Olive Garden Country Lodge

Olive Garden Country Lodge

Concordia Farm Klaas Voogds West, Robertson 6705 South Africa
Traveller (41)
Dolce suite
Room & Suite (7)
5 star quality breakfast
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 8 lodges in Robertson
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Olive Garden Estate surrounded by olive trees in the most secret valley out of Robertson Klaasvoogd West completely sheltered from the Langeberg.Nature at his best -Tranquility-Enjoy. The plentiful use of natural materials from the estate set the tone and ambience, mesmerizing even the most lavish guest!!! Attention to detail fulfill all expectations. Warm, earthly hues, soft fabrics ,Egyptian cotton and stylish comfortable furnishings set the tone for a relaxing stay.All rooms have equally breathtaking and frontal mountain and views from their balconies. From here, the spectacular view over the valley is exceptional. A real Tuscan feeling "Far Niente" or doing nothing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Dutch and 1 more
84Reviews0Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 21
  • 3
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alexander D wrote a review Mar 2020
Jedburgh, United Kingdom148 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Situated in a valley between Robertson and Ashton this is a charming relaxing country lodge. It is run by an amazing Belgian couple who make you feel like a family friend and so add to the delight of staying here. The rooms are well appointed with all the facilities one requires for a holiday stay. The meals are all freshly prepared and tailored to each persons requirements. Breakfast is provided and evening meals on request. During our four day stay we did not want to travel out in the evenings and each night we had an excellent choice of menu - particularly on St Valentines Day! This is a place to chill out and catch up with reading. Roberthsfon, Ashton and Montagu are all within easy reach. We would have no hesitation in returning ffor a further stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oxana v wrote a review Aug 2015
Vlissingen, The Netherlands11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is not just a place to sleep, it fills you with sun, love and care. Wonderful breakfast, everything biological, self made. The smell of rosemary everywhere, lavendel and olive trees make the complete. We also had a fire place and a great bubble bath. All The water comes from their own well and is very tasty.
The owners do everything themselves with the highest quality! I only regretted I couldn't stay there longer (we had to go to another place), but I hope I can come back some time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul S wrote a review May 2013
Knokke, Belgium16 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A private valley next to the wine route, extremely friendly service and a Grand Chef 's table based on own local bio products combined with fine olive tasting made by IGADI self, makes this experience heavenly
Read more
Date of stay: May 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefanthiel wrote a review Dec 2014
Wiesbaden, Germany463 contributions128 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Olive Garden is remotely located, a bit off the Robertson valley, so does not offer views. Upon arrival, we were only welcomed by the maid who was in a rush. No other guests around. The pool was dirty and needed cleaning. The jacuzzi was kaputt, but promoted on the website ... So we had not much to do on the premise. A few things in and around the room needed repair. And animals in the room at night are avoidable when taking more care. The breakfast was okay, but all in all, the price/service ratio is not justified. One can get better and cheaper accommodation in the area. The premise has potential, but one needs to look after it and their guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The WLAN is only working when staying closely to the main house.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OlivegardenRobertson, Owner at Olive Garden Country Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2014
Thank you for your feedback, at 1 night stay 21/11/2014 However we cannot agree your negative comments and this for several reasons. First correction we have staff , no maids The day you arrived we had a National power failure from Eskom, no electricity Means no Wi-Fi –no pool cleaning-no Jacuzzi. As owner I asked you if all was good And if you needed anything else ,you confirmed that all was okay. You booked at Fraai Uitzicht For dinner, they phoned me to cancel your dinner due to power failure, we followed very close these.Guests from Europe are not used to these kind of happenings. When the power switched on @ 18.45 i did all in my power that your dinner was secured, you even thanked me for that??if we didn’t care for our guests ,would we do all that effort? The Pool room was painted in and outside one week before you stay, so in and outside repair doesn’t make sense. The animals you talk about where little fruit bats, the ceiling on the balcony is thatched, we are a bio-dynamic farm and a lot of little animals are housing in our Gardens also in ceilings, they do not come during the day only at night. When you mentioned the following morning we took immediately action to move them to another place, we expect from our guests when a problem occur that they call us and inform,so we can solve, you didn’t . For that inconvenience I deducted A amount from the room rate, a natural bat is nobody’s fault it is natural. Upon your arrival there were 4 more rooms, there are all wide and private set from one another you didn’t noticed. No electricity gives opportunities to explore nature’s beauty Olive garden offers also a beautiful private hiking trail that all guests can explore. The coffee table book in the room was is full of information what to do on the farm, and surrounding, so there was a lot if one see the beauty I hope this will clear your negative thoughts The owner Gina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JessScott wrote a review Jan 2010
London28 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The couple were very unfriendly and unwelcoming. We arrived just after midday and were made to feel very uncomfortable about 'arriving so early'. Views massively disappointing, rooms comfortable with good facilities but decor odd (ie western-style swing doors to bathroom so you can see/hear your mate on the loo while in the room). Also very expensive for the facilities and smelt of dog poo. Went for supper around the corner at Fraai Uitzicht where the host was charming, location much better and we were welcomed warmly and given delicious food.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rachel_b_cowan wrote a review Apr 2018
Cape Town, South Africa31 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped over at Olive Garden en route from Cape Town to Knysna. We were stuck in the most awful traffic, and our 8pm arrival ended up at 10pm - and the owners were so accommmodating at that time of night. We had 3 children with us (12, 9 and 5) and stayed in a family cottage. There were two lovely bedrooms and one nice sofa bed in the lounge. The outside bathroom and shower was divine, and the inside one was also lovely. We really were not there long (arrived 10pm and left 9am the next day!) but it was a refreshing place to stay. Brerakfast was lovely, with special effort made for the children who were delighted with pancakes for breakfast! The adults had plentiful coffee, with lovely valley views and a bit of history from the owners. All in all we wish we had longer to explore, but our stop over was just perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geert v wrote a review Feb 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the silence .bbreakfast very good . Rooms very nice.refrecing pool . We like it .and will come back to this place. You feel the family atmosfeer.at night you can see the stars amasing. My inglisch writhing is not so good but the place Oliver garden is better
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Profigast wrote a review Dec 2017
Koenigstein, Germany204 contributions140 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Gina and Fernand run this little gem and they are exquisite olive farmers, chefs, and sommeliers. Plus very friendly and caring hosts when you are their wavelength. The place is great for people who are into a natural, quiet, organic stay. If you look at manicured gardens, stylish interiors, fancy deckchairs by a gorgeous pool, go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had a deluxe pool cottage and a honeymoon suite. Both excellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from olives60, Owner at Olive Garden Country Lodge
Responded 29 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your personal experience with us,it is the right feeling. PS;in meanwhile we have fancy deckchairs.Hope to see you on one of your next visit to Robertson.Regards, Gina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jasper2407 wrote a review Nov 2017
Great Brak River, South Africa5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the owners are very friendly, the place really need a revamp! Advertised as a 4 star establishment and paying for 4 star accomodation, you certainly do not get what you pay for. Was really a dissappointment!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate W wrote a review Nov 2016
Ballito73 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Quaint little Guest house is peaceful and quiet....exactly what we needed. Rooms are well appointed, ours had a bath tub big enough for two and a space age shower. Full independent DSTV (I read a review on TA that complained about the dstv. Ours was great!) The room was well appointed in general and all amenities were provided . The semi private patio with chairs in the sun was a highlight...as was the complimentary snack platter and carafe of wine which was delivered to our room in the late afternoon. Definitely a place to revisit when time allows.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Robertson area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeRobertson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OLIVE GARDEN COUNTRY LODGE - Reviews (Robertson, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Olive Garden Country Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Owl's Rest Olive and Lavender Farm (0.7 km), Bon Courage Estate Wine (6.4 km), and Zandvliet Wine Estate (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fraai Uitzicht Restaurant, Cafe Maude, and Ragazzi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Olive Garden Country Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Olive Garden Country Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Olive Garden Country Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Olive Garden Country Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Dutch, and Afrikaans.
All Robertson HotelsRobertson Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RobertsonHotels near Olive Garden Country Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire