We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Simbavati River Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Simbavati River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Simbavati River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

We had 3 nights at the Simbavati River lodge in early November. From start to finish it was a great experience. The accommodation was exactly as we expected and very comfortable, the food was very good and the quality of service and welcoming staff were great. Being an open camp just being in and around our tent and the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Rachel J Thank you so much for the lovely review we really do appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed our lodge, the game drives and the wildlife. Your stories to take back home of the Big 5 and your bush walk must be incredible! We are so glad that we could be part of your safari...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This is a great bush camp in South Africa with lots of great features. The staff are most helpful and tend to your every need. I did find the manager (can't remember her name) a little off putting, she had been off for a few days and was walking around introducing herself. She came up to me and turned around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaviGirl
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SaviGirl Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is greatly appreciated. We would like to apologise on behalf of our Manager. We can assure you that her comments were innocent and she did not mean to offend you in any way. We are glad that you still had a positive experience throughout your stay at...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We were very disappointed with the mopani bush location of the lodge We did see a fair bit of game but it's definitely not my favourite type of bush velt The ranger also really wasn't up to standard We told him we were really interested in birds and he hardly showed any interest It's a bit of a production belt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Eric J We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. Please note that we take all comments seriously and we want you to know that your review has been sent to all of management to look into this matter. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for providing...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

The Simbavati River Lodge, located in the Timbavati Private Reserve, is joined to the Kruger. The lodge itself compromises of a great setting in a dry river bed, and has it's own waterhole and viewing deck. My room, a luxury tent had a rustic feel, but all the mosd cons of hot running water, shower, electricity and left me for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JoeGK
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JoeGK Thank you for taking the time to write 2 reviews. One for each of our lodges, it is greatly appreciated. The sightings you had are out of this world and I am sure many are very jealous including myself! We are so happy you enjoyed River Lodge and that you had a really great time. We look forward...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We visited Simbavati River Lodge for 2 nights and had the most memorable, amazing stay. My boyfriend took me there as a surprise to propose to me and it couldn't have been more special. The staff went to SO much trouble, especially Greg! All my (now) fiance asked was that we could stop near a river bed at sunset for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsten O
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten O Congratulations on your engagement. We were so happy that we could be part of this memorable occasion and all the extras was the least that we could do to make this special moment one of the best moments of your life together. Thank you for the lovely review it is greatly appreciated and we will pass on...

Hawthorne, California
Reviewed 19 October 2015

I'm just going to get this out of the way up front: Mind Blown! and WOW! (In the best way possible.) We arrived after dark our first night so missed the evening drive, but saw a buffalo kill on the way in. We were welcomed with drinks and a view of hippos at the water hole. The basic rules during...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nx6fly
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Nx6fly Thank you so much for the awesome review! Wow, the details and compliments "blew us away". We also see you as family and we are so happy that we achieved what we set out to do which was to make you feel like you are at home and part of our family. Thank you for choosing our lodge...

Aiken
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed four nights in Simbavati; upon arrival we were greeted by Nyallah grazing right in front of the lodge, as well as staff with hot towels and juice. Tanya outlined procedures and gave us instructions on properly locking doors in our tent to keep out the baboons. Our tent was spacious, with a large deck; the door was solid...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary J
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mary Thank you for choosing our lodge for your safari experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at and that you got to see the wild dogs and rhino as that is truly a special sighting for any game drive. Thank you for your lovely detailed review of our lodge we really do appreciate it. We hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The directions we received to get there were spot on and easy to follow, and upon our arrival we got a very warm welcome with little gifts for the children which they loved - the torches were a huge hit. They are very family friendly and welcomed us and our two young children (age 6 & 4). The check-in process...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ukmorrows
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ukmorrows Thank you for the detailed review. We value your feedback and constructive criticism. We are happy to hear that your kids had a memorable safari experience and that you got to experience wonderful wildlife sightings. Sorry to hear that our field ranger was grumpy. We are starting refurbishments in Nov and we know that our guests will be...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Family of Mum, Dad, miss 8 and Miss 6 loved this. We enjoyed 6 game drives over 4 days and saw the big 5 plus crocs, hippos and the highlight of a cheetah with a kill. Accomodation was great the food ok and the staff great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Daniel We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay at our lodge. Wow, the Big 5 and a cheetah kill! Your family was treated to some special and memorable sightings. I m jealous. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the service. Thank you for the feedback regarding our food, we...

Neuss, Germany
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We had one of the very big and beautiful rooms, rather actually a whole little flat. The children`s room was with a view onto the dried out river and the waterhole. A very big bathroom with a great shower. The service is excellent and the rangers even take care of you while dinner. With small children you need to reserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabine C
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sabin C Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our family chalets, that you were more than happy with our service and that you had excellent game drives. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Keep well, kind regards Nadine

443 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (432)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Other (245)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.9 km away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
179 reviews
18.7 km away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
571 reviews
5.1 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
192 reviews
8.1 km away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
337 reviews
9.7 km away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: R9 470 - R14 087 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Simbavati River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a view. We were stuck at the end of the row of tents with no view at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Archie9898, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wild dog room”
 of 5 bubbles 908cindy, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are best”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyBirdie, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The tents and rooms are both good. Ones with view over river or waterhole would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles 17daleg, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a tent overlooking the river bed or you will have no view.”
 of 5 bubbles jerryban, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5