We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (586)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (33)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“family chalet”(11 reviews)
“luxury tents”(24 reviews)
“game drives”(123 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Simbavati River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
338
59
18
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
338
59
18
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletluxury tentsgame driveswalked rightmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencetimbavati reservebuffet stylekruger parkwild dogsgreat safarian amazing experiencethe managersprivate reserveoutdoor showerour night stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Brilliant service from Bishop, Bongi and the whole team at the lodge - really well looked after. From a safari perspective managed to see 4 out of the big 5 - great leopard and Ele experiences. Loved the dancing on one of the nights -...More

Thank Kim C
Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River LodgeResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Kim C Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you loved all of our extra touches that help make your safari experience memorable. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Keep well,...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We landed on Motswari air strip in afternoon and were transported to lodge. Our travel agent was a pulling a scam. So lodge was put in a difficult situation. We all were denied a room until we paid rack rate and that was unfair desicion,...More

Thank Isolohi
Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River LodgeResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Isolohi Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you with regards to your reservation that you made. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our service, food and the game...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We worked with a travel agent to find a perfect safari lodge and our agent had nothing but great things to say. Once she sent us our choices, this one stood out mainly because of it's relatively small size and for the "luxury tents". The...More

Thank BL2007
Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River LodgeResponded 21 June 2017

Dear BL2007 Thank you for choosing to stay at our lodge and for your lovely detailed review it is greatly appreciated. We are glad our "tents" exceeded the husbands expectations and that you enjoyed our accommodation. You will have to come back to visit us...More

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Simbavati River Lodge is beautiful!! It's the perfect lodge to come home to after game drives. Everyone at the lodge was helpful, accommodating, warm, and just made you feel so special. We booked the Family Cabin, and could not be happier! The rooms were clean,...More

1  Thank Antoinette B
Response from Simbavati, online marketing manager at Simbavati River LodgeResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Antoinette B Thank you for your review it is lovely. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay at our lodge. Especially your daughter. Hopefully we have turned her into a future game ranger. It was our pleasure...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017

Everyone we dealt with at Simbavati was great. We had Stefan and Nicholas as our guide and tracker. They were very knowledgeable and informative. They not only informed us about the animals but also about tracks, trees, birds and their calls and foliage. Very interesting....More

Thank LauraHum
Response from Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River LodgeResponded 21 June 2017

Dear LauraHum Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your game drives make me feel so jealous, what an amazing experience you all got to have, wish I was with you. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our bush dinner. We will...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$642 - US$1 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$642 - US$1 154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (586)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (33)
Pool & Beach (12)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
johnniebdover
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ivanhoe19 | Reviewed this property |
Drives run at the same time every day. This may vary slightly depending on the season but for us in July it was 6am and 3pm.
1
Vote
johnniebdover
21 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Simbavati | Property representative |
They are only a couple of km away, however they are not walking distance away and you are not able to see one lodge from the other because of the trees, grass and bushes. On your game drive your guide might take you past... More
2
Votes
Candace Y
17 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Simbavati | Property representative |
Hi there. May is chilly. Please dress warmly. We do provide blankets on game drives.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Be sure to lock your doors to keep your belongings safe from baboons."
Read review
"Views of the river were beautiful right outside the bedroom on the deck."
Read review
"All rooms are individual lodges - try to book one close to the main lodge - ours was a little way off."
Read review
"Tents (so luxurious) are wonderful..Family accomodations are most likely as nice."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing