We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (6)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible25%
Tilodi Safari Lodge features 10 stylish luxury tents, all with extensive living areas, overlooking the Kasane Forest Reserve. Tilodi's eco-friendly accommodation offers a unique, 5 star elegance, comfort, and the romance of living under canvas. Each luxurious tent has full en-suite facilities and is carefully positioned to ensure privacy and stunning vistas. In addition to the tented accommodation, there is a restaurant and a boma where guests are treated to scrumptious meals and traditional music around the fire. There is a swimming pool and viewing deck overlooking an active waterhole. Activities include game drives, a sun downer boat cruise, village tours and transfers to Victoria Falls. Other activities like golfing and fishing, or spa treatments, can be arranged.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Good to know
Full view
Getting there
Kasane Airport12 km
Livingstone Airport63 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 19
  • 3
  • 5
  • 15
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Struisbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 09 Sep 2018
This is probably the worst place to camp in Botswana.Owner James paints a very pretty picture but its all lies.Its a fly infested dirty place.The so called elephant waterhole is a stinky mess of black mud.No elephant will go near it.All it attracts is flies.The ablutions are dirty and fly infested.Millions of them.
Tilodi Lodge should be closed down.Its a disgrace.
3 Thank karooboy10
Henriette N
Reviewed 02 Aug 2018
Upon arrival we were greeted by Bee and she was very helpful and tried her best to see to our needs.
The rest of our stay was terrible. First of all we had to wait a long time in front of the gate for someone to come and open the gate.The photo shows a beautiful pool - no water in pool and in a poor state. They advertise a Spa - no Spa!. We could not watch any TV - account not paid. We could not use wifi - account not paid. The food was terrible. The manager James arrived late afternoon - he lied to us about a lot of things. We were booked for 2 nights. Left early morning after one nights' stay. Their website is totally misleading. An absolute disgrace!
4 Thank Henriette N
Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 02 Aug 2018
On arrival, the so-called Manager James was nowhere to be found. A lady called Bee tried her best to accommodate us but was unable to cover up all the shortcomings. The place was filthy, had no food suppliers, no menu, no price list for food and drinks, the staff determined their own price. Needless to say, they overcharged us for everything. During the day we asked to see the
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2 Thank hviljo830075
Adri G
Reviewed 16 Jul 2018
I searched on Safari.now for nice places to stay for our family group of 7 in Kasane. Every hotel and Lodge were fully booked, except Tilodi Safari Lodge. I thought that the reason may be because the Lodge is not situated next to the Chobe River. Safari.now rated Tilodi a 3.8 and 4 for the Chobe Marina Lodge, which I have been to previously and it is really a stunning place to stay. I booked, spoke to the manager, James, and he said our booking is safe. We paid the deposit and a month before we checked in the full amount. It is really pricey, so we were expecting a really nice luxurious stay. When we arrived the afternoon , I couldn't believe that it is the same place I saw on the website. The reception building at the gate was dilapidated, literally falling apart, and not manned, we had to hoot twice before someone came running to open the gate. The receptionist clearly didn't expect us, she had unpair slipper boots on and went in search for someone who could help her with this dilemma. The interior of the main Lodge lounge was worn and tatty, the garden dry and neglected. Only the foot paths were sweeped. The outside pool was now a green slimy frog pond and we are still wondering where the Spa and Gym are. Our three Luxury Tented Camps must have looked great once, but now the tents are torn, zipps of the windows broken, the bedsheets and duvet covers were torn and grainy inside, as if it was made a long time ago and left. The taps in two of the bathrooms didn't function and not one of the three baths could hold any water, it just drains as you let water in. Spider webs in cupboards and dusty drawers were also minor irritations. A cleaner left a full bottle of bottled water in the bathroom, or so we thought! When my husband took a drink from it, it was some clear cleaning liquid! We were the only guests for the entire 4 nights at Tilodi and we saw the manager only twice, after dark in front of the Lounge's TV. He didn't even come to greet us or appologise for the poor reception. The only staff member who tried her very best to make it comfortable for us were, Bee, employed six months earlier. Otherwise, I think funds dried up and the Lodge is already technically closed down. Very poor and a rip off! They should not appear on websites like Safari.now, or better, please go and rate it personally! Apparantly the owner lives in Gabarone, but either he isn't aware of the state of his Lodge and poor service, or he doesn't care.
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3 Thank Adri G
Reviewed 29 May 2018
I was very disappointed by the service rendered at this establishment. Staff failed to depict professionalism in the work place, we had to wait unreasonable time before exploring the activities offered by the lodge, even the cuisine was not up to the expected standard. It was all-in-all a not so enjoyable experience given the potential that the establishment hold.
1 Thank DwayneTours
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
3 August 2017|
Response from Ron Cook S | Reviewed this property |
No you can reach the lodge with a normal 2 x 4 vehicle
Room Tips
"Don't make a mistake of staying there and if you do expect poor service!"
01 Jan 2018
Read review
"Nothing special"
27 Aug 2017
Read review
"I prefer tents, but the chalets looked very nice though."
19 Jul 2017
Read review
"find somewhere closer to Chobe NP"
09 Nov 2016
Read review
Show More 
US$103 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictChobe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing