We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simbavati Hilltop Lodge

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Firstly im not normally one to write reviews but felt comelled to after my amazing stay at the hilltop lodge. From start to finsh every need was catered for by the most gracious of staff in an absoultely breathtaking location and amazing hotel. All the facilities from room to food and drink were of the upmost quality. The 2 game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vin m
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vin M Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for doing it in so much detail, especially as you say you don't do this often. We really do appreciate it. It was our pleasure to treat you to a memorable holiday. We were glad that we could be a part of it and that we...

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Thank you very much to the people of Simbavati Hilltop: Jimmy (Guide, he really loves his job and knows as much as a lexicon), Elvis (Tracker), Daniel (Butler) and all the others who made our time at Hilltop unforgettable. Their service was great. Each of the eight tents has a location with a great view, an outside shower and even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marrie_2000
Simbavati, OnlineMarketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marrie_2000 It was our pleasure to treat you to an unforgettable safari experience. We are glad that you chose to stay at our lodge and that we could be part of your memorable stay. Thank you for the lovely review we really appreciate it and we look forward to your return visit. Kind regards Nadine

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The staff is ready for you when you arrive and their service doesn't stop until the door to the vehicle of departure closes. Beautifully situated on a hilltop, this hotel blends into the surroundings and there is a sense of unity with nature that pervades your stay. Each guest is taken care of my a team -- for us it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W P
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mark W P Thank you for the lovely detailed review. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay with us, that you loved our lodge and that you got to experience and learn about the bush that we love so much. We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff. Thank you for choosing...

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Simbavati Hilltop Lodge is a dream. I've seen wonderful pictures online but what makes it even more special are the warm, friendly and genuinely caring people/staff. Not to mention their fresh, yummy food! The room is cozy too, the lounge and pool areas are breathtaking! Love how animals are just free to roam around the area. Special mention to Andrew,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyril S
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Cyril S Thank you for the lovely review. It was our pleasure to provide you with an unforgettable safari experience. We will pass on your compliments to the staff as they really take pride in their service. They love to hear that they exceeded our guest expectations. Please come back and visit us again. Regards Nadine

New York
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Simbavati Hilltop Lodge exceeded every place we stayed at during our two-week trip to Southern Africa. The accommodations were inviting, comfortable, clean and stylish. The outdoor showers were awesome! The food was always top-notch. Best of all, the staff's warmth and hospitality really stood out. Aubrey, our butler, was always ready to help with a smile. Our ranger, Clement, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita A
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rita A It was our pleasure that we could make your stay at our lodge memorable and exceptional. Our team was thrilled to hear that they exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back at our lodge and thank you for the lovely detailed review, we really do appreciate it. See you soon, regards Nadine

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I can only recommend visiting this lodge. It was my first safari and it was one like "once in a lifetime experience". All the staff was outstanding and the guide and spotter where just phenomenal. I could make the BIG 5 in just 4 game drives. Thanks so much and it simply was a dream.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sradspie
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sradspie It was our pleasure to give you the "once in a lifetime experience". We were thrilled that we could be part of your first safari. I still remember my 1st trip to Simbavati and nothing else can compare to the experience, so I know how you feel. We hope you will come back and visit again. We promise...

Dufftown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed 3 nights at this lodge and it was fantastic! It's small and secluded. The "tents" are gorgeous and so comfortable. The food was delicious, especially the kudu fillet :) Andrew was lovely and looked after us very well. We loved being out on the game drives, just the chance that we might see some wildlife was pretty exciting.......and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntieCarole
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Auntie Carole Thank you for the lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and that you did not want to leave. Thank you for trying the kudu fillet and complimenting us on our food. Our chef will be happy to know that our guests find his food as enjoyable as we do. WE...

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The Hilltop Lodge is a secluded and exclusive lodge located on a hilltop with panoramic views of a large river where animals abound. You get a real feel of being in the middle of the wilderness with animals going about their business both day and night all around you. The staff is very good and we had great fun on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arabelle67
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Arabelle67 Thank you for the review we really do appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you had fun on our game drives with our field guide and tracker. We hope you will come back and visit again. Keep well, regards Nadine

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 9 August 2016

had a great time. staff were very helpful . Greig as the GM was exceptional.Quality of food and safaris was exceptional. The only thing that was disappointing was that the number of wild animals was much less than what we saw in Botswana.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TS8150
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TS8150 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry the animals did not play their part on your safari holiday. There are no fences in the Timbavati therefore the animals roam freely so it is unfortunate on your trip that they were less than what you had hoped to see. We are still happy to hear...

Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I highly recommend the Hilltop lodge because everything was amazing and brilliant: Safari games, view, room, food, service, ... and thanks to the Hilltop team our stay was breathtaking! Thank you for everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremyDlplr
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati Hilltop Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JeremyDlplr Thank you for the review and for recommending our lodge we really do appreciate it! We are thrilled that you had an amazing safari. Please come back and visit us again. Regards Nadine

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (367)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.6 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
673 reviews
1.0 km away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
457 reviews
14.6 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
593 reviews
7.6 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
354 reviews
9.0 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our accommodation is pure African safari, and comprises of individual pavilion-style luxury tents, arranged to create a unique village feel. Enjoy magnificent views of the bush, the Nhlaralumi River and the distant foothills of the Drakensberg Mountain Range at our lodge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simbavati Hilltop Lodge

Address: Mbali Farm, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: R10 857 - R15 102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simbavati Hilltop Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Simbavati Hilltop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simbavati Hilltop Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Simbavati Hilltop Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 to 8 "Best view of a New Dam with lots of Game”
africanwhispers01, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 7 and 8 have superb views over the river and are the most secluded.”
CPriestley24, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms 6 to 8 had the best views of the river”
GraemeH752, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“#6 was located close to the restaurant and bar without having to walk so far. Since there are no "close" neighbors any room is great.”
MarissaX618, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are all fantastic”
johnpickering2016, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates