We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matobo Hills Lodge

Visit hotel website
Traveller (107)
Dining (28)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Welcome to Matobo Hills Lodge! Matobo Hills Lodge was designed and constructed by Touch The Wild and was built using local labour and material. It opened in August 1992.The lodge is situated within a private nature reserve bordering the Matobo National Park and is surrounded by some of the most spectacular granite scenery in the world. The Matobo Hills are renowned not only for their beauty and abundant flora and fauna but also for their unique historical, cultural and spiritual significance. The granites of Matobo were formed over three thousand million years ago and have been carved by the erosive forces of nature into a remarkable gallery of sculptured rock covering several thousand square kilometres.In general terms two types of granite hills occur in Matobo. The chaotic jumbles of rocks and balancing boulders or ' castle kopjies' have been created by erosion working along the horizontal and vertical lines of weakness that formed as the ancient granites cooled. The massive ' whale backed' domes or ' dwalas' are the result of spheroidal weathering or 'onion skin peeling' that occurs during sudden changes in temperature. All of these forces of erosion act at an excruciatingly slow pace and it has taken nature hundreds of millions of years to create the incredible landscape we see today. Unfortunately she is not yet content with her efforts and her erosive power continues to act upon the surfaces of the rock. Nature will only rest when all the granites are gone and the Matobo becomes a flat, featureless sandy plain. Luckily for us this is going to take several more hundred million years so for now at least, we can continue to enjoy this amazing wilderness in all it's complexity. The northern section of the hills is a national park and it's wooded gorges and open valleys are home to a wide range of wildlife species including black and white rhinoceros, giraffe, sable antelope, kudu, impala, zebra, wildebeest and tsessebe.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Outdoor pool
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:20% off room rate
Location
Full view
Contact
Mineral King Farm Matopos National Park, Matobo National Park - The Matopos Zimbabwe
E-mail hotel
Getting there
Bulawayo Airport54 km
See all nearby hotels
190Reviews
172Photos
4Q+A
37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 65
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent two nights at Matobo Hills Lodge just after Christmas and wow. An incredible hideaway that kept us busy and let us relax completely at the same time. A standout was the staff who were so genuine, always greeting you and helping where they can, the best service I
Read more
Response from MatoposHillsLodge, Front Office Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Meika, Thank you for the absolutely lovely review that you have given us. We appreciate that you had a good time and it was relaxing for you. Special mention to the staff they always go the extra mile. We really hope to see you in future. Wishing you all the best :)
Read more
Property's Favourite Review
I traveled to Matobo Lodge just before Christmas and stayed there for 3 days with wife and son. The lodge is situated about 50km from Bulawayo. The lodge located in the Matopos National Park. the staff is very friendly and helpful. We had made bookings way back in May and
Read more
Response from MatoposHillsLodge, Front Office Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Jonathan, Thank you for the lovely and informative review above.I'm so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the lodge. We always do our best to make sure our guests always have a comfortable stay and a memorable one. We also hope to stay with you again in future. Have a great year ahead and all the best! Best Wishes.
Read more
It was great all the waiters were nice and friendly. The facilities were great the pool was regularly cleaned and the food is delicious.There was lots of wild life as well. The head waiter Tatenda was really friendly he has nice discussions with you and he is willing to make
Read more
Response from MatoposHillsLodge, Front Office Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Paul, Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you had a lovely stay and you enjoyed the food. I'm happy to hear that you had a very engaging time with the staff. We always try to make it feel like home. I will be sure to pass on the compliments to Zulu and Tatenda. All the best for 2019. Best Wishes
Read more
The location is really good with lovely views.Unfortunately the rooms could do with some maintenance and refurbishment. Fans were not working,grass was falling down from the thached roof onto the bed and some window catches were broken. However the staff went out of their way to
Read more
Response from MatoposHillsLodge, Front Office Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Peter, Thank you so much for staying with us and we appreciate your review. We are happy that our staff also manage to rectify where you were unhappy. Thank you for your constructive feedback, as a management team we will attend to some of the small touches you mentioned need improvement. Have a good year ahead! Best Wishes
Read more
Night lights are magnificent. Views during the day are beautiful. Our experience meeting animals driving to and from the lodge was rare and special. The place is closed to the world, peaceful and natural.
Read more
Response from MatoposHillsLodge, Front Office Manager at Matobo Hills Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Freedom, Thank you so much for the amazing review. We are glad to have been part of providing a magnificent experience for you. We do hope to see you again in future! Best Wishes.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
early morning from chalet 14, when i opened curtains and was met by this view.
PreviousNext
12345
Hi Sandy How are you? Yes you can.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, we have fans that keep them at bay, apologies for not responding, we only managed to get a hold of this section to answer lately. Regards,
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have Wifi at your place? Best regards Annick from France
Hi Annick, thanks for your question. Yes, we do have WiFi.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Rooms at the top cl;ose to the lounge and dining area have the best views"
"best views"
"Bulawayo is a very hot city but the rooms at Matobo lodge are very much cool without the use of a fan."
"Room below the hill"
"Good views, all round."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$240 - US$304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZimbabweMatabeleland South ProvinceMatobo National Park - The Matopos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing