Jack's Camp

Jack's Camp

Traveller (156)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 5 campsites in Makgadikgadi Pans National Park
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Jack's Camp is an oasis of style and comfort in the middle of Botswana's Kalahari Desert. An authentic, 1940's style tented safari camp, which houses a private museum, shop, drinks tent and pool pavilion. Spectacular vistas, creative surprises, expert guiding, old-world safari styling and superb cuisine all come together to create an experience that is completely different to any other. Activities vary, combining wildlife with culture, history, archaeology and geology. Activities on offer all year round include: interacting with incredibly friendly habituated meerkats, walking with Bushmen Guides, game drives to experience unique desert wildlife, Chapman's Baobab - one of the oldest and biggest trees in Africa, birding and night drives. Dry season activities: 16h April - 31st October Quad bike across the saltpans Wet season activities: 1st November - 15th April Zebra and wildebeest migration
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Luxury

Location

CT 11 Concession, Makgadikgadi Pans National Park Botswana
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport
277.5 km
See all flights
183Reviews8Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 126
  • 24
  • 16
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Joan K wrote a review Aug 2021
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at many safari lodges in various countries in Africa and this is one of the very finest. It is exquisite in appearance, The furnishings in the main lodge and the "tents" are artistic, and beautifully arranged.
The activities are unusual and each is carried out with great care and planning.
Our guide was SUPER who is indeed "super" in every way.
His expertise and warm, exuberant personality make him a pleasure to be with.
I particularly loved the experience with the San people.
I was delighted to meet the owner, another fabulous, unique personality.
The entire staff is professional and create a warm, welcoming experience.
Kudos to this exceptional team. Hunter and I thank you for a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I believe they are all the same
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 04 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We really do appreciate it. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed such a happy stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Jack's Camp marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shawn W wrote a review May 2021
Newport Beach, California
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Natural Selection has three properties in the area, offering the same activities, but different price points and camp ambience.

I booked their most casual/least expensive property, Camp Kalahari. Due to Covid lower bookings, they just had their premier property open, so we were thrilled to find out we’d been upgraded to Jack’s Camp—which is normally priced well over double Camp Kalahari.

Let me start with what we loved—the activities. This is why wanted to go here: meerkats, bushman, and quad bike on the salt pans. All three were excellent and made the trip. We also enjoyed the tail end of the zebra/wildebeest migration, frequent jackel sightings, and the resident genet, which we also loved.

The camp style however, was not for us. They have an early 1900’s explorer theme (think English gentry) with tons of era-appropriate furniture, cases filled with skulls and various artifacts, nick knack stuff everywhere...while opulent, it felt dark and oppressive to me and my sister.

Our room was HUGE—likely 1400 sf or more. Private deck with plunge pool, heavenly bed, but again—so dark. Never could see anything with minimal lanterns around. Even the toilet was a weird antique chair. (We hated that!)

Also, unlike all our other camps, they use a super uncomfortable vehicle for game drives—bench with minimal padding, hard wood arm rest that gave us bruises, and no blankets for the chilly morning. Such a contrast to the super padded, foot rest, comfy blankets we got at our four other camps.

But, clearly many people love the style, so I’d just say look closely at photos and their property descriptions. I’d strongly recommend staying at one of their three properties since they all offer the amazing activities, just make sure you pick the one fir your style. I think we would have been much happier w/o our upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 17 May 2021
Hi Shawn, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the activities we have to offer here in the Makgadikgadi - we agree that there are few experiences quite like those enjoyed here. I'm sorry to hear that Jack's Camp wasn't quite the right fit for you - it does sound as though Camp Kalahari might have been more your style. We hope to be able to welcome you to Camp Kalahari in the future. Kind regards, Pru - Jack's Camp marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gymtraveler wrote a review Jan 2023
Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jack's Camp was our splurge of our two-week trip. From the moment we landed on the property's air strip our family was graciously welcomed. The entire experience could not have been more perfect. The staff was wonderful, the food excellent and creative, and the gaming wonderful and special. The walk with a local tribe was also quite unique. The tent was beyond over the top and every piece of the property was fun to explore. We all wished we could have stayed longer. There is no internet here. Be thankful for that so you do not even get tempted you to focus on something else. I can understand why this place may not be for everyone as it is in the middle of nowhere but I am super glad we made the effort to get here. I would go back in a heartbeat and so would the rest of my family. Only downside I can think of is there is no place to exercise on this property including taking a walk of any real length. Honestly there is little time to even contemplate a work-out. I am certain I will return here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 19 Jan 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this super review. It's fantastic to hear that you and your family enjoyed such a happy stay here and that you loved it as much as we do. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long. Warm regards, the Jack's Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pusilla wrote a review Mar 2020
Wargrave, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most awful experience I've ever had to endure with a "show" from the bushmen. Our guide, Desmond, kept telling us we were going for a very short walk with the Bushmen. He did NOT explain that he was dropping us off for a 2.5 hours experience. So, as we thought it was a very short walk we didn't take anything with us. Pretty soon, we were thirsty and in much need of mosquito repellant but when i looked around for Desmond he had disappeared along with the jeep containing our supplies. The experience was beyond cringe worthy with these people poking around in the ground with sticks digging up roots and so on. Towards the end they demonstrated how they made a fire then they all whipped out cigarettes to light up with the flame they'd produced. It was mesmerising and not in a good way.

Another experience was being taken to see the meerkats. They actually put a blanket on the ground so that you can sit beside their dens and encourage them to climb on you.. I think this is absolutely ludicrous if i'm honest and a shocking abuse of animals that are supposed to be living in the wilds of Botswana. Jack's Camp feedback is that these animals are partly habituated. What's that supposed to mean? Plus, nobody mentioned this when we were there.

I also have dietary issues which they really did not cope well with. Repeatedly tried to present food which i knew i couldn't have and i had to constantly check with the waiters.

It was a very poor experience. & too expensive to be so poor.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NS-Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Jack's Camp
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review of your stay at Jack's Migration Camp. I shall address your points on by one. The Bushmen have lived in the area for generations, and we value their unique insight into this extraordinary place. Spending time with them is often a highlight for our guests, but we accept that the experience isn't for everyone. The meerkats too are a major highlight for most travellers. We have habituated mobs who are accompanied by meerkat men who keep them comfortable in the presence of humans. As you'll have observed, guests are allowed to approach the meerkats, but it is entirely up to the meerkats themselves whether they decide to scamper away and forage for food, or hop aboard someone's head! Conservation is at our core, and we would certainly never abuse animals, or anything even approaching it. My understanding is that dietary requirements were personally discussed with you, and gluten and wheat free breads and pastries were baked for you, while meals were designed specifically to adhere to your requirements. It is a great shame that you did not enjoy your time in camp. It sounds as though it wasn't the best fit for you unfortunately. Kind regards, Pru - Jack's Camp marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tania L wrote a review Jan 2024
Sarnia, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in the Makgadikgadi Salt Pan are a collection of decadently luxurious tents done in a Bedouin style. Each accommodation tent is 30’ x 80’ and surrounded by a teak deck. The tent is divided into 3 areas: lounge area and bar, bedroom area and bathroom. Each room features sumptuous furniture, double beds with cooling systems and well-appointed bar.

The lodge is a history museum of the founder Jack. It houses artifacts and many items from Jack’s hunting days. While very interesting, it creates more of a museum feel in some of the spaces.

This is not the place to view a large amount of animals like big 5 but we really enjoyed going during the green season and viewing the animal migration in conjunction with seeing life on the pans when there is a bit of water. Insects and smaller animals and birds were on full display and very much appreciated.

We did view the bushman, which was fine, we also went to see the baobab trees which was not great; would have preferred a game drive instead. More a pile of pulp and nothing else.

Rooms and main tent areas are very dark.
Very hard to see. Dinner is served at a communal table and afternoon tea is served in another tent on the ground with pillows. While the staff are all very nice and friendly, hosting the guests at cocktails/tea/meals is very informal and can lead to awkward moments as there is no one to steer the conversation, introduce new guests to each other or create a successful gathering. Would recommend candlelight at dinner and hosting courses for the staff.

Main meals were delicious although afternoon tea, while majestic in presentation, was mediocre in taste. Gluten free options are available.

Our guide was named Prince. Young and enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. He was good company and appreciated.

No exercise area and spotty WiFi in the curio shop.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid baobab tree tour but go on horseback as you can see animals close-up.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review, your feedback is very helpful to us. We're pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back before too long. Best wishes, Jack's Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maw1407 wrote a review Jan 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In early September 2021 our family of six adults traveled to Botswana and our first visit was to Jack's Camp. We were welcomed by all the staff as family and were treated as such for our entire stay. We were looked after with attention to every detail that mattered to us, as a group and as individuals. No request was too great and we were made to feel that the staff had just been waiting for us to arrive to show us the beauty that is Jack's Camp and the Kalahari Desert.
Whether it was fabulous food, an amazing variety of animals and a guide who knew everything about them, luxurious accommodations and Covid precautions carried out in every possible way, Jack's Camp met our every need.
Our personal guide for our stay was Chemical. He was amazing! He worked tirelessly to make the trip interesting, exciting and educational but most of all, safe and fun. We loved our experience with him.
In addition to the wonderful game drives, Jack's also provided unique experiences such as a first night introduction to the stars of the "Great Unknown", a walk with the San Bushmen, a visit to an habituated colony of meerkats and an unforgettable ride across the Salt Pans on an ATV.
These were all extraordinary experiences. The people of Botswana and most especially Jack's Camp welcomed us with open arms and hearts and we will always remember the experience they provided us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Jack's Camp marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brent B wrote a review Mar 2021
Austin, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were told we were the first non-agent foreign visitors to the newly rebuilt camp during the pandemic. We made a smart choice by starting here before visiting more luxurious camps (Jao, Mombo) in the Delta. The new facilities are definitely nice in a Victorian camp style. Rooms are very spacious, with lovely local furniture, lots of collectible artifacts, and cooling units behind the beds. The common area includes decades of items collected from the area. But this is still a rustic camp. There is no phone or internet service of any type. There's no gym. (There is a nice pool.) But you will get far more privacy and separation from other lodges here than elsewhere, and you'll experience the rugged and real Kalahari. Our guide, Chaba, was great and well liked by adults and kids in our family. Top sightings included meerkat (which you get close and personal with), migrating zebra/impala/wildebeest, a lion, bat eared foxes, and tons of jackals. We probably came close to seeing cheetah on two occasions, but didn't quite. Elephant were not in the area at the time, and we didn't luck out on brown hyena. Just the chance of seeing brown hyena and cheetah can be a reason to visit. Also some good rare bird sightings. Food was good. Wine can be improved. Service was great. We really liked the people, new facilities as a contrast to luxury lodges, remote experience, and guide. Only downsides were lack of internet and gym (if you need those), wine, and mosquitos. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 10 May 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review, we really do appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Jack's Camp. The camp is well known for its 1940s campaign style, which certainly is quite different from other lodges you might visit! It sounds as though you had some great sightings during your stay, although it's a shame you missed out on brown hyena - you can get great sightings in the area. We keep Jack's internet free as we feel it's appropriate for such a remote location, and makes a refreshing change for many coming from a busy lifestyle. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you back into camp before too long. Kind regards, Pru - Jack's Camp marketing team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WILLIAM J wrote a review Mar 2024
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jack’s Camp is located in the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park. The tented site is fabulous. Three rooms with a private plunge pool. The three room combined are bigger than my home. It was summer in Botswana and hot. But unlike other camps Jack’s has an air unit that flows cool air down onto the bed making the hot days and nights unnoticeable.
DeKlerk, my guide, is a member of the San people who are also present to speak, walking tours, and pictures. I took the walking tour to learn the San don’t see a desert but instead a garden. Amazing people.
We saw several lion kills, the famous Meerkats and an aardvark, very rare.
The accommodations were amazing, the food excellent and the staff eager to please.
Why not a five star rating? They advertise seeing the Baobabs and a three million year old rock. However, that requires a helicopter ride. $700 usd for the flight. But since I travel alone it would require two tickets at $1400. Needless to say I missed the adventure. Not the camps fault, the helicopter company sets the rates.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Tent #1 has best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 12 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back before too long. Best wishes, Jack's Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RogAirSchweiz wrote a review Feb 2023
Wangen
5.0 of 5 bubbles
once in a lifetime.......
the guest tents are really large, fantastique decorated wirth iconic interiors. well trained staff, great food and wine. eventfull game drives and much more....
once in a lifetime worth to visit
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natural Selection, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 03 Mar 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Jack's Camp. We hope that we'll be able to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Jack's Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason R wrote a review May 2024
Indianapolis, Indiana
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sadly this camp is highly overrated! Only two rooms have king beds and there is not much to see if you are looking for big animals. The staff was ok, but rooms were oversized and very dark! Felt like a museum. Internet only in a small tent up by the main tent so not convenient at all! Out of the 4 camps we visited this was our least favorite! I don’t understand how it gets such good reviews with so many better options out there. Not a do over for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t waste your time here there are many other camps that are much better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pru Allison, Marketing at Jack's Camp
Responded 27 May 2024
Hi, we're sorry to hear that Jack's Camp wasn't the right fit for you. As you mentioned, many people love it here - it's a completely unique experience. For some, it's their favourite camp in Africa. However, it's not your typical safari lodge. The desert landscape is utterly beautiful, and while the animals aren't as prolific as elsewhere in Botswana such as the Okavango, here we have real connoisseur species such as Kalahari lions, aardvark, brown hyena, aardwolf and of course the annual zebra migration. It's a shame that Jack's didn't suit you, but we're pleased that you enjoyed your trip as a whole. Best wishes, Jack's Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NancyD90210 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Los Angeles, California100 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were in room 2, a 3 minute walk to the dining room; our vehicle mates were in room 6, which they reported was a 15 minute walk."
Read full review
Jason R wrote a tip May 2024
Indianapolis, Indiana17 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t waste your time here there are many other camps that are much better."
Read full review
WILLIAM J wrote a tip Mar 2024
Arkadelphia, Arkansas190 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tent #1 has best view."
Read full review
Tania L wrote a tip Jan 2024
Sarnia, Canada122 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid baobab tree tour but go on horseback as you can see animals close-up."
Read full review
Joan K wrote a tip Aug 2021
Wyncote, Pennsylvania452 contributions648 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I believe they are all the same"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Makgadikgadi Pans National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
R 96,665 - R 125,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jack`s camp hotel makgadikgadi pans national park
LOCATION
BotswanaCentral DistrictMakgadikgadi Pans National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JACK'S CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Makgadikgadi Pans National Park, Botswana)

Frequently Asked Questions about Jack's Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Jack's Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Jack's Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jack's Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Jack's Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Jack's Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Things to DoFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire