We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Star Lodge

Save
Share
19 Ingang Straat De Kelders, Gansbaai, Overstrand 7200 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (201)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sea Star Lodge
Updated 20/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Gansbaai
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated directly at the Walker Bay facing the Atlantic Ocean and the coastline of Hermanus you'll find this small exclusive lodge. At this place luxury ambiance meets genuine warmth and here you'll experience the wonders of nature in their full glory. Whether you are looking for adrenalin and decide to go on a shark cage diving trip to discover the Great White Sharks or if you decide to savour the local wines at the estates in the nearby Stanford Valley - our friendly staff would be glad to assist you with information and make your stay an unforgettable and enjoyable experience. The modern and spacious design of the lodge provides breathtaking sea views. The African arts blend in perfectly with the modern design and create a unique luxury atmosphere
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Xhosa and 1 more
418Reviews0Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 340
  • 50
  • 17
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
srijke949569 wrote a review 01 Nov
2 contributions
We wanted to book a shark cage diving tour last minute. The host made an incredible effort to help us out. We also forgot a jacket upon checkout which we picked up a week later. Again the host was very hepfull. Much recommended place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Mguni, General Manager at Sea Star Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Sander It was lovely to have you, we are so pleased you enjoy your shark diving trip too. Thank you for sending a lovely review of your stay with us. Kind regards Blessed & Team
Read more
195gavin wrote a review Oct 2021
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
Website photos are misleading and my expectations were not met. No non-smoking signs and room smelled of smoke. Host agreed and changed rooms. Rooms in general need proper refurbishment. Water damage and damp areas seem to have simply been painted over. Curtain rail in room hanging skew. DSTV not connected and might as well not have television in rooms. I could hear a snorer in next door room. Building noise from next door during the day. Charged for water bottles supplied in the room when that wasn't communicated upfront. Bar fridge didn't seem to work. All in all leaves the impression that owners are out of touch with the current state of the property and simply ticked boxes to achieve 5 star rating which it might have been in the past but not anymore. Disappointed overall.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Mguni, General Manager at Sea Star Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Gavin Thank you for staying with and for you honest review. We certainly working on a lot of things as we ran into a few challenges in this past year and not renovating on time hence having to do minimum work on the house. Keep well and stay safe.
Read more
DieterMSP001 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Unfortunately we did not get out moneys worth. TV only had one working channel. Rooftop terrace had no safety rail (very unsafe). We did not get help getting all our stuff up 4 levels of stairs. Sea view only from unsafe rooftop.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Mguni, General Manager at Sea Star Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2021
Dear Dieter Thank you for taking your time to send an honest review of your stay with us. we always make it a point that all our guests are helped with luggage unless they wish to do it themselves, sincere apologies for not having helped. With the current rates we are charging we have done our best to provide the best in Bed & Breakfast service, we totally understand that some guest would like to get more on the Television channels, however for now we are just trying to make ends meet. We will continue to speak with the property owners about the railing for the rooftop terrace, but we have made sure to have pictures on the website of what he terrace really look like without deceiving anyone. We wish you well and all the best for the rest of the year. Kind regards Seastar Team
Read more
willemswnpl12 wrote a review Sep 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
Awesome place and really feeling welcome from the time you arrive the food was amazing clean rooms and bathrooms great view what more can you ask for,giving alot of information about the area and the attractions
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Mguni, General Manager at Sea Star Lodge
Responded 22 Sep 2021
Dear Willem Thank you for booking Hannes and is wife, they are such warm souls and we had a great time hosting them. We appreciate you for taking time to send a review, wishing you well, stay safe. Regards Kate & Seastar Team
Read more
lisamarkobz wrote a review Sep 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
I can absolutely recommend SeaStarLodge! Kate, who hosted us was so nice and friendly, gave us good tips. I loved the view, the whirlpool and the breakfast. Near to the sea and the Klipgat caves Just amazing:)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Seastar Lodge, General Manager at Sea Star Lodge
Responded 09 Sep 2021
Dear Lisa What a pleasure is was to have you, you warm smile we greatly appreciate. Thank you for taking your time to send a lovely review of your stay with us. Regards Kate & Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sea star hotel gansbaai
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandGansbaai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sea Star Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sea Star Lodge?
Nearby attractions include African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary (3.3 km), Klipgat Caves (2.1 km), and Owl's Pub (6.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sea Star Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sea Star Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sea Star Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sea Star Lodge?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sea Star Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant, Blue Goose, and Benguela Restaurant De Kelders.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sea Star Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sea Star Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sea Star Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sea Star Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Does Sea Star Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.