We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
9 Queen Street, Calitzdorp 6660 South Africa
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (7)

About

#3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four-star graded guest house situated in the centre of Calitzdorp within walking distance of Boplaas, De Krans and Calitzdorp Cellars wineries. Family rooms are available. All rooms have AC, DSTV, coffee and tea making facilities, hair dryer, safe, en-suite (with showers) and Wi-Fi. Indigenous garden and a warm and inviting fireplace in the lounge in winter. Abundant secure parking is available for both cars and tour busses.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
152Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 102
  • 41
  • 5
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nelia741 wrote a review Jul 2022
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions
The whole hotel was empty, but the four of us were squeezed into one tiny room. We felt unsafe and scared. We were not prepared for our girls to sleep next door as the hotel was empty. We were the only four people in the building during the night. No security. Sparse mid century style décor. Ugh!! Our room was not cleaned. The breakfast was below average. It was the most expensive of all the guesthouses in Calitzdorp. Sadly, it was disappointing on all levels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are many other places in town to choose from
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Queen of Calitzdorp, Owner at The Queen of Calitzdorp
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Bayly, Thank you for your review. I would like to begin by saying that the person who checked you in did advise that there is always a manager on site and that there is security fencing around the entire property. I was on site during your stay and my fellow manager lives next door. We have not had any incidents on site to date. I was also the one on standby for the generator and although we do not normally put it on after 22h30 at night the option of putting it on for you was given. The person who booked your accommodation did explain the lay out of the room to you upon reservation. As you did mention Juanita did offer that your children sleep next door but you declined. You had a key to the entrance of the main house enabling you to lock the building should you have wished to do so. Regarding our breakfast. Please could you give me a little more detail on what you found unsatisfactory and I will then be in a better position to comment. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Leanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhillipSA101 wrote a review Jun 2022
Herolds Bay, South Africa109 contributions15 helpful votes
Friendly staff treating you like royalty throughout. Centrally located just off the main road. Clean spacious rooms, no noise from streets, worth the title The Queen. Excellent stay with delicious breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Queen of Calitzdorp, Owner at The Queen of Calitzdorp
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Morning Phillip and thank you for your lovely review. I will be sharing it with my team as well. Visit us again soon. Leanne & Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoPlaces23557144938 wrote a review Jun 2022
Stellenbosch, South Africa13 contributions
+1
We made a trip to Oudtshoorn for the week. Our first stop was Calitzdorp and slept over at The Queen. What a big surprise. The room was so spacious, we had a balcony which looked over the vineyards which was so pretty for this time of the year. We could sat and enjoy a glass of wine while looking at this pretty picture. Our bed was comfortable and big. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure in the shower was great. We had a nice little fridge in the room where we could keep our wine chilled. The only 2 things that was disappointed, we didn’t had a electric blankets and the wifi network was very poor in the room, but the friendly and helpful manager as well as the rest of beautiful Calitzdorp made up for it! I would definitely recommend The Queen for a overnight stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Queen of Calitzdorp, Owner at The Queen of Calitzdorp
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I wanted to respond to your comment on slow Wifi. With load shedding we have had a few challenges and one of them is access to Wifi. We have noticed that load shedding does affect the speed and we can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. I'm sorry that the air conditioning and winter blanket did not provide sufficient heating in your room.I will bring your suggestion regarding heated blankets to the attention of those concerned. Please visit us again Regards, Leanne & Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny T wrote a review Apr 2022
East London, South Africa12 contributions
The room with a king double is very comfortable with a nice veranda overlooking a vineyard. Wi-fi not available in the bedroom but we could access it in the living room. The bedside lights are pretty but not good for reading .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lcasas310788 wrote a review Mar 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Every details thought of, lovely water pressure. Comfortable bed. Wonderful outside loungers.. perfect home away from home. We can highly recommend this place for an overnight stop, as the area itself is really quiet and not much happening.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Inspire10657094507 wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked telephonically ( big mistake) and arrived to a reasonable reception. On booking we were asked if we needed WIFI in the bedroom - to which we replied YES. At the Queen we found Wifi only available in the lounge / reception area which to our dismay was LOCKED at 6pm. So we had to sit on the bare (wet from rain) verandah floor of main building. The price we paid was far TOO HIGH for what was available. This establishment will not get my recommendation. I am willing to provide photographic proof
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LouiseDerbyshire wrote a review Feb 2022
Derbyshire41 contributions10 helpful votes
Clean room, good shower and breakfast in lovely shady garden area. Appeared secure with some covered parking. Owner is super friendly. Staff efficient and helpful. Nice pool which children enjoyed with comfortable sun beds. We stayed in the annexe where Wi-fi was weak.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rayabercromby wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
Off the beaten track (although perfect for us), we were impressed. The room was clean and spacious and the aircon worked well. Breakfast was excellent; well cooked (the scrambled egg in particular - a useful litmus test), with great service. Good value too. The pool wasn't the biggest, but we did not use that so it would be unfair to add any more than a comment on it. We'll use you again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dennis C wrote a review May 2021
Sedgefield, South Africa3 contributions
The Queen is every bit a 4 Star accommodation. The spacious rooms were spotlessly clean as were the en-suite shower bathrooms, showing excellent maintenance. King Beds were comfortable and the luxury cotton percale bedding made for a great night's sleep. In Autumn the down duvet kept us comfortably warm but extra blankets were available as was the heating and cooling air conditioner, although plenty of fresh Karoo air was available by opening the windows. Refreshments are provided in the rooms and a bar fridge is provided. The breakfasts provided a great start to the day, with personalized service; eggs perfectly cooked to your choice and a sumptuous fry up or health breakfast or both as you like. The Queen is well situated for all of Calitzdorp attractions in easy walking distance including the 3 main wine cellars and restaurants. Secure parking behind an electric gate is provided. We enjoyed our weekend stay and could not fault anything. Staff are professional but genuinely friendly at the same time. The Queen is highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Queen of Calitzdorp, Owner at The Queen of Calitzdorp
Responded 01 Jun 2021
Dear Dennis, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I read it to the rest of the team and they are well pleased with the way you provided so much detail. It was an absolute treat hosting your group and we hope to see you all again next year (if not sooner). Kind regards, Leanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsMaverick71 wrote a review Feb 2021
Pretoria, South Africa125 contributions10 helpful votes
Thank you Queen of Calitzdorp for a most comfortable stay. We brought six very tired and hot cyclists, and you didn't bat an eye when they just fell into the swimming pool. We really appreciated safe storage for the MTB's, facilities for watermelon and takeaway dinner setup the evening, as well as getting ready for an earlier breakfast to accommodate the riders. The rooms were really comfortable and can I just mention...great, firm mattress, god quality cushions, fantastic showerhead with good water pressure! :-D
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: West-facing rooms might be very hot in summer, but all has air-con.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Queen of Calitzdorp, Owner at The Queen of Calitzdorp
Responded 02 Feb 2021
Dear Mrs Maverick Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review. We appreciate you taking the time to comment and it will be our pleasure to host you again. Kind regards The Queen Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCalitzdorp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Queen of Calitzdorp
Which popular attractions are close to The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Nearby attractions include Gallery Route 62 & Penny's Place (0.2 km), Calitzdorp Museum (0.4 km), and Dutch Reformed Church (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porto Deli, Giovanni's Italian Country Kitchen, and Die Dorpshuis.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Queen of Calitzdorp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Queen of Calitzdorp have airport transportation?
Yes, The Queen of Calitzdorp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Queen of Calitzdorp located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Calitzdorp.
Is The Queen of Calitzdorp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.