We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Schoemanskloof Bypass Road Farm 14 Badfontein, Dullstroom 1120 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (182)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20/10/14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Forest Creek Lodge
Updated 20/10/14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 49 in Dullstroom
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Forest Creek nestles in a gorge of the Steenkampsburg Mountains, which is the end of the Drakensberg Mountain range. Set in a Private Nature reserve of the Mpumalanga escarpment. The gorge is softened only by a blanket of shrubs and trees which have grown in this malaria-free zone over millennia. It is only when one gets to the gate of Forest Creek Lodge that the rock-strewn grassland is left behind, one climbs up, and up, and enter this little enchanted world. This winter come and enjoy some good food and wine snuggled in front of our log Fireplaces, and go home feeling indulged On this magnificent piece of land we hope we have catered for everyone, from Luxury guest suites at the main lodge* to the Forest Cottage, Bee Eater, The Beach Cottage & Sunbird self catering options. During the cooler months, come and enjoy the Big Fireplace in the Lodge Lounge. There are hiking trails along the stream under the canopy of trees. Treat yourself to an hour or two of relaxation in our Forest Spa
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Secured parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Butler service
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Full view
Contact
Schoemanskloof Bypass Road Farm 14 Badfontein, Dullstroom 1120 South Africa
Getting there
Johannesburg Intl Airport225 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
138Reviews0Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 29
  • 11
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mouldtechplastics wrote a review 04 May
1 contribution
Very beautiful setting. staff was amazing and helpful. rooms were clean and excellent to stay in. awesome hiking trials and just so relaxing. i will be going back. set in the mountains. quite and relaxing
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Gareth S wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Lovely place with amazing views from the Beach Cottage. Would definitely return but would think twice about driving up the mountain if wet, the possibility of being collect at the base was not explained before we arrived. If self catering then some of the basics may be needed, eg cutting board, wine glasses..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Nichols, Owner at Forest Creek Lodge
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Hi Gareth thank you for this review, not quite sure what happened with the wine glasses, they are there now, the cutting board is in the draw , I will check, thanks for the heads up Anita
Read more
Linda Wattrus wrote a review Nov 2021
Nelspruit, South Africa3 contributions
A peaceful retreat away from the world. Gorgeous views, fantastic walks, black eagles, clay pigeon shooting, good service & well appointed rooms. Just what the doctor ordered for s true escape from the world! Thank you Anita, Mush, Paulus & Team for an unforgettable stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Nichols, Owner at Forest Creek Lodge
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Thank you for this review, it makes my heart happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, greatly appreciated All the best from the Forest creek family
Read more
811Yvette wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
This was one of the worst experiences I had in a long time!!! Definitely not worth the money for the stay as well as the food! Will not recommend it to anyone I know. Privacy is non existent and not secluded at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Nichols, Owner at Forest Creek Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear Yvette I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it was unfortunate that you had to put up with the noise from the builders fitting our new lodge roof, I apologize for this. We could have moved you to one of the lodge suites at no extra charge, if you had asked, again sorry. Kind regards Anita and the Forest creek family
Read more
Jenna wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
We spent 1 night at Forest Creek Lodge. We didnt have a high clearance car to make it to the top of the hill but we parked our car safely at the bottom of the hill and were picked up here. We stayed in the Beach House specifically because of the stunning mountain and we were not disappointed. Most stunning views! The room had everything you could need for a pleasant stay. Although we stayed in a self catering unit we enjoyed the most wonderful 3 course dinner at the lodge! Delicious! The biggest highlight for us was the hiking.... Such interesting and beautiful trails in the forest, quite tough towards the end but so enjoyable. Unfortunately the spa was closed which is something I was looking forward to. Overall I wish we could have stayed longer! Very special place...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Nichols, Owner at Forest Creek Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Jenna thank you for writing this review for us it is appreciated. I look forward to having you both back for a longer stay, hopefully we will be able to do the Spa treatments on the room verandas when the weather warms up, as the spa is too small to social distance at this stage. thanks again . Anita and the Forest creek family.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaDullstroom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forest Creek Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Forest Creek Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Forest Creek Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Forest Creek Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Forest Creek Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Forest Creek Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Forest Creek Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Forest Creek Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.