We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country House Vrisch Gewagt

Save
Share
R407 Vrisch Gewagt Farm, Prince Albert Municipality 6930 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$164
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 22 Speciality lodging in Prince Albert
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Italian

Location

Full view
Contact
R407 Vrisch Gewagt Farm, Prince Albert Municipality 6930 South Africa
Getting there
Cape Town Intl Airport356 kmSee all flights
George Airport77 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
79Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John & Glenda V wrote a review May 2021
Kirkwood, South Africa2 contributions
Wow!! Really don't know where to start. What a beautiful stay we had at Vrisch Gewagt. Peaceful, comfortable and the friendly welcome and care from Chantelle, was outstanding. There really is nothing that we could fault in our stay. We loved every minute. We were blessed with so many free gifts on arrival, from Olive Oil, to Wine, To fresh Veggies. Thank you. We will definitely be back. Loved, loved our stay and a special thank you to Chantelle for making our stay so welcoming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
ianvanzuy wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
I am left with a bitter taste. The "deposit" of R 1000 is a bit cheeky as it is, but to have to wait a week for it to be refunded, and then only after a prompting, and then the insult of being paid R 900 in refund with no explanation! No response as yet from them as to when the last measly R100 will be returned. The poetic description of the location conjures dreamy thoughts until the reality strikes. The site of power lines obscuring the view, and the sound of rumbling trucks and traffic at high speed on the adjoining tar road spoil what would otherwise be a very peaceful place. (At least at night the traffic subsided) Place needs some attention.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lara Casasola, Owner at Country House Vrisch Gewagt
Responded 15 May 2021
Dear Ian, What a disappointment to receive a review that clearly is an attempt to damage the excellent reputation the farm has built. You review was untruthful and distorted because you were upset for us taking R100 for breaking a water glass. Did you not know you broke the glass?? You say that we did not get back to you, when I have proof of the email explaining the reason before your review was posted. You vote us 2 stars for value, when we upgraded you for free to Cooks cottage. A saving of R2300. You drank our complimentary bottle of wine, ate our complimentary olives and olive oil made on the farm. Drank 10 x complimentary Nespresso pods. And used 6 crates of fire wood. All under a self-catering experience. And you claim there was no value? You rate us 1 star for location and say lies of traffic noise, when the farm is positioned on the Swartberg nature reserve measuring 1200sq/km which is a UNESCO world heritage site and our farm is 16sq/km. The nearest town is 35km away. All our other reviews score us highly because of the peace and serenity that they experienced on the farm. Disgraceful and disappointing!!
Read more
antsrosenbaum60 wrote a review Jan 2021
Dunkeld West, South Africa1 contribution
We stayed for two nights and found our cottage, Cooks Cottage, well equipped and very nicely decorated. The lamb, vegetables and eggs we ordered were absolutely delicious and fresh. The bottle of wine and olive oil supplied at no charge were a splendid surprise and nice touch to our arrival after a long day travelling. A suggestion we have is perhaps to provide a trolley of some sorts to assist carrying one's luggage and groceries from the car to the cottage (Cooks Cottage) as it is quite a way to carry without any assistance in that heat.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
566eddy wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Special place with everything you need. We could have spent our whole holiday on the farm. Everyone loved it. Look forward to returning. Nature and solitude. Soul food. Chantelle was great and the kids loved Wendy and Marnu
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
annette563 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Beautiful tasteful accomodation in a magnificent setting. Chantelle was an excellant hostess, warm and efficient and her lamb is superb. Lovely to be greeted on arrival with olive oil, olives and wine from the farm. We will return and will recommend it far and wide.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePrince Albert MunicipalityPrince Albert
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Country House Vrisch Gewagt
What are some of the property amenities at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Country House Vrisch Gewagt?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Afrikaans.