We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karoo Lodge

66 Church Street P O Box 228, Prince Albert Municipality 6930 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (31)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 9 B&Bs in Prince Albert
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Karoo Lodge Bed & Breakfast, Prince Albert, is situated Town Central and surrounded by a hectare (2.5 acres) of lush and tranquil garden with various established Grape Vines, Fruit - and Pecan Nut trees...more than 150 "Old World" fragrant rose bushes....Free WiFi.....Free onsite parking..... Free Breakfast.....Cool swimming pool......Four spacious (45sq m) suites with Lounge Area/Separate Dressing Area... Bathroom with separate shower and bath... Private Entrances off the garden.... One Standard Suite (30sqm) Bathroom with separate shower and bath. Separate Toilet....Private entrance off Pool Deck....All Suites with...Private Deck......King Bed/Twin Bed option...... Modern silent Air Conditioner and Ceiling Fan...... Coffee/tea making facilities......Under-counter Bar Fridge.(not stocked)......International Electric Plug Points....... Hotel Boutique TV Chanels including sport channels....Individual Solar/Electric Hot Water Supply. Fully Licensed in-house Restaurant and Cocktail Bar "At 66".....Serving...Karoo, Cape Traditional and Cape Malay (Halal) Cuisine..... Wide Estate Wine selection from Local, Little Karoo and Breede River Valley....Manicures by professionally trained personnel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
178Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 55
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tim C wrote a review Oct 2019
Jerusalem, Israel62 contributions12 helpful votes
Just what I was looking for. Traditional Afrikaans hospitality. Not expensive either. The grounds here are a little oasis in a water stressed area. The breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel very special. The room was huge and bed very comfortable. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi, Sorry!. a Bit late in reply but necerless, thank you for your positive review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
StephenXXXXX wrote a review Sept 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa876 contributions148 helpful votes
Set well back from the main road so all is peaceful and quiet. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had everything one needed. Bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next morning. Beautiful grounds and well maintained despite the drought. All in all a great stay and have no problem in recommending Karoo Lodge should you be staying over in Prince Albert.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 30 Sept 2019
Hi Stephen, Thank you so much for this great review. Lovely to know that all of our efforts to make a stay exceptional is awarded Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
seventeengrand@yahoo.com wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
This B&B with suites and dinner also possible, is a hidden gem in Prince Albert. Great rooms, superb and comfortable bed....very rare... pleasant and hospitable hosts and very good value too. We will go back again... :-)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 16 Jun 2019
Thank you You have said it all and it counts!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Les W wrote a review May 2019
South Luangwa National Park, Zambia19 contributions5 helpful votes
Four of us spent 4 nights at the Karoo Lodge. Close to everything in town, Off the main road away from any noise. There is plenty of off road parking. The pool looked inviting allbeit a little cold when we were there. Air-conditioning in all rooms and the beds very comfortable. Daily cleaning ensured that everything was just right. Sitting out in the garden reading or having sundowners could not have been better. The breakfast was great and Elsabie and George made sure that every morning there was something different to go with the eggs and bacon. Georg's marmalade, which is also available to purchase and take home, is superb. Will return again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 09 Jun 2019
Fear Les. Thank you for your supportive review. Being a resident of the Luangwa Game reserve in Zambia, we really appreciate your top rating of our establishment as you know what this (hospitality industry) is all about
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jon S wrote a review Apr 2019
2 contributions
My son and I stopped here for 2 nights in march whilst on a motorcycle tour, the rooms were very good with plenty of space and we managed to get some laundry done whilst we were here. The hosts were very friendly and know how to run the place with a good breakfast and great knowledge of the area. We ate out at 2 different restaurants in the town and the food was superb with plenty of choice, a lovely friendly small town and a good base to visit the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 29 Apr 2019
Dear Jon Thank you for your review. which to us is so uplifting and encouragement for the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris T wrote a review Apr 2019
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night 8 April 2019 en route to Storms River. Beautiful grounds, huge clean rooms, lovely comfy bed. Evening meal was wonderful, I had the Ostrich steak, my husband had the lamb. Breakfast was plentiful and so much variety. Thoroughly recommend as Prince Albert has so much to offer, lovely quaint little shops and tea shops. Great for a stopover. Very close to the wonderful Swartburg Pass which was incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 29 Apr 2019
Hi Chris You guys had been wonderful guests. Thank you for the great review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patty6-13 wrote a review Mar 2019
Davis, California534 contributions253 helpful votes
We stayed one night and it was very nice. The owners are friendly and welcoming with good suggestions for dinner. The rooms are spacious with sitting area, fridge and large bathroom. Great to have the pool for the very hot weather! We enjoyed talking with the owner and his daughter over a very tasty breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 15 Mar 2019
Dear Patty, Thank you for your very welcome review Happy to read your comments and that you enjoyed our breakfast It was our pleasure to be your host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser386726 wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
Definitely not 'luxurious' as advertised, just adequate. Clean room. Pool was dirty and is not fenced. There is no security. Anyone can drive or walk onto the property from the main street. Breakfast was good. Would not go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 07 Mar 2019
Hi Cruiser Sometimes a person go through life not noticing the surrounds. Our Swimming Pool is fed by crystal a clear underground water supply, water quality monitored by an automatic PH regulator. Automatic, time regulated, pool cleaner in operation Karoo Lodge is a place for adults. We do not accept children as guests and assume that adults know how to care for themselves, therefore we do not find any reason why we should fence the pool. All of our suites , entry doors and windows, are fitted with burglar bars and Trellidor security. Suites are guarded by electronic monitoring device. All of the above and in particular the latter; a bit of an over kill in this general safe destination Prince Albert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
irini516 wrote a review Feb 2019
Athens, Greece99 contributions131 helpful votes
I liked the owners very much. They were so friendly and professional. The room was very good, spacious and clean. The breakfast was very nice. The swimming pool wasn’t big and not so clean. We recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 07 Mar 2019
Hi Irini, Thank you for your review and recommendation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AlistairCoy wrote a review Feb 2019
Bingley,UK164 contributions86 helpful votes
George and family, can I say that you are a credit to the hospitality industry. You gave the two of us such a warm and friendly welcome and we had no complaints about anything. Great room and bathroom, very spacious and oh so quiet guaranteeing us both a very good night's sleep. A lovely breakfast and we could have quite happily chatted to you and your delightful daughter for hours this morning. If anybody reads this review, don't hesitate and book to stay at Karoo Lodge. I meant to mention as well in this brief review that the shower tray in our room was a work of art. It's worth staying at Karoo Lodge just to experience the shower trays. Brilliant. Alistair and Linda Coy
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 07 Mar 2019
Dear Alistar and Linda, Thank you for your very descriptive review. In certainly underscore what Karoo Lodge is all about
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Prince Albert area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,249 - R 1,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePrince Albert MunicipalityPrince Albert
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KAROO LODGE - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Prince Albert, South Africa) - Tripadvisor