We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (461)
Dining (33)
Room & Suite (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/08/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bush House
Updated 20/08/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Safari isn’t just safari anymore…. And game lodges aren’t all alike. Every visit really does need to be special and every moment something to be remembered forever.The Bush House is not your typical Game lodge. The Lodge is set in the malaria free Madikwe Game Reserve. It is an old farmhouse that after years of family laughter and happiness has been transformed into an inviting and relaxing residence that encourages guests to kick off their shoes and unwind.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740 South Africa
Getting there
Sir Seretse Khama Intl Airport35 kmSee all flights
Lanseria Airport219 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
415Reviews3Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 392
  • 18
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Danie wrote a review 10 May
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
This lodge is right up there with the very best. The staff are friendly and helpful and they treat you like family. The rooms are great and off course the lawn and the waterhole with it underground hide just make it more special. This is really a place to visit with competent rangers and lovely food. The staff really go out of their way to assist with anything that a guest may require.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House
Responded 1 week ago
We all so enjoy having you stay with us and thank you for your ongoing visits. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and really look forward to your next stay.
Read more
jeffsagas wrote a review 02 May
Poole, United Kingdom76 contributions57 helpful votes
I am a solo traveler and was booked to stay at The Bush House from the 31st March until the 3rd April. However I arrived a day late because of a British Airways computer breakdown. This was so disappointing but another story. On arrival I was greeted by a smiling young lady with a towel and welcome drink. I was then escorted to my room that was delightful with a small terrace. I was then treated to a late breakfast my order was taken by another smiling lady and was absolutely perfect after my early road transfer. After unpacking I was shown the Hide that looks out over a water hole at the bottom of the grounds. I had Elephants and Zebra, I would think some wonderful sightings that must have taken place from there in the past. Then in the afternoon the Game Drive and yet another delightful young lady drove us around in search of animals which we did see. Impala, Wort Hogs and Elephants etc. On arrival back to the camp we were told a pride of lions had decided to visit the water hole in my absents and by that time the light for capturing them with the camera had gone. Then a quick shower and Dinner that was so good I am sure my waistline increased in my short stay there the food was just so good. On the Saturday I had booked a full day Game Drive. The young Driver greeted me and we were off. I had made a request that I would like to see the African Wild Dogs. First we found the Lion, Elephants, Impala and Zebra. But we travelled to a lake and there they were the Pack of dogs one of which was swimming in the lake in pursuit of a young Impala driving this poor animal towards the waiting Pack on the bank. Sadly the animals fate was sealed as the dogs don't give up and they were rewarded. As a photographer I of course was delighted with some of the best shots I have ever taken. What an experience ( once in a lifetime). The Dogs then slept under some bushes and rested for the day. We then went looking for 2 Cheetah brothers and sure enough we found them resting under a tree. They were not bothered at all by our arrival and posed for my clicking camera in style. Just when I thought that was it. One of the Cheetah was off and a few minutes later was back with a large Rabbit in its mouth. What a day this was turning into 2 kills and not even 11.30. After spending time watching these beautiful animals we were again off to find an open space for coffee and Bush Breakfast. Perfect. After this we encountered more Wildlife Lions, Elephants the list just went on and on. Eventually we returned to camp and again was greeted by the Smiling young lady waving with a cold towel and welcome home drink. What an absolute treat. Then shower and Dinner the perfect end to the perfect day. The next morning I went on my final Game Drive there were just so many animals. Then sadly back for my final Breakfast and off on my continuing travels. They waved goodbye at the gate and I was gone. This Camp and staff was one of the best experiences I have ever encountered I loved the Camp, the food, the staff and the game drives. I will definitely be back with my wife. And cannot wait for my next full day Drive. Thank you all
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the incredible sightings that you had on your game drive. The team hopes to get to see you and your good lady on your next trip. Such amazing photographs!
Read more
JoziGirl2015 wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa99 contributions10 helpful votes
We had a wonderful visit to the Bush House over Easter. The lodge is warm and comfortable with everything you need. My daughter was so well looked after - from games, to special kids meals, to Easter Egg hunts, sparklers, glow bracelets - she loved it. Nothing was too much trouble for the team. Food is great, plentiful and lots of variety. Drives were very well done, even in such rainy weather. The waterhole and underground hide are alone worth the visit - very special.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your very kind feedback. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your stay even if the rain tried to dampen the weekend!
Read more
StooDee wrote a review Mar 2022
Lincslad133 contributions98 helpful votes
After the enforced two year lapse, we returned to Bush House hoping to recreate the magic of our previous visit. We were not disappointed. Everything about the lodge is first class: the location, delicious meals, quiet rooms, and, especially the underground hide, so close to the animals, you could reach out and touch them. Damian is an intrepid guide, taking you off the beaten track to enable you to view the wild animals interacting naturally up close and leaving you breathless. His dry wit and expert knowledge of the animals and birds enhanced the drives. Minky was unfailingly cheerful, Rebecca makes a mean cocktail, and Sue runs a tight ship, while making guests feel part of the Bush House family. We can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House
Responded 16 Mar 2022
We are thrilled that you were able to join us again and are so happy that you enjoyed your time at the lodge. Delighted that you had such good sightings and enjoyed the hide sightings which never fail to excite. Here is to your next trip - along with the third musketeer.
Read more
Werrataler wrote a review Mar 2022
Meiningen, Germany26 contributions47 helpful votes
We are returning guests since many many years. The reason is: we feel us even better like home. Bush House family is meanwhile part of our family. From the first moment we arrive we feel welcome and can immediately unwind. We enjoy the Lodge, the beautiful Garden with the Koi pond, we love the view at the watering hole and we are every time very thrilled what would be going on in the hide. OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCES are waiting for all visitors ---- inside and outside :-)) We love being part of Bush House family. Warm hospitality, well trained and very attentive staff, tasty meals, outstanding Game Drives -- that's Bush House. Come here and see by yourself!!!! We cannot wait to come back. Thanks to all the staff and to Sue & Gordon, the owners. THANK YOU deep from our hearts.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sue Morrison, Owner at The Bush House
Responded 11 Mar 2022
It is always such a joy to have you both in camp with us and this stay was no different. The team is absolutely delighted that loved your time with us and had the opportunity to create so many new memories. Thank you for your wonderful review and you photographs that we will put up on the website when all have been received. Sichere Reisen
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$575 - US$743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceMadikwe Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bush House
Which popular attractions are close to The Bush House?
Nearby attractions include Madikwe Nature Reserve (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bush House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Bush House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bush House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Bush House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Bush House have airport transportation?
Yes, The Bush House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bush House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is The Bush House accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.