We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
7 Saddlers Close, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (209)
Dining (33)
Room & Suite (33)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/10/05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/10/05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 63 in Hout Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We want your stay at Pure Guest House to be more than luxurious and stylish. Pure is our idea of an authentic, natural and joyful way of life. It combines high-class design, organic food, excellent service and warm hospitality to be enjoyed by you. Feel free to enjoy your visit to Pure Guest House in the way that suits you - by sunbathing, eating good food and relaxing in a luxurious atmosphere. Or become active, plan trips, hikes and excursions to various sites and scenery. We are always ready to help you plan your day or give you tips on where to dine. We feel that luxury and environmental awareness need not contradict each other. We enjoy a refreshing jump into the swimming pool all the more knowing it is heated by solar energy. And the entire heating system of Pure Guest House is provided by solar panels. Indulgence can also be healthy. That is why we offer you wholesome food - fruits and vegetables from regional farmers and meat from selected outlets in the area. Our meals are fresh, nutritious and delicious.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Car hire
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
334Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 321
  • 9
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
hhaasbroek2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Great location, great views and exceptional styling. Great service in a quiet neighborhood. The house and rooms are very well furnished, with high quality furnishings, yet remaining comfortable. For a business trip, the 08h30 breakfast service is a little late in the morning, but the breakfast served is very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
rodney2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
Miami, Florida1 contribution
The towels were stiff and not what I am use to which is soft towels. The toilet seat should be replaced it had stains and did not look clean. The home is beautiful and has great view. The parking works well with compact cars, we arrived in a pickup and had to back out to the street as we were not able to the turn around in the parking area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Colin F wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
No hot water on day 1 (cold showers in winter) No butter for the toast. No ordinary tea. No DSTV (Rugby tests) Had to seek neighbors help to get in (faulty remote) Had to grope around in the dark to find an extra blanket from adjoining rooms, The lounge fire died in 10 minutes. Only guests and only ones on the property at times. Host tried hard but inexperienced. Never again.!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Annabel Konen, Geschäftsführer at Pure Guest House
Responded 08 Sep 2021
Dear 235colinf, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not have a nice experience at our Pure Guest House. We were under the impression that everything was okay when you left and were really surprised when we read your review. However we would like to explain the events from our side: Regarding the hot water on your first night, there was an electrical fault as the cable was not connected properly to the geyser, and therefore the hot water was not coming through. It must have gotten lose because we checked the hot water three hours before you arrived and it was warm. We have fixed it right after we knew about it, but we are sorry that you could not shower properly the first night. Unfortunately due to Covid-19 rules and regulations, we had to minimise our breakfast services and could not offer you a whole buffet like normally, that is why the rates were adjusted lower as well. However we do get your point regarding the butter and we simply forgot to buy butter on the first day and we apologize for that. We did had butter on the second day ready. We do not understand the tea problem as we offered you various teas, also black tea and we did just not have the specific brand you asked for. We do have an emergency number which was given to you in the welcome letter and which is also in our guest room book. This number can be called 24 hours, as we do give our best to help our guests with all their inquiries and in emergencies. When you called this number, we did offer you to bring you an extra blanket however you did not want us to bring it, but wanted to take it yourself from the next room. Furthermore, the remote was working perfectly when we checked it. The remote for the drive way is a driving remote and not a walk-in remote. If you are standing too near to the gate and not in front of the Gooseneck station , it will not open, and we were also there 5 minutes later to open the gate. We checked it again after you left and the remote still worked. Regarding the fireplace in the lounge, we are sorry about that as well, but the fire wood was unfortunately too moist, due to the bad weather the days before and due to the wind, the wood also got wet in our wood shelter. Due to Covid-19, not a lot of people are travelling and therefore on this weekend you were the only guests at our guest house. We do get most of your points and we will improve on them. We just do not get why, you did not tell us about the things when you were still at the guest house. You even gave a tip and did not seem like you had a bad time with us. We hope that you will give us another chance. Kind regards Annabel Konen Owners Representative
Read more
lotsandlotsoffood wrote a review Mar 2020
Petersfield, United Kingdom33 contributions28 helpful votes
Having travelled from Joburg , via Safari , via Stellenbosch the bar had been set quite high. Pure delivered in every way possible , views , property , the room and hosts all spectacular . Ralph was a good start and Patric took it to the next level. A big thanks to Porscha who gets special mention for her good grace and diligence. We cannot recommend Pure enough , such a special place .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Danna G wrote a review Feb 2020
Fayetteville, Arkansas9 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I spent 3 nights in mid February at Pure Guest House in Hout Bay near Cape Town. We were greeted by Patric who sat down with us, welcomed us , and talked about our plans for the next few days. He had lots of insight and suggestions concerning our visit. The house and it’s view from the hillside above Hout Bay are even more spectacular in person than in photos. Our room was perfect with incredible views from the shower, tub and bedroom. Our only regret was scheduling our days so full that we didn’t have as much time to relax at the house as we would have liked. The open breakfast area was the perfect place to sit and visit with fellow travelers. It seemed that most mornings there were guests at the table for 2-3 hrs. I was a little concerned that the Hour Bay location would not be convenient for our excursions but our Uber drives to and from we’re safe, inexpensive and actually some of the most enjoyable and informative parts of our trip-we talked with several immigrants from various African countries who gave us a unique perspective on South Africa. If we are ever in the area again we will definite stay here and we’ll encourage any friends traveling to the Cape Town area to stay at Pure Guest House as well. Danna
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Nathan V wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We stayed for a few days in the guest house and the hosts were excellent in providing information regarding the region, what to do and where to eat. The breakfast with the amazing view is a perfect start of your day. The rooms are big and clean with everuthing you need. Also very quiet. A perfect way to start you vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
TheBurgers wrote a review Dec 2019
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom524 contributions427 helpful votes
We stayed at Pure Guest house for 3 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay. The property is located around a 5min drive outside of Hout Bay but has a fantastic location on the hill overlooking the bay - the views are amazing. We booked the Panorama suite which is relatively small but has a large double bed, a couple of chairs, small bathroom but a lovely patio area and day lounger so that you can chill out and enjoy the incredible views towards Chapmans Peak drive and Hout Bay. The breakfasts are served on one long table so you get to meet other guests in the morning and share stories of where each of you have visited / get recommendations. The actual breakfast is a simple affair - lovely crusty bread and a croissants, eggs cooked to order and then a selection of cheeses, meats, yogurt, cereals etc. The living / dining room is just fabulous and has views that will last long n the memory. The Guest House provides free WiFi and the signal was good throughout the property. Both Ralph & Patrick own and run the accommodation but they work alternate weeks (although both actually live in the property and no matter which is 'on duty' either is happy to help). Ralph greeted us, spent time pointing out the key attractions on a map and was more than happy to recommend restaurants / make reservations. During our stay we had dinner at the Chef's Warehouse and Cheyne's (both were very good in terms of food but the views from the Warehouse were wonderful). We also had lunch at Bistro Sixteen82 on the Steenberg wine estate which was fantastic.. Ralph also suggested (and booked for us) a tour of Imizamo Yethu township in Hout Bay if we wanted to understand more about how many of the locals live. The tour is run by one of the community leaders with the fees being invested in the community - it lasted a couple of hours and was a real education and I am pleased we did it. The tour ends in the Original T-Bag Designs shop which is worth a visit even if you decide not to do the township tour. Pure Guest is a lovely place to stay, we met some lovely other guests and were well looked after by Ralph & Patrick - we would be happy to return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Alexander Schmid wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions
The Pure Guest House was the most beautiful Guest House we have seen so far. In addition there is the incredible hospitality of Ralph as well as the lovingly prepared breakfast. The view is fantastic, the rooms are fantastically furnished and Ralph's recommendations for restaurants and activities are so precisely tailored to you that we had a super, super time there. Every detail is perfect. From the furnishings, the beds to the reception with fire and music. We will definitely be back and are looking forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
I Taylor wrote a review May 2019
Düsseldorf1 contribution
We spent one night in the Mountain view room & three in the Panorama Suite. Whilst the Mountain View Rom offers every comfort one should expect for a Guest House of this standard, the wow factor of the view from the Panorama Suite is an unforgettable bonus. In addition, the large terrace with a cosy chill out couch was a welcome retreat in the late afternoon sun. The service provided is exceptional, the owners and staff are perfect hosts offering any and every assistance, lots of suggestions on what to do, where to go and also what might not be such a good idea. Breakfast is set at a beautiful large wooden table, with a spectacular view of the garden and Hout Bay beyond through the large terrace windows / doors. The breakfast itself is Continental. Of special note is the delicious and various bread offered. If you are looking for a peaceful base with convivial hosts to explore Hout Bay & the Southern suburbs Pure Guest House is the perfect refuge. 5 Stars are not enough!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Recommend rooms with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Frederik Scherpereel wrote a review Apr 2019
Ghent, Belgium5 contributions2 helpful votes
If you plan to travel to Cape Town, you might want to consider looking for a place to stay outside of the city. Hout Bay is a stunning residential area with a lot of beautiful places to stay. In our case, we wanted something different than the traditional stay in a hotel, without sacrificing on service ;-) I came across Pure Guest House by coincidence, and I knew from the first contact with Patrick and Ralph, that this would be THE place to be. They really make the difference. This is not FAR FROM "a guest house", this is IMHO, and I've traveled quite a lot, THE place to stay for people who want to go the extra mile when traveling and like to receive the extra mile in service also. Absolutely stunning views from the breakfast room, from the room, pool, ... superb service, ... This won't be our last visit to SA/Cape Town. Talk to you soon, guys!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Panoramic room - with a stunning view on Hout Bay
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pure Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Pure Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Chapman's Peak Drive (1.3 km), Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden (7.8 km), and Platteklip Gorge (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pure Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Pure Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pure Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pure Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pure Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef's Warehouse Beau Constantia, La Colombe, and Greenhouse Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pure Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pure Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Pure Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (6.4 km).
Does Pure Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.