We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Retreat at Groenfontein

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
This award winning destination, is in a 560 hectare nature reserve adjoining the Swartberg World heritage site. It is situated 20 kms from Calitzdorp, 48 kms from the Cango caves and 59 kms from Oudtshoorn. The guest-house offers simple luxury, friendly service, and a relaxed ambiance, with delicious, wholesome meals and caters for vegetarians and food intolerances. Evenings are spent in the company of fellow guests and friendly hosts. In this haven of tranquility enjoy birding at the dams or in the garden, challenging walking trails, relaxing in the lovely gardens, or swimming in the dam, river or pool. Stay a few days and do day outings to attractions in the area, such as ostrich farms, Cango caves, the spectacular Swartberg pass, and others.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free Internet
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Bar/Lounge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
George Airport83 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
231
52
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
231
52
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools other guests long table the main house walking trails off the beaten track swartberg mountains bird table interesting people old victorian breakfast and dinner big table dirt road night skies unique experience perfect place peace and quiet
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Indeed a magical location. On arrival our host complained about the help more than twice.. hmmm.. and we were ushered to a dark room which was old and tatty.. fine if one pays the price for a cheap bungalow. But this was hellish expensive. I...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank loveoftravel1969
Response from MarieLittleKaroo, Owner at The Retreat at GroenfonteinResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Zilla & Klaus I'm really very sorry that you were so unhappy with your stay at the Retreat! I had noted that you are pescatarian and told you that we had a fish starter, rice, potatoes, broccoli/cauliflower with a cheese sauce and 4 different...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I like the retreat very much. I often wonder why I always want to go back there. It is not the most accessible place och the road not that good but dusty. Tucked in the mountains and the wilderness around you all times. Very good...More

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank Anette M
Response from MarieLittleKaroo, Owner at The Retreat at GroenfonteinResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much Anette, for your most kind words! It is always a great pleasure to welcome you here and we enjoyed having you here again this last visit! We hope that when your travels bring you past the Klein Karoo again, that we...More

Reviewed 9 November 2018

A wonderful place to visit in a very interesting piece of the country. Excellent service and accommodation, very friendly and efficient. In our view only two very minor negatives......did not especially like all guests dining at single table, prefer privacy, and bed linen could have...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Judy N
Response from Marie H, Owner at The Retreat at GroenfonteinResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much Judy and Chris, for your kind words. We're only sorry that you didn't enjoy eating with the other guests. In the now almost 19 years we have been in business it is the most popular feature at the Retreat, together with our...More

Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

I have visited the Retreat now for the 4th time and absolutely love this place! The surroundings are breathtaking beautiful and guarantee a relaxing and stress relieving time, the accommodation is very comfortable and spacious. For me as a health conscious vegan, Marie and her...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank maya0303
Response from MarieLittleKaroo, Owner at The Retreat at GroenfonteinResponded 1 November 2018

Thank you Maya for your VERY kind words - it is always such a pleasure to host you and we this time really enjoyed meeting your delightful daughter! We really look forward to your next visit, very soon! With very best regards and hugs Marie

Reviewed 27 October 2018

Amazing nature. The owners, Marie and Grant, have created a paradise in the Little Karoo. Wonderful walks in the mountains in an an unspoiled environment. Dinners outside in the veranda with guests of different countries. A perfect place to discover another South Africa.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank franne64
Response from Marie H, Owner at The Retreat at GroenfonteinResponded 28 October 2018
Google Translation

Merci, Francoiuse-Anne, pour tes mots si gentils! A bientot avec ton gentil mari, Christian! Merci beaucoup et a bientot! Bisous...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Retreat at Groenfontein staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We recommend the spacious garden suite (number 9)"
mangia1962
26 Oct 2018
Read review
"The suite/separate cottage is more expensive but worth it in my opinion for the view and for the lovely..."
suzEtna
27 Mar 2018
Read review
"Plan to stay at least 2 nights to discover the area."
Fundiwandege
13 Mar 2018
Read review
"The cottages are separate and very comfortable but the three rooms inside the house are spacious and also..."
151timr
16 Sep 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCalitzdorp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing