Sw1 Lodge

Sw1 Lodge

Traveller (81)
Thandi Suite
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#3 of 29 B&Bs in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
At SW1 Lodge in the heart of Somerset West you’ll experience casual luxury and comfort and authentic service befitting its well-earned 5-star status. SW1 Lodge offers 6 superbly decorated guest suites, all en-suite, with a private patio. Each is gorgeously unique offering a combination of opulence and better than home comfort and quality. High thread count linen, thick fluffy towels, soft lofty white bathrobes, white slippers and upscale bathroom amenities of the best quality await you. Our evening turndown service will ensure you return to your refreshed room made ready for you to retire in total comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Horseback riding
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Walking tours
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
204Reviews0Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 181
  • 14
  • 3
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chanel M wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked at this lodge last minute when we had a terrible experience at another hotel. The owners of the lodge were so accommodating and made sure that we were comfortable.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and clean clean clean!!! The staff at the lodge are so accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and prepared by the owners of the lodge- we loved the personal touch!

Thank you SW1 Lodge for an unforgettable stay! We look foward to returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ProfSouthAfrica wrote a review Apr 2012
South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent a memorable weekend at SW1 in April.Nestled in the hills of nearby
Somerset West,this haven of tranquillity provided us with an unforgettable experience.
The communications prior to our arrival were excellent and on arrival,the personal touch by
manager Tobie set the tone of a high quality lodge.
We were escorted to our room-a magnificently furnished and spacious and an en-suite
the size of a normal room with a double shower- all very tastefully decorated.
The service throughout our stay was nothing short of superb and the the pamper sessions
were organized in advance -the facilities rate with the very best I have experienced as
a senior diplomat.
Room service was prompt and the food beautifully presented and tasty.
The place is spotlessly clean and well maintained.
This applied to the pool, the jacuzzi and the carefully manicured lawns.
Our stay included a visit to Jenna Viva-a fiesty restaurant close by where we enjoyed good food,music and live entertainment.
The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.My wife would have loved to stay longer but
we had commitments which did not make that possible.
We truly and with confidence can recommend SW1 to all those seeking a break and for rest
and relaxation.A great place that we hope to visit again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri C, Owner at Sw1 Lodge
Responded 30 Apr 2012
Dear Prof We at SW1 are simply THRILLED with your wonderful review of us! It was a great pleasure and privilege to have you and your wife stay with us. We appreciate the many travel experiences you have had as a senior diplomat and this makes us even more elated by your kind words. Each person on staff who interacted with you was impressed by your warmth and kindness and also by your great humility. We are so proud to have been chosen by you as the place for you and your lovely wife to celebrate your very special milestone anniversary. Tobie and his Lodge and Spa team look forward to welcoming you back to SW1 soon. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your experience at JennaVIVA, our sister company. Shaun Wight, JennaVIVA's GM, has been made aware of your compliment and will convey this to his staff. Our very best wishes to you until we see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzette S wrote a review Jul 2012
Jakarta, Indonesia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An aunt and I stayed at SW1 lodge from 26 June till 6 July 2012. All I can say is that it was a wonderful experience. We arrived exhausted after 2 days of driving in a cold rainy late afternoon. We were received by all the friendly management and staff. SW1 have so much heart, warmth and style. Great service and breakfast!!! The location was great we did a lot of sightseeing in and around Somerset West. I will definitely stay at SW1 if I visit South Africa again. Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica-Rose R wrote a review Dec 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently got married and we were doing a mini honeymoon in Cape Town. We booked this hotel but unfortunately had a death in his immediate family and we had to urgently come back to London which meant we could not stay at the hotel. We were staying at another hotel at the time and they were so gracious and compassionate but I certainly cannot say the same about SW1 Lodge. We explained the situation and were told that they would call us back once they had spoken to management- of course this did not happen and given that we had booked through Expedia, we escalated it to them. Expedia spoke to the hotel and their feedback to us was that the hotel said they would not refund us - Expedia told us that they were unhappy with the response from the hotel and were going to escalate it on their side as this is a situation that we could not control and having some compassion to such a situation is what was expected from them too.

We had stayed at another hotel (Atlantic View in Camps Bay) which we also had to cut short and they were incredibly kind and refunded the remainder of the stay due to the circumstances but SW1 Lodge did not and this is just unacceptable - I know a lot of people who go to Somerset West and I absolutely would never recommended such a place to anyone given the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura T wrote a review Jun 2012
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What more can you want from a Lodge? It has everything!!

I have travelled many times in my career and have never come across a place with so much heart, warmth and style.

Tobie, who I contacted when I was looking for a temporary home was quick, professional and negotiable to my plea. I met all the staff and was welcomed so well, it will be hard to leave after three awesome days here.

You can feel God's peace is here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 28 Jun 2012
Dear Laura I am thrilled with the opinion you have of SW1 and it's staff! Ren, Tobie and the SW1 team will be thrilled to read your review. This is what makes their efforts worthwhile. Thank you for choosing to stay at SW1 and for taking the time to post your comments. I do hope we will see you again soon. Warm Regards Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maretha R wrote a review Jul 2012
Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for a cosy (fireplace) ambiance with stylish decor for a birthday party. That was exactly what we got, but then came the friendly, well organised and excellent service from staff and managers and it just went over the top for us!! They did everything for us, we just had to arrive and party.

Tobie, Ren and Terri thank you so much for making this an memorable event. It was really special thanks to all of you.

To Bea at the Spa, thank you so much for all the special attention you gave my mom. She mentioned that the standards there is very high and that the treatment was magnificent.

I can only say: Wow, Wow and wow!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: I cannot add a tip to choose a room, because the room I saw, I thought was the honeymoon suite,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri C, Owner at Sw1 Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2012
Dear M WOW to you too!!! What a wonderful compliment to receive! Thank you for taking the time to post it. We are all thrilled that you and your friends had such a good time and that we 'hit the mark' with everything we did. You were an absolute pleasure to deal with and the staff say it was there pleasure to assist you in any way they could. Thank you also for the great remarks about our decor. It makes all the effort worthwhile. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mozzy9 wrote a review Jul 2012
Cape Town Central, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I spent the night at SW1 lodge, under Toby's care out of the blue. It was a groupon special - and boy were we pleased. A great room, with a sumptious bath, an exquisite massage and then down the road for a fabulous dinner. The restaurant is also owned by the same people. Not surprising. The attention to detail was amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri C, Owner at Sw1 Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2012
Dear Mozzy A big thank you to you for the review posted recently. I am so pleased that you had a good experience at SW1 AND JennaVIVA We hope you will return to us soon. Warm regards Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ugwunna wrote a review Jun 2012
Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I got married in Stellenbosch in November 2011. We decided to rent out all of the rooms at SW1 for our family and some members of our wedding party. This is the best decision we made as we really enjoyed the intimacy of the property as well as the freedom to move about as we pleased. If you have a very large party, I highly recommend renting out the whole place. Suffice it to say that we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The manager (Debbie) was superb. She was always available to attend to our needs and helped us organize sightseeing trips as well as dinners at a wonderful local restaurant. Each room at SW1 had its own unique character and charm.

I recently read a review about racism at SW1, which was not consistent with our experience. Our party of 20 people was largely black (save my white "uncle") of different nationalities (Nigerian, American, South African, and Basotho from Lesotho) and we were treated with the utmost hospitality and respect.

SW1 is great value for money and we would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 28 Jun 2012
Dear Ugwunna Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased about your opinion of us and that you had such a wonderful time when you stayed at SW1. I remember you and your group very well. I recall how positive and enthusiastic you all were. It was a pleasure having you as our guests. You spoke about returning to SA sometime again soon and I hope it will also be to SW1 :) Till then I wish you all the best. Warm Regards Terri
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey V wrote a review Apr 2012
South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was at SW1 in March and l really enjoyed myself, we were welcomed by the ever smiling Kerry and she was really helpful in every way. The décor is amazing and Kerry also told us that Terri (the owner) did the décor, all l can say is Terri you are the best. I also enjoy the spa treatments and everything that l experienced at SW1, friendly staff, the light lunch was very delicious and l really enjoyed all thanks to the chef.
l must say SW1 is the most relaxing place that l have ever been thank you guys for hosting us.
It is a hidden heaven for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tsala Tsala is the best with a very nice view of the sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terri C, Owner at Sw1 Lodge
Responded 30 Apr 2012
Dear Lindsey Thank you so much for your very complimentary review of SW1. We are so pleased that we 'hit the mark' with you. Kerry is also thrilled at being singled out! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your spa treatments and your meal. I am very flatterd by your appreciation of SW1's decor style. SW1's decor and design was a labour of love and something I totally enjoyed doing. Having you appreciate the outcome makes it even more worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on this valuable site. We hope you will return to SW1 very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LittleJohnson wrote a review Feb 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It couldn¨t be better. We have stayed there twice before so that was we reason that we came back this year again. We are already looking forward to come back in November this year. We will rekommend this guest house to all friends in Sweden.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from sw1lodge, Owner at Sw1 Lodge
Responded 22 Feb 2019
Thank you Lars for this positive endorsement. We appreciate every return visit and look forward to many more. You are a loyal and special friend to SW1. Best wishes to you all the way over there in Sweden. Terri & Ed Not to make you jealous or anything but we are having MAGNIFICENT weather 😂😂
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Michelle wrote a tip Sept 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are perfect"
Read full review
Biffy van Rooyen wrote a tip Jul 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All on ground floor, I think, and therefore easy to access"
Read full review
Bev K wrote a tip May 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa33 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Each room is placed in quiet areas with no disturbance from any noise"
Read full review
Lee wrote a tip May 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"value for money, fireplace in certain rooms,everything you need and more"
Read full review
Cat Arnold wrote a tip May 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are beautiful! Ask for one near the back if you prefer to be away from the front entrance."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Somerset West area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,683 - R 2,901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownSomerset West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SW1 LODGE - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Somerset West, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sw1 Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sw1 Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Helderberg Nature Reserve (3.8 km), Root44 (6.8 km), and Cheetah Outreach - Somerset West (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sw1 Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sw1 Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sw1 Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sw1 Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sw1 Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fancy Franks, Mozambik Somerset West, and Cavalli Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sw1 Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sw1 Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Sw1 Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sw1 Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sw1 Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sw1 Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vergelegen Picnic (4.5 km).
All Somerset West HotelsSomerset West Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Somerset WestHotels near Sw1 Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire