We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle

Save
Share
Cnr Ingwenya St (Van Riebeeck St) & Ligwalagwala St (Blokland St), Dullstroom 1110 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$63
eDreams
TravelocityUS$63
Hotels.comUS$63
PricelineUS$63
Orbitz.comUS$63
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (2)

About

#9 of 49 in Dullstroom
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Four separate venues, one town, same trusted Treelands brand. Centrally located within walking distance from each other, Treelands Estate, Abbey, Manor and Castle offers romantic, upmarket, self-catering studios or larger units set in the most beautiful old part of Dullstroom. The garden at Treelands Estate hosts an array of flowers, rare copper beech trees, large lawn and other wonderful flora. Treelands Castle offers a wild forest garden. At Estate, Abbey and Manor our accommodation units come with king size beds (can be converted to twin beds), fireplace/braai, flatscreen TVs with DSTV, free uncapped Wi-Fi, fully kitted kitchen or kitchenette and dining area. Treelands Castle, a 4 bedroom house, offers queen bedrooms and a twin room with large open-plan lounge, dining room and kitchen leading onto a covered braai patio. Treelands Estate, Abbey, Manor and Castle are suited for couples, families and larger groups looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life (can sleep up to 71 people between the 4 venues). Safely park your car and walk to town to experience a culinary festival and an array of weird and wonderful shops and locals. Get on you bike or your walking shoes, exit the gate and immediately experience the old world charm of Dullstroom.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free internet
Public wifi
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
249Reviews2Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 83
  • 59
  • 15
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
adamsK1677FT wrote a review 13 Jun
1 contribution
Walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Cozy room with build in braai and all cutlery supplied is sufficient for the purpose. Gardens is well kept and secure parking in the Abbey estate with remote control access.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
michellebraun2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
Roodepoort, South Africa1 contribution
We have stayed with Treelands before but not in this unit. It was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. The linen and bathroom were very clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was a weekend away for my boyfriends birthday but he surprised me with an engagement ring! So all in all it was a very special weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
sanetl2017 wrote a review Feb 2022
Emalahleni, South Africa2 contributions
Thank you for excellent Service receive Liesl!! You step extra mile for us with our Wedding stay over with our family. Very clean and tidy rooms. Excellent Braai area with kitchen. You even organize the restaurant to phone us regarding our friday night meal and sunday morning breakfeast! Many many Thanks you helped us in many ways. Will hear from us again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
elizevos wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The plastic chairs and coaches have to be replaced with better ones. Some of the curtains are way too long for the windows. Showers have to have glass doors not plastic curtains. Make sure your televisions work before guests enter the apartments. Put wood in nice boxes - not plastic ones.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Caj Van Zyl, Owner at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for your review. We have noted your comments and make adjustments where required. Safe travels.
Read more
S6866SKmark wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
Our stay was absolutely amazing. we stayed at unit 5, which is pretty much a full house with awesome kuier area as well as an amazing boma area to just have a fire going and relax. the garden looks fantastic that you look out over. fully stocked kitchen and a fireplace by the kuier area incase its cold while you there. you can still have a jol while inside. I would really recommend staying here any time and we will definately see you guys again on our next trip. :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Caj Van Zyl, Owner at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for this wonderful full star review. We are always excited when our guests enjoy their stay so much. Come visit soon again. Safe travels.
Read more
Le-nika S wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Attended a wedding and booked 6 units in total, 2 of which were at Abbey. When arriving, no electricity (earth leakage was tripped). Trash of the previous people staying in unit was still in the overfilled trash can. We were informed that the town would be loadshedding from 13:00, but the units do not have generators to give power during the almost 4 hours period without electricity. Also, NO water as the borehole couldn't work due to loadshedding (no water in taps, toilet, or shower). We were NOT informed that the water would be off during loadshedding. Next morning, still no water in the warm tap of the shower (even though the electricity was back on). Also, some small brown stains on 2 of the pillowcases.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Caj Van Zyl, Owner at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Responded 16 Nov 2021
Hi, thank you for your reply and review. Unfortunately we have load shedding in SA at unsure times. This affects the town water and electricity. It is an unfortunate reality that we deal with in SA. Hope that you will have a better experience next time with the power for the town on....safe travels.
Read more
Leighdhm wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
The room was very pretty, comfortable and clean. The gardens are well maintained and even though there were guests around us, it was so peaceful. We had a short but very pleasant stay. Thank you Michelle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
aimeeth0ms0n wrote a review Oct 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
The accommodation was lovely , however nothing like the images advertised. We booked and paid for Tree lands 4 bedroom castle, however it was only 3 bedrooms, only 1 of which had a TV, the Tv was also missing in the entertainment area, In the images the kitchen has granite tops, not the case at this specific house, also it was suppose to have 2 en suite bathrooms and only had 1, not that it mattered for the kids but when you pay and expect something it should be there. The "play area" is a set of swings. The images show a washing machine in the kitchen, although it is not listed, this is misleading.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Caj Van Zyl, Owner at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Responded 05 Oct 2021
Hi. Not sure how you missed 4x bedrooms and3x bathrooms that have always been there. Also a fully fitted kitchen with all appliances and granite counters. Are you sure you we’re in our property?
Read more
cgriff812579 wrote a review Sep 2021
Benoni, South Africa1 contribution
The family room was suitable, just felt a little unsafe with the location, as it backed on an open lot. The bunk bed for the children was rickety and needs to be replaced. Otherwise as an overnight it was ok.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kobus S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
•WiFi is not working •DSTV not working •Plugs in main bedroom not working •Water dripping from ceiling in main bedroom, from the geyser •Tried phoning Michel on Saturday,not picking up the phone. •Heater has three wheel and not stable We have friends visiting Dullstroom next month and unfortunately,they will not be staying @ Treelands. Was expecting more for the price I was paying Sorry but 3/10 from me in this one
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Caj Van Zyl, Owner at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Responded 17 Sep 2021
Thank you for your feedback - attending to matters where required. Safe travels.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaDullstroom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Nearby attractions include Wild about Whisky (0.7 km), The Rock Shop (0.6 km), and Dullstroom on the Dam (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mrs. Simpson's Restaurant, The Mayfly Restaurant And Cocktail Lounge, and Udderlicious Milkshake Bar.
Is Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Dullstroom.
Is Treelands Estate, Abbey and Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.