Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels

Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels

Traveller (42)
Dirty stained towel
Room & Suite (11)
Very badly price adjusted menu at the ClanWilliam hotel, 50% mark up and they don't even reprint the menu
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

R 1 480
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 455
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Clanwilliam
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Clanwilliam Hotel offers comfortable, modern air-conditioned en-suite rooms. There is Badgers Grill restaurant & bar on the premises & a swimming pool. The hotel can also cater for conferences and special events. Each room is air-conditioned, en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a small work table and chair, flat screen TV and a variety of selected DSTV channels to choose from. High-quality linen including towels are provided. Free WIFI / DSTV / 24hr Reception / Wheelchair friendly / Braai Areas / Air conditioned / Swimming Pool / Restaurant / Bar
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

22 Main Street, Clanwilliam 8135 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 71 out of 100
71
Cape Town Intl Airport
200.6 km
See all flights
389Reviews1Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 140
  • 98
  • 30
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
lixiev wrote a review Aug 2021
Knysna, South Africa170 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
A friend and I stayed here one Sunday night on an impromptu roadtrip to see the flowers. We booked our accommodation en route when we realized we wouldn’t reach our destination before sunset. Glenda the receptionist received us warmly,. Although the lobby and adjacent restaurant weren’t quite as spruced up as in the photos on their website, the room was clean with comfy beds and good water pressure in the shower. Apart from a kettle with coffee, tea etc there were no extra amenities, not even drinking water which is usually standard.
As Leipoldts (the on-site restaurant) was the only available restaurant option in town on a Sunday night, we were obliged to dine there. We opted to eat on our little verandah which had more ambience than the soulless restaurant . We figured chicken snitzel with cheese/mushroom sauce and chips would be a safe option …. Well, the chips and the Dom Pedro were the best part of the meal. The next morning, after discovering that there was only instant coffee available we decided to skip the included breakfast and head out in search of a decent cappuccino!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felicity Poggenpoel wrote a review May 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Facilities are standard 3* however some TV's in the rooms not working and towels must be replaced because it's thin and worn
The staff was ver helpful and friendly but the General Manager has no professional etiquette. She is rude and loud at reception. We had a accommodation hiccup, instead of calling me one side to sort the misunderstanding, I could hear her calling my name from the street and she continued screaming at me in front of guests and staff, according to her staff, that is the way she generally speaks to thwm
As tour operators and guides it is definitely not a venue we will recommend for tourist. As an ambassador the hotel, she needs serious people skills training.
The best thing about the hotel was the fresh croissants in the morning, breakfast is nothing to write home about and the coffee was awful . To pay R140 pp for breakfast is totally unacceptable and a ripoff. Can get a more appealing breakfast from Wimpy
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marilyn L wrote a review Feb 2020
Cape Town, South Africa43 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in for overnight as car being serviced at Ford. Ground floor room pool side. Comfortable room with much needed aircon summer months, but blankets available if required for the cooler times , Good breakfast menu along with choices of cerials, yogurts, fruit, toast, juices, tea & coffee. An OK stop for an over night stop over
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CharneSmit, General Manager at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Marilyn, thank you for taking time to review us. Thank you for your kind review. This is much appreciated by the Clanwilliam Hotel Team. Hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards The Clanwilliam Hotel Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel 2020 wrote a review Sept 2020
Cape Town, South Africa35 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to see the wild flowers in the area which is quite beautiful and astonishing.
The hotel is however very disappointing as while it charges high seasonal rates operates without having their facilities operating.the restaurant and bar was closed and one battles to find a place to eat as there are only about two other restaurants open which are quickly fully booked.
The rooms are specious and clean but very dark and cold without heating so very uncomfortable to spend any time in.
The staff however are very friendly and helpful, but I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Smit Charne, General Manager at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 08 Sept 2020
Dear Ron, thank you for your time to review us. So glad that you could enjoy our beautiful flowers. Due to the stage 4 loadshedding on Saturday night our restaurant were closed for only the evening and for the first time, but we made the alternative arrangements for all our guests at the nearby restaurant. My apology for any inconvience caused by loadshedding. Our rooms however do have aircons that instantly warms up the rooms, but I know the spacious room can feel cold and dark during loadshedding. Luckily loadshedding is only for 2.5 hours. I am however so glad that you mentioned our friendly and helpful staff because this is very important to us. We really hope that you would consider coming back. Kind regards The Clanwilliam Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jrothon wrote a review Sept 2020
8 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were disgusted with the state of the hotel when we saw a used ear bud lying on the floor in the passage way. In the room there was no tea or coffee. A mug hadn’t been washed properly and the one tea spoon was sticky. We told reception and they left us with a pathetic packet of broken sugar with the tea and coffee. The bin in the bathroom was filthy, the towel in the bathroom was stained and dirty, plus, possibly worst of all was the dirty yellow stained duvet. We insisted on another room which we were given because the guests hadn’t arrived yet. This was now after 20:00. This room was better but the toilet roll holder was broken, the toilet seat crooked and the water from the shower leaked all over the floor. We were refunded in full but for Afristay's commission.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Nothing good about this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Smit Charne, General Manager at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 06 Sept 2020
Dear Jeremy Rothon, thank you for your time to give us a detailed review of your stay in Clanwilliam Hotel. I am glad that you also mentioned that you were fully refunded. Kind regards The Clanwilliam Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaurenW wrote a review Aug 2023
Cape Town, South Africa121 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment this hotel was. Our "upgrade" room had mold on the ceiling above one of the beds, stained linen, paint bubbling off the walls, no hairdryer (you can borrow one from reception, but you only figure that out once you're searching the room with wet hair), and a filthy shower floor.
While the staff are friendly, they are woefully undertrained. Woefully. For instance, I had emailed requesting a dinner reservation in the restaurant and this was replied to and confirmed. When we arrived they had no record of the reservation and instead of apologizing and sorting out a reservation for us, reception told us that we could go to the restaurant and make a reservation ourselves. That is not service. They aren't unfriendly, they just are not trained. The same applies to the restaurant staff... never have we had a sealed bottle of wine and 2 glasses plonked on our table and just left there for us to open and serve ourselves. In a restaurant!
As to the food, the sirloin steak I ordered was definitely not a sirloin (I have no idea what that was, about 1/3 fat and gristle and the texture of the meat wasn't like any sirloin I have ever had) and the whiskey dom pedro contained no whiskey.
The buffet breakfast was tasty and served with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice, but the hot breakfast would have been so much better with some healthier options included like tomatoes and/or mushrooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Audry bothe, Guest Services / Front Office at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 08 Sept 2023
Good Morning Lauren, we are indeed sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations, however we appreciate your comments and have already addressed some of the issues; others will take a little longer, but rest assured we are earnestly attending to the areas where we fall-short. Kind regards, Clanwilliam Hotel Management.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg G wrote a review Aug 2020
Sandton, South Africa64 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Badly managed. Arrived and told we had to park in the street because they didn't have enough remotes for the gate. Found out afterwards that they have 43 rooms but only 7 secure parkings. After complaining about this we were told we can park inside but we have to call every time we want to enter the gate. The guests had to sort out with each other to move cars every time one wanted to get out. The restaurant was understaffed, after 20 minutes and not even having our drinks order taken we walked out. At R1550 per night one would think you would be better looked after. I can't find the star rating but 2 star at most. Don't recommend it. I have read other reviews and it seems like it has deteriorated. Very disappointed. Should not call themselves a Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mrd4430 wrote a review Jan 2023
Marana, Arizona84 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night to break up the drive between Cape Town and Port Nolloth. The rooms were very clean and parking was secure behind a gate. Our first two rooms near the pool had issues with the key/lock not working so the front desk manager moved us to a third room which was huge and an upgrade that was appreciated. Our room rate was very reasonable and included breakfast in the attached restaurant and that was very good. We could walk to the grocery store and KFC for a quick takeaway dinner. We received good service from all we encountered and appreciated the helpfulness of the front desk manager to resolve the door lock issues quickly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MegmacGeorge wrote a review Aug 2021
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
our welcome was friendly, no assistance with bags, no you cant park inside, the room smelled like it need airing although it was clean. The key didn't work and was replaced. The red cushions on the bed were stained. The linen was fresh. We headed for the dining room as it was late afternoon - I ordered an Irish Coffee - sorry there is no cream. Spar is next door. Looking forward to breakfast the next morning we were hugely disappointed. Grubby uninviting room. A buffet breakfast is easy with a manager and a chef. Not shop bought sliced bread, unprepared fruit, underbaked frozen croissants and pre made scrambled egg. We went to the Golden Aloe for meals and coffee for the duration of our time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we had a lot of loud squabbling about parking huge vehicles in a small lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikki C wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a family and while I cannot complain about the cleanliness of the rooms the service at their restaurant was disappointing to say the least. At dinner some menu items were not available and I was forgiving of it because I thought "Oh, Covid times, maybe they're having service delivery issues." However, the next morning for breakfast there were options that weren't available. The thing that finally pushed me over the edge was that after almost an hour of waiting for breakfast to arrive, the waitress informed us that breakfast had not even been started for our table. Yet, a table that arrived after us were happily enjoying their breakfast. Not even the very simple glass of water my daughter ordered managed to make it's way to our table. We checked out without breakfast. I will never go to this establishment again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Smit Charne, General Manager at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Dear Nicolette Thank you for your detailed review. My sincere apology for the breakfast fiasco. Please contact me personally and I will see to it that we turn this negative into a positive. Kind regards The Clanwillliam Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cristina b asked a question Jul 2017
Forcoli, Italy483 contributions102 helpful votes
Sarò li in agosto.. cosa mi devo aspettare? Come si mangia? E' vicino al deserto fiorito Namaqualand? Grazie
Silvia wrote a tip Aug 2023
Modena, Italy36 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is internal parking, but there are no places for everyone, better not to arrive too late"
Read full review
pongoatravel wrote a tip Aug 2023
Hartbeespoort, South Africa9 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food in the restaurant is average Mid range budget but expensive for what they offer"
Read full review
Eugene S wrote a tip Nov 2021
Sandton, South Africa778 contributions127 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Road side incredibly busy during the day."
Read full review
Jane Doe wrote a tip Sept 2021
Vredenburg, South Africa3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the poolside are nicer."
Read full review
MegmacGeorge wrote a tip Aug 2021
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"we had a lot of loud squabbling about parking huge vehicles in a small lot"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clanwilliam area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,254 - R 1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeClanwilliam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CLANWILLIAM HOTEL BY COUNTRY HOTELS - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Pakhuis Pass (0.4 km), Rooibos Tea House (0.2 km), and Clanwilliam Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Michaels on Park, Yellow Aloe Guest Restaurant, and Thi Art Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Clanwilliam.
Does Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Clanwilliam HotelsClanwilliam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ClanwilliamHotels near Clanwilliam Hotel by Country Hotels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire