly close vicinity, however I will chat to the guides to make sure they keep a respectful distance! We hope to see you back with us soon. Best Regards Dave
Read more
PaulNJhb wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
For secluded rest and relaxation this is one of the best places to go to. Excellent privacy and views and I can't think of any better place for sitting and looking at the Matopos scenery. Helpful, knowledgeable and attentive staff and we would be very happy to visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Hi Paul. Thanks so much for the positive review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay! Super to hear that you appreciated our staff, always motivating for them. Best Regards Dave
Read more
DanielACD16 wrote a review Jan 2020
Harare, Zimbabwe15 contributions3 helpful votes
Thank you to Lynne, Shepherd, Tuanda and the rest of the Team at Big Cave Camp for a wonderful weekend which was highlighted by trekking Rhinos in the Matopos National Park, and bird watching & hiking around the BCC property. BCC is run with one thing in mind - the guest’s experience. The lodging is awesome with great views from the cabins, comfy beds, fluffy towels etc etc. They even have a camp ground with great amenities for those looking for a more rustic experience. The food is amazing. You will not go hungry. That is a guarantee!! (I’m not sure how I will survive tomorrow without a cooked breakfast now I am home). The guides are tremendously knowledgeable and very friendly. They make any of the adventures fun and informative. We had a blast trekking for and walking with the Rhinos, a bucket list experience. And finally the location, watching a sunset from the rocks at the back of the lodge, or lightning rock, was spectacular. Hats off to the whole crew. I hope our paths cross again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Hi Daniel, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much! That is wonderful news. The staff too will be very happy that you enjoyed their company so much as well. We hope to see you back again soon! Best Regards Dave
Read more
Richard T wrote a review Jan 2020
Oslo, Norway21 contributions7 helpful votes
Sumptiously designed cabins built into the beautiful rocks of Matopos. Delightful atmosphere created by Lynn and staff. A campfire circle that actually gets used says it all, written by someone who isn’t necessarily a campfire-circle-person😄
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
kim K wrote a review Dec 2019
Ballarat15 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in Nov 2018. The view from our villa was breathtaking as was the setting. This is where the positives ended. The location, set in boulders made accessing the property treacherous on wet and slippery rocks. Once in our room we found we had no hot water , our toilet didn't flush , nor was there toilet paper or a kettle. An attempt was made to rectify the issues with the plumbing however they continues through out our stay and we were unable to have a hot shower the whole time. We had friend staying in other villas and they too had issues with hot water. The room was dusty and had a musty smell. The rocks in the outdoor pool were covered in green slime. The power is turned off at 11pm till 4 am each night. The lady on reception was rude and appeared put upon when issues were politely raised with her. She also vented her anger when we opted to pay via card, bemoaning the difficulty accessing cash on Zimbabwe. I would definitely not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Good day Kim. Thank you for your review and I am really sad that you did not enjoy your stay. Big Cave Camp as per all of our marketing information is a game lodge that is set into its natural environment, and that is what we pride ourselves on. The lodge is barely visible upon arrival. The lodge is built on the rocks and thus yes when it has rained the rocks are probably slightly slippery yet we have NEVER had any incidents of people falling or hurting themselves. Likewise the pool is built into the natural rock, and so does have a different texture to a standard fiber glass pool, however apologies if you did not like it, or found it slimy. Quite honestly I really do not believe that you should have been placed by your tour operator in a bush lodge, you definitely would have been a lot happier in a hotel in the city. In addition our rooms have recently been renovated this year, and everything in the rooms are brand new. The toilets, plumbing, showers, linen, curtains etc. Thus I am afraid that I dispute your claim that the room was dusty and had a musty smell. I have yet to ever have this sort of complaint from any other guests which is easy to see on Tripadvisor. In addition the hot water runs from gas heaters on the outside of the room, and is easily rectified if there is any issue by simply replacing the batteries, which we do if the issue is raised . So again I really find it hard to believe that you had no hot water throughout your stay. In addition the claim that there was no toilet paper again is very difficult to believe, and the reason the toilet did not function correctly for a morning was due to the fact that you managed to break the new mechanism which we subsequently repaired.. We did not have any other complaints from the rest of the group who travelled with you. In addition when you complained that you wanted a room on your own even though you had not paid for a single supplement we gladly accommodated you. Lastly you actually paid using a credit card so am not understanding why Lin my manageress would then raise an issue about this. Ninety percent of our clients pay using credit card, so this is nothing unusual. Thus in conclusion I very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but definitely dispute that the rest of your group share your point of view. We have had no negative feedback from the tour operator either. Best Regards Dave Waddy
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$190 - US$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZimbabweMatabeleland South ProvinceMatobo National Park - The Matopos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Big Cave Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Big Cave Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Big Cave Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Big Cave Camp?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Big Cave Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Big Cave Camp have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Big Cave Camp offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.