We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Miller Street, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7220 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Agoda.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/29
ZenHotels.com
eDreamsUS$113
Priceline
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
It’s cosy, It’s personal, It’s private. Saxon Lodge offers you a space to be relaxed and refreshed on your travels. Situated above the harbour with everything at your fingertips, literally, with FREE WIFI throughout, you can sit back and enjoy the view of the ocean, the mountains, the quirky garden and pool over your favourite beverage. We will arrange your dinner bookings, activities and point you to the best things to experience in Gansbaai. Restaurants, shops and bars are within very easy walking distance from the lodge. Wake up to your shark cage dive in Gansbaai feeling refreshed and ready for this amazing adventure – beats waking at 3 in the morning for the big travel to be here on time. Laze away the afternoon after morning activities at the pool, in the garden or in the privacy of your suite or room until its time to dine at one of our fine restaurants. Our rooms are larger than most with individual décor and private entrances giving you freedom to come and go as you please.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Fishing
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

Full view
56Somewhat walkable
Grade: 56 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
552Reviews1Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 444
  • 94
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JennieQ44 wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa150 contributions16 helpful votes
When I needed a guesthouse for a few days in Gansbaai, I saw a long list of suggestions, and yes, Gansbaai is full of guesthouses and B&B's. I selected Saxon Lodge because of the informal feel and I was not disappointed. The wonderful setting, just above the harbour, provides the visitor with beautiful views of the ocean and the harbour holds a unique appeal. Once entering the fort-like white washed homestead of Caron and Dave, I felt instantly at home. The reception with Caron was very welcoming after a nearly 3 hour trip from Cape Town airport during peak holiday traffic. I was upgraded to a family suite because she was kind. I enjoyed a two bedroomed unit with ample space, luxurious soft linen and a little patio of my own. The beautiful black soulful dog came to greet me
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
lbirck140140 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Great location with a view. Very kind and personalized service. Rooms are charming, spacious and clean. Bathroom could be occasionally renewed but does not take away from the overall cozy feeling. Definitely worth to take a look at the bar...a real jewel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge
Responded 10 Feb 2021
Thank you for the feedback.
Read more
ua12 wrote a review Jan 2021
Basel, Switzerland59 contributions71 helpful votes
We stayed at the Saxon Lodge in a family room that was very spacious and nicely decorated. The lodge is small and managed by the owners who recommended to us restaurants and things to do in the area. There is small pool which we didn’t use as the water was a bit cold. The view from the pool are is really nice. Great place to stay if you are doing the shark dive the next day as it is 5 minutes driving from the port.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
tkruge263200 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Lovely for a weekend visit, the owner went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The room was nice and spacious and we had a super comfy sleep. Perfect for a weekend getaway. We absolutely love the Gansbaai hospitality
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Caron Lee, Owner at Saxon Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2020
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Gansbai and our lodge. So looking forward to a future visit...it is so cool to have local South Africans visiting for weekends.
Read more
Rebecca M wrote a review Aug 2020
10 contributions
I came across Saxon lodge by accident. My wifi went down and I had Important work and meetings to attend (via zoom calls) and needed to find a place where I could hotspot and connect to electric line. (at home, my wifi was down and data doesn't work in the Valley... And if I went out to get to a place where I could hotspot through my phone,where data would work, my laptop wouldn't work because I needed an electrical point. So I had to find a place that could accommodate me with an electrical point so that I could work from 8am. I drove around town in gansbaai trying to find somewhere to plug in my laptop and nobody could help. Nothing. I called Saxon lodge and Caryn was amazing. She immediately, without hesitation, welcomed me into the lodge. Her warmth and energy were so
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Caron Le, Owner at Saxon Lodge
Responded 11 Sep 2020
Thank you Rebecca, we are open for all as far as we can be. So happy we could assist you and thank you for bringing you here to enjoy our space.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandGansbaai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing