We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poseidon Guest House

Save
Share
15 Marlin Crescent, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
US$110
View deal
SAVE US$15
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.comUS$125
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (21)

About

#14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Poseidon Guest House provides quirky, comfortable accommodation in Hout Bay in Cape Town. The town of Hout Bay surrounds its own Atlantic seaboard bay and harbour, with the world famous Chapman's Peak in close proximity.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Diving
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German
103Reviews1Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
585gill wrote a review Jul 2020
West Sussex, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
We loved our time at Poseidon. Immaculate room, thoughtfully designed with a stunning view over Hout Bay. Fresh made bread and an excellent breakfast and friendly support for us to find our way around Cape Town as first time visitors. Danni and Janni were great company and have created a comfortable and stylish haven. We look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Hans&Nietje wrote a review Mar 2020
Valkenswaard183 contributions79 helpful votes
We have visited this wonderful guest house twice a year for the last few years and we were never disappointed. Rooms have top views over HoutBay Harbour and Chapmans Peak Dive . Excellent aircon as well as extensive breakfast with homemade bread . Onsite safe parking . Excellent restaurant very nearby at the harbour . Very central accommodation between Capetown and the peninsula . Half an hours drive to the airport. Lots of visitors come back to this guest house every year .Janni and Danie speak several languages so no worries..... And Pearl is the best housecleaner/manager you will ever find in any accommodation in SA's southwestcoast.....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
B.Beck wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
I’m a South African and stayed here for 4 nights with my English boyfriend. Had the worst experience ever. We were accused of stealing two towels when we took them to the beach and brought them back. We were accused of breaking the TV in the room because we unplugged the aerial. At the end of our stay we were charged for both of the above and accused of ‘sneaking out’ without paying. We had two family members come over for some drinks early one evening (one of whom was pregnant and didn’t drink at all) and were accused of disrespecting the place. There were some heavily soiled men’s white jockey shorts found on our made bed one evening, as if someone had been using our room for ‘a quickie’. Clearly this concerned my boyfriend who wondered if I had been having an affair... fortunately this was cleared up between us. Upon departure the whole sorry episode ended with an extremely heated and protracted argument with both male hosts Jannie & Danie (a couple) shouting and swearing and threatened to call the police. Both myself and my boyfriend (a UK Solicitor) we’re locked in the premises until we paid their ridiculous bill. All the other residents heard the shouting and embarrassed. I was wholly ashamed as a South African at the disgusting standards of hospitality and disrespect displayed to myself and my boyfriend as guests and paying customers. KEEP WELL CLEAR OF THIS PLACE. Bianca Beck - Bid Manager (UK)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from PoseidonHouse, Owner at Poseidon Guest House
Responded 03 Jan 2020
Hi Bianca, Although we are not under the impression that we can be all things to all people, a situation like the one which transpired while you were our guests at Poseidon surprises us more that you can imagine. Regarding the soiled underwear our rooms are deligently cleaned on a daily basis and the fact that nothing in this regard was mentioned to any of our staff or management make me believe that this is not a credible accusation. When the property of the guest house is removed from the premises two days in a row, without a word and then cannot be located on request, and the television receiver has been damaged and is lying on the floor of the room on entry for cleaning, which necessitates a call our from a technician on old year's eve in order to make repairs, a guest should expect charges to be levied. In your case these charges were not added to your bill as a result of the unpleasant scene you made on departing the premises under suspicious circumstances. At no point were you accused of anything, rather you were made aware of the fact that there was still an outstanding bill to settle while you were exiting the premises without having greeted the hosts or returning the room keys. Your vile assualt on my partner and myself when we confronted you with your outstanding room bill left us with shock and horror. Danie van der Heever Poseidon Guest House
Read more
Hans-Werner L wrote a review Dec 2019
Hamburg, Germany54 contributions25 helpful votes
the Poseidon Guesthouse is a pearl. Individually and very tastefully furnished. The rooms are excellently furnished and have a fantastic view over the harbour, you can hear the seals from the harbour, up to Chapmanns peak, nothing more is possible? Breakfast! Wonderfully laid table, homemade bread, egg dishes prepared according to your wishes, everything your heart desires is served... It is worth taking a tour of the Hangberg Township. My guide Niklas explained me a lot about the origin and the life in the TS. It is also worth to get to know the not "beautiful" side of South Africa a little, that is SA and there is still a lot to do. The friendliness of the people in TS towards me was heartwarming...Danie and Janny, thank you very much it was a wonderful stay with you and I will come again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
GoPlaces794679 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
I called with an enquiry as to the discrepancy in the booking and payment policy stated between the guest house and the online booking service. The first thing Danny did was tell me I should take it up with the online booking service and find out why they were mistaken and advertised the wrong information. He must have forgotten that I am a potential customer, not an employee! He then continued to rudely badger me, interrupt me and tell me I should figure out why their is an international miscommunication on his company policy. The company decided after having my card details on-hand that they would start taking money from my account before I had authorized it. I would not recommend this place for their customer service. The arrogance and disrespect I was treated with is worse than any treatment I have ever experienced in my life!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from PoseidonHouse, Owner at Poseidon Guest House
Responded 04 Nov 2019
Hi Raissa, I am terribly sorry that you took exception at my attempt to clarify a misunderstanding which has occurred as a result of a system change at Booking.com. Our policy, as submitted, and maintained by ourselves, requires a 50% security deposit at least 60 days ahead of check-in, which is forfeit in the event of cancellation during that period. These terms have been partially set aside automatically by booking.com in their process of implementing new payment methodologies on their system. Although we have had what they refer to as 'risk free' reservations in the past it is important to understand that Booking.com guarantees this reservation, not just with the guest, but also with the establishment. And this is the reason why, in the case of 'risk free' reservations, we have not charged deposits. Unfortunately in the changes which have occurred to the front end of Booking.com's establishment partner extranet, the information relating to 'risk free' reservations has been made less easy to see, and besides that, they have made relevant payment detail available to establishments ahead of the agreed payment dates, which in the case of 'risk free' reservations, would be on the day of check-in. In our attempt to process this deposit the transaction was declined, which would trigger some action on our part to inform the guest that a deposit could not be processed, which is why we did. You anticipated any further action on our part by calling us directly and immediately expressed your unhappiness with the fact that we had attempted to process a deposit, which, as I mentioned to you, is our policy. We have a very small establishment which perhaps has some policies which you not be accustomed to or familiar with, but I can assure you that it is our intention, always, to act as respectfully and honorably towards our guests as possible. We are sorry that our attempts in that regard have failed in this instance. All the best, Danie van der Heever Poseidon Guest House
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poseidon Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Poseidon Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Bay Harbour Market (0.8 km), Hout Bay (0.7 km), and Seal Island (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Poseidon Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Poseidon Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Poseidon Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Poseidon Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Poseidon Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dario's Cafe, Mariner's Wharf, and The Wharfside Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Poseidon Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Poseidon Guest House have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Poseidon Guest House offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Poseidon Guest House?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Poseidon Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Afrikaans.