We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bovlei Road, Wellington 7655 South Africa
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
StayForLong
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (56)
Dining (23)

About

#2 of 30 in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Peace and tranquillity await at this luxurious and romantic wine and fruit estate, set in the heart of the Cape Winelands, South Africa. Dunstone Country House lies at the foot of the historic Bainskloof pass, Wellington, Cape Winelands, South Africa. Escape the big city and accommodation of Cape Town, and enjoy the peace and quiet of the beautiful town of Wellington. Dunstone Country House is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Situated at the foothills of the mountains, down a dirt gravel road, amazing views and the sound of nature welcome you. Want to escape to a place with no traffic or town noise then this is the place for you. Dunstone Country House: Five beautifully-appointed guest suites are the original Dunstone guest rooms; they are housed in the converted stables and a stable farm cottage. The rooms delight guests with stunning views of the mountains, vines and the farm. From your private entrance and veranda, enter a little home-away-from-home, with all modern comforts and all the extra touches for which Dunstone has become renowned. These enjoy the comfort of a beautiful guest lounge overlooking the mountains and vineyards with wrap around views and an infinity pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains beyond. Dunstone Manor: A new addition to the Estate is the recently acquired, original manor house. A stately three bedroom house on the southern rise of the farm, set amongst lush gardens, towering shady oak trees, and vineyards. This beautiful property has an air of tranquillity, making it the perfect retreat. The property can either be rented as a private house sleeping 6 – 8 persons on a B&B or self-catering basis, or as individual guest suites on a B&B basis. The three individually decorated bedroom are housed on the first floor and offer beautiful views over the gardens, vineyard and mountains. Downstairs is a gracious guest lounge which opens out on to a pretty stoep with its own sun drenched pool. The Cottages: Guava cottage is a self-catering cottage amongst the guava orchard, it boasts its own Viognier vineyard outside the front door. Guava has 2 king-sized bedrooms, a private garden and private heated swimming pool. Guava can also be taken on a B&B basis. Vine Cottage is a new addition on the southern slope of the Estate. Originally stables, it is tastefully converted into a pretty one-bedroom cottage, a very private escape for 2. Guests at Vine cottage have access to all facilities at the Country House, on a B&B option. Facilities: In addition to the facilities listed below, we also offer off street vine shaded parking; free wifi; DSTV hotel package; a fully licensed family Bistro restaurant; winery, cellar tours and wine tasting. We have 10 hectares of beautiful far to explore, including vineyards and fruit orchards. In-Room: All rooms have air-Conditioning with cooling and heating mode; fine cotton linen; goose down duvets and pillows; en-suite bathroom; high quality towels & bath robes; luxury amenities; hairdryer; large bar fridge with honesty bar, and snacks and tea tray with homemade lavender cookies. Rooms also boast safe, iPod player, flat screen television with DSTV hotel package, DVD Player with USB port, and an in-house DVD library is also available. Dunstone Country House facilities include: beautiful guest lounge overlooking vineyards and mountains, with honesty bar and tea and coffee making facilities; 10m infinity swimming pool with luxury loungers; landscaped gardens including a herb garden, roses and lavender. Dunstone Manor facilities include: A beautiful guest lounge leading out onto a sun drenched swimming pool; vine covered stoep and seating area; fully equipped kitchen and honesty bar; braai facilities. Cottage facilities include: Guava - fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, private garden, private heated 6*4m pool. Vine - private veranda and garden, Area Information: Dunstone Estate is ideally located to explore the Western Cape. Only 45 minutes from Cape Town, 15 minutes from Paarl and 30 minutes from Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House | Dinners from R250 pp | B&B Rates include breakfast, wine tasting and afternoon tea
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
294Reviews1Q+A83Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 41
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bordeaux wrote a review Jan 2022
Baar, Switzerland22 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights in the vine suite. Private garden, big Weber braai, great service, enjoyed simple cooking with clean dishes. Can recommend for people who look for tranquility. Pool some 300m away at the main guest house, clean, cold drinks in the fridge and very friendly staff. Thanks to Privilege (name?) who warmly welcomed us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Consult the website or enjoy the professional dialogue with the owner.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from abigail wallis, Owner at Dunstone Country House
Responded 30 Jan 2022
thank you so much for staying with us and writing your review
Read more
Colin wrote a review Jan 2022
22 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked our end of the year break in June 2021 already. The accomodation was pricy for our budget but we decided after Covid, we'll support the hospitality industry. As we arived on the 26th of December, driving into the estate one could already see the neglect. No maintenance at all. Our cottage was clean but the front door handle came off as we entered. The air conditioning in the main bedroom was not working. This is one of the reasons we booked the Guava cottage...... A/C! Wellington is very hot! The duvet on the king beds were the size a double bed....... This is not luxury! The grass around the pool wasn't even cut....... This does not say welcome does it? During our stay the septic tank was overflowing with flies everywhere! Even at the restaurant the septic tank was overflowing..... So much for health and safety! We could not use any of the pans supplied in the kitchen...... 10 of them....... I will attach photo's! The beds were stained and the list will not end. Needless to say our end of the year break was a nightmare and it was great to return home after 5 nights in this very small, basic cottage with a luxury pricetag. The captain af this ship has abandoned the ship and it needs somebody to take control again. We also noticed afterwards that the farm is up for sale....... After complaining we were re - embursed R500 per night but this did not take the disappointment away! Our advice...... STAY AWAY!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from abigail wallis, Owner at Dunstone Country House
Responded 24 Jan 2022
I can assure you I have not abandoned the ship and I care deeply about my farm and my guests. Your review is cruel and harmful. The farm is not neglected at all. We have a full team of staff but we do not make our staff work over the Christmas weekend - maybe you thought it was neglected because our staff were spending time with their families on the 26th December ?? Sadly in life things on occasion break, they break in hotels, in guest house and in our own homes. The one aircon (there are 3 aircons in the cottage) did breakdown and we were unable to get it fixed during your stay due to the time of the year and the companies being closed. When they reopened they had to order a part. The part we were told would take a day, but then 2 days came and went so instead of waiting for the part which would of been cheap I instead brought a whole new unit at a high cost so that the next guests had aircon. We tried our best to fix the problem during your stay but to no avail and hence we gave you money off your stay. Please note that when the other 2 aircons are on the whole cottages gets cold. The door handle came off and we fixed it straight away. The grass was cut on the 24th Dec, the day before Christmas. We don’t cut our grass extra short otherwise its dies in the hot sunshine. Im sorry it wasn’t cut on the day of your arrival but this was mainly due to the fact that our staff were having Christmas with families and secondly it didn’t need cutting. The duvets are King sized – I can take a photo of the label if you would like – The beds are King sized and so are the duvets. The pans are lifelong stella pans. They last a lifetime but over time the base gets black from good cooking. The inside of the pans are all non stick and are in good condition. The septic tanks were emptied – again we reply on services to empty the tanks and just before Christmas when we were secluded they didn’t come, but they did on the 27th. We advertise a country cottage on the farm, it is not luxurious – we don’t advertise it as such. It is comfortable, well equipped, great for family’s and dogs, in a fantastic setting. I am very sorry you booked somewhere you didn’t like but I gather even if the grass was cut, the aircon had worked and the pans brand new you still would of not like it.
Read more
Heilie R wrote a review Oct 2021
George, South Africa2 contributions
We stayed at Acorn self catering cottage. We never once saw any staff,no greeting. Cottage was left open for us,no cleaning for the 3 nights I requested clean towels after 2 days but was told it will cost extra!Done on sms,no staff around. Cottage was clean but not spotless. Old ,dusty outside furniture. Will not reccommend !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from abigail wallis, Owner at Dunstone Country House
Responded 07 Oct 2021
Many thanks for your review, however your points are very unfair. You booked a self catering cottage and all the details were given to you at time of booking. You were told that the rate was for no service. service could be provide at an additional charge. You were also told that you could do self check in and all details were provided to you. Staff were onsite throughout your stay and always available via whats up, sms or a phone call away - They they didn’t come knocking on your door to disturb you and we offer self-check in and keep our distance due to covid. Please note that we did add an addtional bed to your cottage for no addtional charge and give you a disocunted rate. I do apologies if the outside furniture was a little dusty. The cast iron table and chairs and sunbeds do live under the very old oak trees and sometimes the leaves and wildlife do make the furniture dirty – even after they have been cleaned.
Read more
ChrisCharlesCT wrote a review Dec 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa54 contributions38 helpful votes
Dunstone Country House is neither a B&B nor a hotel but boasts the best of both. So let’s call it more of a delightful country retreat (without the Kumbaya). With so many 5 star reviews (with which I heartily concur), I have little to add except to mention the most generous breakfast delivered to our room’s garden: a great picnic hamper containing, croissants, brie cheese, biscuits, hot quiches, toast, jams, cereals, fruit salads, fruit juices, yoghurts, mueslis (home made), muffins, Pastel de Nata…and more, and rounded off with hot teas. Absolutely overwhelming! Of course, we couldn’t finish the lot; Abbi, our delightful host suggested that we keep the rest for lunch (which was most of it). On the second day, we elected to have breakfast at the Stone Kitchen (easily within walking distance of our beautifully appointed room). There they offer a full à la carte menu for all appetites… more of a complimentary breakfast on offer rather than the B in B&B’s usual limited fare.(Stone Kitchen also offers lunch and the occasional pop-up dinner. And they are quite a number of wine estates that offer dinners within easy driving distances.) In all, a wonderful, tranquil, relaxing three day stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Richard B wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom148 contributions70 helpful votes
We had stayed a couple of year ago and the quality has remained the same. Very friendly staff in a beautiful setting. The rooms are not very large but well appointed with comfortable beds. A very nice communal area looking at the valley and the vines with a happy hour every night. A peaceful swimming pool with comfortable loungers and shade. The Stone Kitchen produces a very good breakfast (and is a pleasant place for dinner a short walk from the main buildings)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$111 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dunstone Country House
Which popular attractions are close to Dunstone Country House?
Nearby attractions include Doolhof Wine Estate (2.4 km), Upland Organic Wine (4.0 km), and Diemersfontein Wines Tasting Room (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dunstone Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Dunstone Country House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Dunstone Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dunstone Country House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dunstone Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Perfect Place, Oude Wellington Restaurant, and The Grillroom.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dunstone Country House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dunstone Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Dunstone Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Drakenstein Prison (10.9 km).
Does Dunstone Country House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.