We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Enkhulu Gate, Arygle Road, Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (338)
Room & Suite (73)
Pool & Beach (38)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/02/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kambaku River Sands
Updated 21/02/24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 16 Speciality lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Kambaku River Sands is an unfenced camp perfectly situated on the banks of a dry river bed allowing animals to roam freely around and through the camp. The suites are set spaciously apart, allowing for secluded views of the unspoiled bush. The main lodge has a spacious lounge with two enormous open fireplaces, a pool and bar overlooking the waterhole, and well stocked wine cellar. This more exclusive lodge offer a bush spa and gym, spa baths and outdoor showers. Come and experience classic luxury in a pristine setting…with traditional Kambaku style and hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Spa
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Enkhulu Gate, Arygle Road, Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
Getting there
Johannesburg Intl Airport363 kmSee all flights
Ngala Airfield9 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
416Reviews15Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 386
  • 25
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sofiapotier wrote a review Feb 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania140 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
We spent 4 nights at Kambaku River Sands in February 2021 thanks to a great recommendation from our travel agent. We were the only guests on property and had a marvellous stay! Words cannot express what a wonderful experience we had - I know a lot of people reading tripadvisor are probably trying to choose between a ton of options so I'll keep this review focused on some key areas that might help you choose Kambaku River Sands. The traversing area is quite large, so over four days we saw a variety of areas and different scenery. This is KEY when staying several nights! The pool was great for the hot days in between drives, and the air conditioning in the rooms was perfect for February humidity. The care and love of the area and the animals in it is obvious from each of the staff members. Additionally our guide Julius and tracker Douglass went above and beyond each day to give us a special experience finding a new animal or moment. I know animal sightings aren't guaranteed for each visitor - so we feel spoiled that we got to spend so much time with leopard, lions, the big 5, and so many baby animals! We were originally scheduled to stay at their more "rustic" sister lodge (which still looks fantastic) but switched to this one after postponing our trip for a year due to the pandemic, so had a little bit more room in our budget, and for the price difference I think it was a great value to stay at this one! Rooms and bathrooms are a great size and perfect to relax in after an early morning drive. The food was very good as was the wine and beer. You do have to pay extra for cellar wines but the house options suited us just fine. There is a mini bar in your room as well as daily turndown and cleaning available. Laundry services were appreciated as well and took less than 24 hours. The lodge is only a 30-40 minute drive from the airport (maybe a little more if you run into some animal herds on the road there!). The lodge helped to arrange COVID tests in Hoedspruit for us as well, in order for us to meet requirements to travel home. Our travel agent also shared that this was our anniversary trip and we came back one night to lovely champagne and anniversary treats in our room. I know not as many people are travelling right now, but if you have the opportunity to go to Kambaku River Sands, take it! Thank you Kambaku for once in a lifetime memories - we can't wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicola Naude, Owner at Kambaku River Sands
Responded 01 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for the amazing review !I cannot tell you how much pleasure it give me to respond to a review again and actually have had guests again ! It was incredible to hear a foreign accent in our lodge again and I think all the staff were over the moon to have you stay with us !For braving all the new travel regulations, and COVID tests and uncertainties around international travel at the moment. Thank you for all the comments on the lodge, rooms, food and game viewing. Even with the bush being so lovely and thick and green after all the rain - you were so fortunate to see all that you did. And as always we love spoiling guests with special occasions to celebrate - thank you for choosing us to make this anniversary one to remember! We cannot wait to see you again with friends at some or other stage!
Read more
Vicki J wrote a review Mar 2020
Minneapolis, Minnesota11 contributions1 helpful vote
Our stay at Kambaku River Sands was unbelievably wonderful. The attention to every small detail was outstanding, from beautifully presented meals to words of wisdom left in the rooms. The rangers and trackers were knowledgeable and personable, making sure that the bush experience was safe and exciting. I enjoyed the pace of the day so much, from the sunrise safaris with coffee breaks in the bush to the evening rides with drinks in the sunset. Every staff member was professional, and the entertainment with the meals was great. One evening we dined outside in the dry river bed with elephants keeping us company nearby! I will never forget my stay at Kambaku River Sands and I hope to return soon with my family.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nicola Naude, Owner at Kambaku River Sands
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Thank you so much for the lovely review - we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that soon we will be up and running again for more guests to enjoy !
Read more
LightPacker571133 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
From the time we arrived until the time we left, every moment here was incredible. The rooms and lodge are beautiful. The staff is so friendly and makes you feel so pampered. The food is amazing, and the game drives are nothing less than magical.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from KambakuOwners, Owner at Kambaku River Sands
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review of your stay with us - we are so happy you had such a fantastic time !
Read more
Kristof_and_family wrote a review Jan 2020
Beringen, Belgium20 contributions13 helpful votes
We spent two night at Kambaku River Sands last Christmas. It was for us the first visit to the greater Kruger area. Everything about our visit was top-notch. The rooms were beautifull and very spacious. Food & drinks were excellent. Nice pool with great views. The safari-drives were beyond our expectations. With our guide JJ and tracker Renias we made some unforgettable drives. Predator viewing was excellent with some "bucket list experiences": seeing the lions with nigh lights, being next to a leopard in a tree with an impala kill, taking a break while elephants are playing in the water.... Unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KambakuOwners, Owner at Kambaku River Sands
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Thank you for the lovely review - we are so glad that we ticked the bucket list requirements !
Read more
gport wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
We have travelled extensively over the years, and I am convinced our time at Kambaku will garner the bulk of many discussions and laughs over the years. The property is beautiful and understated. The individual cottages are clean and large. The food is terrific. The staff is great. We had many highlights on the trip. The most obvious would be drives with JJ and Renias. We shared many laughs and thrills ranging from being enveloped by a herd of elephants, watching a dead hippo serially eaten by hyenas and vultures, and seeing countless other animals and scenery including lions hunting, packs of wild dogs checking us out, and numerous young animals with the parents. JJ was a constant source of information and laughter, and Renias' constant smile and joking made every drive magical. It was a pleasure to have Laura in our Land Rover. She added to the fun and information. The small size made for an intimate experience getting to know the other guests and sharing in each others' experiences as well. We enjoyed meeting the staff and other guests and laughing at each others stories. The icing on the cake was during cocktails on New Years Eve elephants decided to drink from the pool. As mentioned room WiFi was poor however for my wife and I this was more positive than negative. We would highly recommend a visit to this location.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from KambakuOwners, Owner at Kambaku River Sands
Responded 09 Mar 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review on your stay with us ! We are so glad the trip was so memorable! Thank you for mentioning the Wifi - we have luckily sorted out all the problems and it is up and running perfectly now again !
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$616 - US$1 089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National ParkTimbavati Private Nature Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kambaku River Sands
What are some of the property amenities at Kambaku River Sands?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kambaku River Sands?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Kambaku River Sands?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kambaku River Sands?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kambaku River Sands?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Kambaku River Sands have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kambaku River Sands offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kambaku River Sands?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kambaku River Sands?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Kambaku River Sands have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.