We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat

Save
Share
Witpoort Farm, Dullstroom 1110 South Africa
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (19)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/03/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat
Updated 21/03/04 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 48 in Dullstroom
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat, near the towns to Dullstroom and Belfast, Mpumalanga, South Africa is an incredible place to be all year around. Surrounded by mountains, indigenous forests and rivers and with a mild climate, Valley of the Rainbow is the perfect get-away to experience peace and tranquillity away from city life. The estate is a 2 hour drive on route to the Kruger National park and lowveld regions of Mpumalanga, South Africa. Valley of the Rainbow offers guests a spectacular diversity of birds and wildlife
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Witpoort Farm, Dullstroom 1110 South Africa
Getting there
Johannesburg Intl Airport187 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
231Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 66
  • 10
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Manya D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The food and accommodation is very pricey, overpriced mostly, for what you get. The lodge is run down and rooms are very basic. Very poor internet connection, zero cellphone service. Far dirt road to drive , a no go for rainy weather as you can easily get stuck. We drive a SUV and got close to getting stuck a few times. Closest convenience store is 12km of heavy dirt road, at an Engen garage. No place to go for lunch. Only place to eat or have drinks are at the lodge. The hosts do their best to run the place, but it unfortunately isn’t up to standard and cannot justify the prices they charge for very basic meals.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie van Zijl, Owner at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good morning Manya, We have addressed the bulk of your complaints on your previous review on Booking.com on 21/07 (6 days ago) - quoted below. QUOTE: "It is a pity that we only realised your unhappiness with the Luxury Unit now - we would certainly have tried to make your stay more pleasant had we been informed while you were here. We received your reservation on 06/04/2022 via the Booking.com platform. The Luxury Suite #2 was the only unit still available for the Easter weekend (sadly the Nature Cabin that you wanted was not available - these units had been booked for some time). I chatted to you in depth on WhatsApp from 07/04 regarding the unit you had booked, meals, distance from shops, routes and all other relevant information. It was asked that we be made aware should you have other dietary requirements so that we could arrange accordingly (had this been requested or mentioned (even on the day), we would have made a plan to accommodate you as we had fruit available that is used in the fruit platters that go with the Full Rainbow breakfasts. For the two nights/days that we hosted you and Deon there was no mention of a need for anything (we certainly would have made the trip to a local store to assist to get you snacks). Coffee/tea and rusks were always available in the Dining Room. Unfortunately due to the rain, the deck was not an option to relax outdoors. 145mm of rain in 36 hours was not expected this late in the year. We have 5 different types of accommodation to suite all tastes. The Manor House is the oldest accommodation unit on the property (well over 30 years) and is decorated in that era. Perhaps it is time to give "The Ol Lady" a facelift and I am sure this will be on the cards once we recover slightly from the constraints of Lockdown. The Manor Units do not have a balcony - and most guests use the Deck for this purpose. Our other accommodations include The Mill (Main photo) and Mill Room which are decorated according to their market (which is minimalist & industrial). The Country House is a "English Country Garden" setting. The Nature Cabins are luxurious self-catering units built in the forest overlooking the Witpoortspruit) and the Tented Cabins are our designed for our budget-conscious self-catering" glampers". We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your unit and would have tried to feed your cravings had this been brought to our attention. Once again, we thank you for visiting us at Valley Of The Rainbow. We hope you and Deon made some good memories and enjoyed the friendships made in The Manor Lounge and Bar over the weekend." UN-QUOTE It is unfortunate that you feel our meals are "basic and overpriced" - this is the first EVER complaint we have had in this way - in fact every other review has shown different and we are very proud of the quality of food we have offered our dining guests. Had you made any such complaint during your two-night stay we would have gladly addressed these immediately. ALL the secondary provincial roads in our area were flooded by the heavy rains within 36hrs - these were the same rains that flooded KZN just before the Easter break. We had made every guest aware to keep us updated on any of their travels in the area by using the Live location on WhatsApp so that should they become stuck we could rush to their aid. From your pre and post visit WhatsApps your sentiments on your stay do not reflect what is written in your reviews. If you would like, I will gladly call you to discuss any further complaints you may have so that we can ensure that all our future guests do not have the same experience as you seem to have had. Best regards, Mandy & Gary Stolp Management Valley Of The Rainbow
Read more
jlQ1883IC wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Had a wonderful time at Valley of the Rainbow. Beautiful setting and serene environment. Had a wonderful time with Mandy and Gary - the best hosts! Will definitely make the trip again! Can highly recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie van Zijl, Owner at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi JD & Sage, What an ABSOLUTE pleasure it was to host you and Sage!! We hope you had an amazing holiday (thank you for the pictures - we were green with envy). Looking forward to hosting you both again - this time in the dry. Till we meet again - keep safe and well. Best regards, Mandy & Gary Stolp and the Valley of the Rainbow Team
Read more
renitaliz wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful & tranquil! Mandy and Gary were great hosts that add a personalized touch to make your stay even more special. The food was great! The property is beautiful with lots of activities available
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Inspire535063 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
We have enjoyed to stay at the Valley of Rainbow. Greg and Mandy are very helpful and they take care of all customers needs. Fishing may be better next time. However, overall it was great weekend and we will visit you again in the near future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Shivani M wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa57 contributions39 helpful votes
My family and I had an amazing weekend at the estate. The family room is spacious with a lounge to relax in. The food was delicious. The hosts, Mandy, Gary and Douglas, made the stay perfect. They are kind hearted and filled with kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaDullstroom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat
What are some of the property amenities at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Valley of the Rainbow Fly Fishing Estate and Wilderness Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.