We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lakeside Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Lakeside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Start your review of Lakeside Lodge
 Click to rate
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having just spent a week at Lakeside, I just had to write a review as a way of thanking the wonderful staff who made our stay an absolute pleasure. Accommodation is immaculately clean and most lodges enjoy terrific views of the lake with the stunning backdrop of Hanglip Mountain. you are living close to nature in the Waterberg mountain range,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion L
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Marion L Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your overall stay was a legendary one and that your family enjoyed it. Your wonderful comments about the staff, food and game drives have been passed onto the Lakeside team and we look forward to...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I travelled here by myself for two nights while waiting for friends to meet in SA. I arrived late at night at the wrong entrance (my tour drivers GOS got it wrong) no dramas the ranger a friendly lad called Eugene came down through the reserve to collect me and so I had a night game drive up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MichelleBouic, Client liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and that you enjoyed the food and game drives. Your wonderful comments have been passed onto management and the whole Lakeside team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with our kids (10 and 15)and my sister in two rooms. The scenery is absolutely amazing, the mountains and the lake is just gorgeous. The place is very quite and not overcrowded. We had a couple of beautiful game drives with our guide very knowledgeable and friendly ranger Eugene . We saw elephants, lions and cheetah, lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveBoom22
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Morning SteveBoom22 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside lodge. We are heartened to read that you had an enjoyable time and that it was the legendary stay we aim to provide. Your comments about the food and staff have been passed onto the Lakeside Team. Your comments about the service and rooms...

Arnside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was the second visit to this lodge and we were not disappointed.the lodge is situated overlooking a large lake which is home to some hippos . the staff are very welcoming and friendly ,nothing is too much trouble for them to assist the guests.we had some great gamedrives ,our guide being jan,a font of information and knowledge.the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john r
MichelleBouic, client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Morning john r Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside lodge. We are heartened to read that you had an enjoyable time and that it was the legendary stay we aim to provide. Your comments about the food and staff have been passed onto the Lakeside Team and we look forward to welcoming...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We had a fantastic time at Lakeside ~Lodge,the staff are so friendly and helpful. Food was great, The views are terrific.There is Wifi and a shop for gifts There is an upper and lower escarpment,the lower seems to have more animals, and the scenery around is superb.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank judithshirley
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Morning Judithshirley Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside lodge. We are heartened to read that you had an enjoyable time and that it was the legendary stay we aim to provide. Your comments about the food and staff have been passed onto the Lakeside Team and we look forward to welcoming you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Beautiful location up against a lake (dam), with rooms well spread - allowing you to lie and listen to nothing but peace and quiet and the beautiful noises of the African bush. Food was really tasty and good and service was always helpful and with a smile. Found the staff to be really good. The Entebeni game reserve itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day David B Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that your overall stay was a legendary one. Your comments about the food, staff and the rooms have been passed onto the team. Thank you for the concerns about the game rangers being ''rushed'', these have...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Ranger Tsjaard was a marvelous host. Thanks to his patience we could spot the lion (man and female) in front of the car. ALL personal was extremly friendly. The lodges we clean with all basic options. We recomment to everybody to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vic D
MichelleBouic, Client liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Vic D Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and that you enjoyed the game drives with Tjaard. Your comments have been passed onto the Lakeside team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Diamond Bar, California
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The place is impressive with a very nice view of the lake and Entabeni Mountain at the background . I just feel so relaxed and rested with good food and service.Safari game ride was exciting. Will recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christana P
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Christana P Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Lakeside Lodge. We are heartened to read that you had a legendary stay and that you enjoyed the game drives. Your comments have been passed onto the Lakeside team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2017

From the get go, service was impeccable! We stayed for just one night. The food was plentiful, although it would have been nice to experience some game meat for dinner. Nonetheless, dinner was still satisfying. The view and room itself was outstanding! And the park itself - you can not get more beautiful viewpoints! Breathtaking!! We so look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CarlaBlanckenberg
MichelleBouic, Client Liason at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good day CarlaBlanckenberg Thank you for these great compliments about Lakeside Lodge. We have passed them onto the Lakeside Team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another legendary experience.

Reviewed 2 April 2017

The journey from Johannesburg was long, but on arrival at Lakeside it was forgotten! There were animals in the bush as we drove in to the Lodge area and then started a week of so many sightings and close ups of animals. The elephants came to visit the Lodge twice, and the vervet monkeys kept us entertained with their biscuit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Landgirl52
MichelleBouic, PR & Marketing Executive at Lakeside Lodge at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Seyum, Thank you for sharing your experience at Lakeside Lodge with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Lakeside Lodge and that you had a legendary experience. Your comments about the food, friendly service and the guides, especially Marco, have been passed onto the team and they thank you for the great comments....

297 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (284)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (195)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
46 reviews
11.0 km away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
245 reviews
17.1 km away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
10 reviews
0.0 km away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#32 of 63 in Waterberg
66 reviews
23.6 km away
Olievenfontein Private Game Reserve
Olievenfontein Private Game Rese...
#1 of 1 in Behoudeniskloof
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lakeside Lodge staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Morehead City, North Carolina
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
UK
10 months ago

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Lakeside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem to have lakeside views, but we benefited from one adjacent to the main building and dining area”
MarionL546, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms face the Lake,and are very quiet.”
judithshirley, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room away from main reception to really experience complete peace and quiet.”
  • View from Lodge over Lake at Sunrise
DavidB784, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms closer to the reception with a great view of the Lake.”
CarlaBlanckenberg, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“People liked the 40, 50 and 60 room numbers as they had better views of the lake.”
Landgirl52, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5