De Pakhuys

De Pakhuys

Dam at De Pakhuys
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (12)
View from Room (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 cottages in Clanwilliam
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled in the picturesque Agter-Pakhuis Valley, Cederberg, 26 km from Clanwilliam on route to the historic Wuperthal village, you will find de Pakhuys Farm. The farm is widely regarded as one of the top bouldering destinations world wide. We offer self-catering chalets and camping in a magnificent Cederberg setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

364 Rocklands, R, Clanwilliam 8135 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Cape Town Intl Airport
286Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 84
  • 15
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ilzedewet wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa72 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Schaapkraal (one of the luxury safari tents) and found it to be an interesting experience - camping in style. The tent was clean and equipped with everything we needed. The decor is a bit odd (there was net curtains in front of the tent windows?), but other than that, the set up was great. The outdoor shower is a great experience and there are several great hiking options on the property.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure to book one of the luxury safari tents
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys Kruger, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 05 Apr 2021
Dear Ilze. Thank you for the feedback and we are happy you enjoyed your stay in the glamping unit. Our guests just love the outdoor shower! We do find your comment about the decor a bit odd, specifically the curtains (not NET but VOILE) as we have always been complimented on this. Trust to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tineke G wrote a review Jan 2020
Pretoria, South Africa3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although it was extremely hot in the middle of the day, there was a dam to High temperatures in the day but a dam to cool down. The cabin did not look as in the brochure but was comfortable for a family. Beautiful hikes for the whole family- even kids age 4. Beautiful stars at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys K, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Thank you for the feedback. Glad you and the family enjoyed the walks, the stars and your stay with us. Please let me know what "brochure" you are referring to as we strive for 100% accuracy in our advertising and if necessary, want to rectify this. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JST wrote a review Dec 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa134 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The luxury house tent, Kuru, is a dream come true. The house tent was exceptionally clean, well equipped and has a air conditioner. The location is completely private, hidden in the boulders. There is no cell reception, and the wifi was poor, but one can relax and enjoy a nice swim in the dam, just a short walk away.
Truly amazing!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys Kruger, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 06 Jan 2021
In the quest for a private and secluded location we had sacrifice some of the the modern bells and whistles - you are always welcome back and thank you for the feedback and you support!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kobusvolschenk55 wrote a review Sept 2020
George, South Africa575 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking was made through Booking.com for in 20 out 23 August 2020 in a bungalow and was quoted R 2187.00 for the period. On receipt of confirmation I requested an upgrade to a chalet at R 3000.00 for the period. On arrival they had no record of the upgraded accommodation and allocated Bokmakierie at R 2550.00 for the period. A nice little wooden structure nestled between large rocks and all on your own with beautiful views of the olive orchard and valley. Peace and quiet to enjoy nature. Quality bed with bedding. Unfortunately the geyser did not function properly and only if you read the Info file in the room you will find out that the tap handle must be in a 25 to position. Either the water is too hot or ice cold, did mention this to the gentleman at reception and he confirmed that they know about it. Unfortunately nobody bothered to come and have a look or offered any assistance. Various other issues popped up as you stay longer and have a closer look. The toilet flushing system was not functional and the blind rope was connected to flush the toilet. The shower cubicle had a cracked tile and a leak in the one corner propped with paper. The kitchen had a filthy cutting board with an oversize blind. The braai facility is between large rocks overlooking the valley but cannot be used after sunset as no outside lights available and you have a tripping hazard as you need to climb over the anchor rope of the tarpaulin , no proper walkway. Rip off at R 850.00 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys Kruger, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 12 Sept 2020
Dear Kobus. Thank you for the feedback. We investigated the booking and as explained to you, the mix up was caused by a change request by yourself on 31 July 2020. We charged you accordingly at only R729 per night. Booking.com is very clear on the units and it is important guests make sure they booked the unit they liked. Sorry to hear you experienced problems with the hot water, the instructions for operation of the gas geyser are clearly placed in the cabin and if followed carefully, the water temperature is perfect. We will make sure to bring this to the attention of our future guests and be certain they understand it. I will bring the other issues mentioned to the attention of our crew, thank you. The comfort of our guests are an absolute priority and we take it seriously when not meeting the expectation of a guest. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback to improve our offering. Hope to welcome you back soon so you can also expierence why we have an average review score of more than 9/10 from hundreds of past guests on Booking.com and over 4/5 on TripAdvisor!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nevena J wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town, South Africa8 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked one of the camping cabins and it really wasn't well taken care of.
We arrived and there were dirty dishes, the fridge wasn't on (so we had to wait until it became cold to put the food in that we'd already travelled with for over three hours).
We were told to bring our own bedding, but when we arrived there was SO much bedding that was shoved right at the top of the cupboard, not even folded.
On top of that, they have a lock system, with no key available and no where for you to add your own lock if need be.

That being said, friends of ours that had a glamping tent on the property were definitely well equipped and being in that space was great.

The boulders are beautiful, the lake was great, and the hike to the waterfall was easy and a winner.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Janfreideriek is lovely. It's cooler at the campsite, but the cabins aren't spectacular.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys K, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 06 Jan 2020
Dear Nevena. Thank you for the feedback. The glamping units are priced at 3x the rate of the camp cabin you chose, for a reason. This is reflected in the level of comfort and luxury. I agree, the two are not comparable. I will investigate the points you raised and make work of it. People often leave bedding behind in the campsite cabins and this should have been removed. Apologies for the oversight. We are looking forward welcoming you to one of our glamping units next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SouthAfricawithlove wrote a review Sept 2022
South Africa2,128 contributions240 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Kuru is advertised as an upmarket thatched roof safari cabin  tucked away in a rock enclosed location on de Pakhuys farm.

Absolutely not true. This is not luxury accommodation at all.

We opted for the Kudu permanent tent as the photos on web page portrayed a total different scenario.

The outside braai was to say the least filthy. The tent inside looked depressing, run down and dark.

The entire tent faces directly into the big boulders of the mountain making it extremely unfriendly and dark the whole day.

Obviously the outside shower did not work and we visited in a time frequent by powerbreaks. De Pakhuys was not prepared for this.

Then, the only number provided was only answered via whatsup hours after a question was asked.

In this entire chalet there was not one single mirror.

The ""office" near the chalet looked like a shack. Dirty and untidy and nothing like an office. Obviously someone even living on the verandah. On the way to the chalet one passes the very rundown, depressing camping site. We as seasoned travelers strongly advice against this totally overpriced rundown chalets.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: AVOID this place. Not worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick W wrote a review Feb 2024
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom2,291 contributions709 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had wanted a totally relaxing quiet stay in the Cedarberg mountains and De Pakhuys was just perfect. Located about 30 minutes up the road from Clanwilliam and then down about a mile of dusty unmade tracks (an SUV was useful. It would be bumpy for a normal car!) we checked in at a very friendly reception and small basic shop then drove back about a mile to our lodge. We had our own small swimming pool, lots of well mown grass , outdoor chairs and a table, and a large lodge with a big double bed and a single one too. There was a fridge/freezer, cooker, brai, crockery and cutlery, dining table, kitchen sink and a large bathroom with a shower and plenty of hot water. (During load shedding it was simply dark – no generator). Everything was clean and we simply had a wonderful ‘crash out time’. Each day I swam in the dam close to reception – pleasantly warm water. In February it was very quiet and there was almost nobody else there – or at least that was what it felt like! I walked the waterfall trail (easy enough but some scrambling at the end). The waterfall was seriously unimpressive and the plunge pool very small. I skinny dipped there, since it was deserted. We loved the place for its great views of the mountains and lovely environment. We popped into he nearby ‘Henhouse’ for wine and ate evening meals at the Travellers Rest a few kilometres up the main road.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Herman Wonderer wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Tent Camping and hiking is great at the Pakhuys. Surrounded by the most spectacular rock formations and a short walk to a beautiful waterfall all makes for an unforgettable breakaway from city life. Just came back from my second visit there and I'm impressed by the strong and wide spread Wifi availability throughout the whole camp site! Going back there asap.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthys Kruger, Owner at De Pakhuys
Responded 06 Jan 2021
Herman thank you for the feedback - appreciated. Looking forward welcoming you back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nicoleshaw8 wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely stay over New Years Eve. The area is peaceful with amazing views.
The kids loved swimming in the pool and farm lake.
We stayed in Janfredrik.The tent was well equipped and clean. Only thing I can suggest is to put some curtains/blinds up in the kitchen. The late afternoon sun shines directly into the kitchen which makes it very hot and almost unbearable to cook in.
We will definitely be back and will recommend de Pakhuys to all our friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elana V wrote a review Jan 2020
Somerset West, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A long weekend felt like 2 weeks of holiday. The house was clean, very well kept and comfortable. Friendly and caring owners. A Private stoep with beautiful views was the perfect place to relax after walking, and swimming all day! We will definitely come back, it was a wonderful stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre M asked a question Oct 2016
price per cottage
Answer from Matthys K
Clanwilliam, South Africa10 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Andre Depending on your requirements, the cottagges varies from R600 to R1200 per night per unit
andretillagreyling asked a question Mar 2015
Bellville, South Africa
prices for two nights
Answer from Matthys K
Clanwilliam, South Africa10 contributions2 helpful votes
Price varies from R450 per night to R1100 per night per unit
SouthAfricawithlove wrote a tip Sept 2022
South Africa2,128 contributions240 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"AVOID this place. Not worth it. "
Read full review
Pamela K wrote a tip Sept 2021
46 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We loved glamping! we had the Janfrederik tent which was a delight!"
Read full review
Ilzedewet wrote a tip Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa72 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to book one of the luxury safari tents"
Read full review
Jochen wrote a tip Jan 2021
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lux. Cabins (2 available)"
Read full review
AGrazingCow wrote a tip Sept 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring Bogroll or suffer the consequences"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clanwilliam area.
PRICE RANGE
R 234 - R 1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeClanwilliam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DE PAKHUYS - Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (Clanwilliam, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about De Pakhuys
Which popular attractions are close to De Pakhuys?
Nearby attractions include Pakhuis Pass (0.00 km), Rooibos Tea House (0.3 km), and Clanwilliam Museum (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at De Pakhuys?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
What food & drink options are available at De Pakhuys?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at De Pakhuys?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De Pakhuys?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michaels on Park, Yellow Aloe Guest Restaurant, and Thi Art Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at De Pakhuys?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is De Pakhuys located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Clanwilliam.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire