We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa

1 Vergenoegd Road Vergenoegd Löw The Wine Estate, Faure, Stellenbosch Wine Route, Somerset West 7130 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Somerset West
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated on one of the oldest working wine farms in South Africa in a unique position between the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay, Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa is the perfect base to explore all the major attractions of the Western Cape region. Comprising three bespoke 5* accommodation options, all the rooms, suites and cottages are nestled in blissful seclusion within manicured vineyards and gardens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Italian
22Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jaromir V wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Congratulations to Tina, Angelo and Kalu!!! They’ve been able to create one of the first-class places to stay in Africa in a short period of few months. All the hospitality and professionalism their guests were used to in the old place is now here at the Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa. You can choose from the different styles of suites, world-class fine dining options at Clara’s Barn, very well-organized wine tastings and lovely spa. I’m sure all Boutique Hotels lovers can easily find their own paradise spot at the Estate.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris P wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We stayed for one night after arriving on an early morning flight from Europe. We treated ourselves to the Presidential Suite which has its own swimming pool. On arrival Kyle and Patrick were very pleasant and showed us to our room. The manager showed little interest. The Suite is stunning but the pool was dirty and the pool robot stayed switched off and in the pool our entire stay. Nobody checked on us during our entire stay - there were crickets in the room that kept us awake! If you’re charging top Dollar for one night (as much as a week in top class B&Bs ) then you need to deliver world class service. Restaurant is good but breakfast very average - small paper napkins not acceptable. At this price there is so much better in SA.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Chris, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations; your comments are taken seriously and will react upon. However I would like to clarify few things. I am extremely proud of my Team and so glad you have experienced the hospitality extended bt Kyle and Patrick; the manager who showed little interest (busy at the time with other issues hence Kyle and Patrick taking care of you) spent 15 minutes chatting to you whilst you were enjoying a wine tasting and also proceeded in arrangement a picnic dinner for you and your guests for the evening. After your departure we have realised that the pool pump had ceased operating and it was replaced at the weekend; it is an unfortunate situation and for that I do apologize. We effectively communicate with our guests, once they have checked in, via Whataspp; the Estate is vast and accommodation is scattered amongst 187 hectar of land therefore we have a Lodge approach when communication with guests; in addition we do not want to intrude in their privacy but any requests received are taken care of in 10 minutes. It is unfortunate that you experienced a cricket in your room; our rooms are set amongst vineyards and open land, therefore it can inevitable, however we have a night manager on duty who can assist with spray or chemicals to eliminate any cricket; it is not the first time that it has happen and unfortunately it wont be the last. Your request of an early check in was taken into consideration; we generously allowed you to check in very early and also check out two hours after our normal check out time; I take that courtesy as a delivery of world class service. I sincerely hope though that your unpleasant stay with us did not deter you from having a relaxing holiday in our beautiful country. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mlaine272026 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
A lovely place with excellent food and tasty wines combined with friendly and high-quality service. All facilities were beautifully designed and in excellent condition. We really enjoyed our stay in Vergenoegd Low Boutique Hotel & Spa and would recommend for anyone looking for relaxing time with great culinary experiences in a beautifully environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mlaine, Tahnk you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so glad to read that you had an excellent one and enjoyed all the that the Estate has to offer, from its culinary experience, the rooms, the service provided without forgetting our wines. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Marlène D wrote a review Nov 2023
12 contributions3 helpful votes
It was a fantastic stay. Everything was perfect. The size of the room, the bed is very comfortable. Plus there is some little attention as you arrive The wine dégustation was great and the lady was very professional. Breakfast is great and of course the running duck were so cute The only thing is that the hot tub outside was dirty
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Marlene, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Firstly, apologies for one aspect of your stay which did not meet your expectation, the jacuzzi not been up to standards. We have addressed it with the Team and are alway find solutions for this type of incidents not to occur, sometimes challanging if it is windy, but neverteless it should not happen. I hope that this small incident will not deter you from using our property in the future. Kind regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris VN wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
We stayed at Vergenoegd Löw for 3 nights and it was a stay to forever remember. Possibly the best hotel stay we ever experienced. The communication prior to our stay was already excellent as we had a package delivered. We were welcomed by the team with so much enthusiasm and hospitality. Purely impeccable service with the kindest people working here. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. It had everything you ever hoped for and dreamed about. Breakfast was good and dinner at Clara's Barn was so tasty. The winetasting at Vergenoegd Löw was something else, as the rooms where you do the tasting are beautiful, with impressive art on the walls and lovely relaxing music playing in the background. And the wines were absolutely magnificent, especially the Cabernet Sauvignon and the Chardonnay. The sommelier did a fantastic job, making us feel at home explaining the wines and telling the stories behind them. It was wonderful and we will return, no doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Christiaan, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a through review. I am glad to read that we have exceeded your expectations and and made a nice contribution to your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate in the future. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alika wrote a review Nov 2023
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions
This is local 5-star luxury at its best! I will come back whenever I can and recommend Vergenoegd Löw for all winelands tour operators... Best value for a 5-star experience in the winelands I have found. The wine tasting experience is wonderful and caters to all preferences. The Chenin Blanc MCC was a delightful surprise. The inclusive breakfast at Geuwels is fantastic, using seasonal, indigenous ingredients. Make sure you catch the Indian Runner Ducks on the way to the vineyards (9am) or on the way back(12am). The couples massage we had at the spa is the best we have ever experienced and the room is very warm/relaxing. Our accommodation in the luxury lodge rooms had everything we needed and I spent half of our stay in the jacuzzi. One night is just not enough. All staff were friendly, attentintive, helpful, and remember you when you come back. Thank you for your excellence and for an unforgettable experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Alika, Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review on your stay and giving so many useful informations. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future on our Estate Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
djassinowsky wrote a review Oct 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa3 contributions
10/10 stay with the best service I have ever experienced. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking to get away, closer to the Atlantic seaboard. The service and standard of care was the best I have experienced
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Dear Daniel, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us......and what a review. I am so happy to read that both of you enjoyed our hospitality, service and standards. We hope to welcoming you back to our Estate in the near future. Best regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Lôw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PiersS2768 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cape Town33 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife and I were spoilt by the team led by Angelo and Tina who have newly taken on the management of this boutique hotel. This 300 year old wine estate has had new life breathed into it. The bespoke hotel is settling into the newly renovated estate.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Piers Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am glad to read that we contributed to the prefect Anniversary weekend away. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Estate in the future. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nafeesa V wrote a review Oct 2023
146 contributions77 helpful votes
+1
Exquisite spa day at Vergenoeg today with my two teen daughters. We welcomed at the door by warm smiling face and seated where we received refreshing welcome drinks and a hot towel while we’re being signed in. I love beautiful smells and the spa smelled divine as you entered. All the staff were welcoming and friendly which is great. I had my own big spacious, exceptionally beautiful room with shower facilities. Nikki my therapist is one of the best therapists in this country. She takes her time and I dozed off during my facial and during my massage. Such attention to detail. It’s unreal. The two girls were in their own double room where they had fabulous facials and massages followed by a luxurious milk bath. I joined them when I was done and we all devoured the delicious cheese board. They had sweet treats for the girls as well. Elmarie was a gracious host and said farewell to us! When we were done we had coffee and lunch at the cafe. An extremly relaxing day indeed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear Nafeesa, Thank you for taking the time to review your day at the Spa and I am glad to read that the girls and yourself had a wonderful time. I hope that on your next visit you can spoil yourself and family to our luxury offering of different accommodation in our Boutique Hotel. Warmest regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamie A wrote a review Sept 2023
2 contributions
This is our new favorite hotel. The welcome was very nice even though we were a couple hours later than expected. We got a glass of wine and a tour of the estate and our room. The whole place is beautiful and so peaceful. The room was very clean and had the most comfortable bed we had during our 2 week holiday. The details were great, it was the perfect mix of modern and antique. Within 10 minutes of being there we were already talking about visiting in the future! The food at both of the restaurants was absolutely delicious and they are were very understanding and accommodating to our dietary needs. The wine was amazing and the ducks were a big bonus as well!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Angelo Casu, General Manager at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Responded 23 Sept 2023
Dear Jamie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I am glad to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We are honoured to have topped the list as your favourite hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable experiences Best regards from the Team at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Somerset West area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,650 - R 8,334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSomerset West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VERGENOEGD LOW BOUTIQUE HOTEL & SPA - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Somerset West, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Eagle Encounters @Spier Wine Farm (5.6 km), 18 Gangster Museum (5.3 km), and Meerlust Wine Estate (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cavalli Restaurant, The Avontuur Estate Restaurant, and Giovanni's at Eikendal Winery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vergenoegd Löw Boutique Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Afrikaans.