Pure Guest House

Pure Guest House

7 Saddlers Close, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Traveller (219)
Room & Suite (70)
Lounge/Breakfast Area
Dining (33)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#2 of 26 B&Bs in Hout Bay
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
We want your stay at Pure Guest House to be more than luxurious and stylish. Pure is our idea of an authentic, natural and joyful way of life. It combines high-class design, organic food, excellent service and warm hospitality to be enjoyed by you. Feel free to enjoy your visit to Pure Guest House in the way that suits you - by sunbathing, eating good food and relaxing in a luxurious atmosphere. Or become active, plan trips, hikes and excursions to various sites and scenery. We are always ready to help you plan your day or give you tips on where to dine. We feel that luxury and environmental awareness need not contradict each other. We enjoy a refreshing jump into the swimming pool all the more knowing it is heated by solar energy. And the entire heating system of Pure Guest House is provided by solar panels. Indulgence can also be healthy. That is why we offer you wholesome food - fruits and vegetables from regional farmers and meat from selected outlets in the area. Our meals are fresh, nutritious and delicious.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Car hire
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more

Location

7 Saddlers Close, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Cape Town Intl Airport
23.4 km
See all flights
341Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 9
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Danna G wrote a review Feb 2020
Fayetteville, Arkansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spent 3 nights in mid February at Pure Guest House in Hout Bay near Cape Town. We were greeted by Patric who sat down with us, welcomed us , and talked about our plans for the next few days. He had lots of insight and suggestions concerning our visit. The house and it’s view from the hillside above Hout Bay are even more spectacular in person than in photos. Our room was perfect with incredible views from the shower, tub and bedroom.

Our only regret was scheduling our days so full that we didn’t have as much time to relax at the house as we would have liked. The open breakfast area was the perfect place to sit and visit with fellow travelers. It seemed that most mornings there were guests at the table for 2-3 hrs.

I was a little concerned that the Hour Bay location would not be convenient for our excursions but our Uber drives to and from we’re safe, inexpensive and actually some of the most enjoyable and informative parts of our trip-we talked with several immigrants from various African countries who gave us a unique perspective on South Africa.

If we are ever in the area again we will definite stay here and we’ll encourage any friends traveling to the Cape Town area to stay at Pure Guest House as well.

Danna
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nathan wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a few days in the guest house and the hosts were excellent in providing information regarding the region, what to do and where to eat.

The breakfast with the amazing view is a perfect start of your day. The rooms are big and clean with everuthing you need. Also very quiet.

A perfect way to start you vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hhaasbroek2022 wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, great views and exceptional styling. Great service in a quiet neighborhood. The house and rooms are very well furnished, with high quality furnishings, yet remaining comfortable. For a business trip, the 08h30 breakfast service is a little late in the morning, but the breakfast served is very good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colin F wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No hot water on day 1 (cold showers in winter) No butter for the toast. No ordinary tea. No DSTV (Rugby tests) Had to seek neighbors help to get in (faulty remote) Had to grope around in the dark to find an extra blanket from adjoining rooms, The lounge fire died in 10 minutes. Only guests and only ones on the property at times. Host tried hard but inexperienced. Never again.!!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annabel Konen, Geschäftsführer at Pure Guest House
Responded 08 Sept 2021
Dear 235colinf, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that you did not have a nice experience at our Pure Guest House. We were under the impression that everything was okay when you left and were really surprised when we read your review. However we would like to explain the events from our side: Regarding the hot water on your first night, there was an electrical fault as the cable was not connected properly to the geyser, and therefore the hot water was not coming through. It must have gotten lose because we checked the hot water three hours before you arrived and it was warm. We have fixed it right after we knew about it, but we are sorry that you could not shower properly the first night. Unfortunately due to Covid-19 rules and regulations, we had to minimise our breakfast services and could not offer you a whole buffet like normally, that is why the rates were adjusted lower as well. However we do get your point regarding the butter and we simply forgot to buy butter on the first day and we apologize for that. We did had butter on the second day ready. We do not understand the tea problem as we offered you various teas, also black tea and we did just not have the specific brand you asked for. We do have an emergency number which was given to you in the welcome letter and which is also in our guest room book. This number can be called 24 hours, as we do give our best to help our guests with all their inquiries and in emergencies. When you called this number, we did offer you to bring you an extra blanket however you did not want us to bring it, but wanted to take it yourself from the next room. Furthermore, the remote was working perfectly when we checked it. The remote for the drive way is a driving remote and not a walk-in remote. If you are standing too near to the gate and not in front of the Gooseneck station , it will not open, and we were also there 5 minutes later to open the gate. We checked it again after you left and the remote still worked. Regarding the fireplace in the lounge, we are sorry about that as well, but the fire wood was unfortunately too moist, due to the bad weather the days before and due to the wind, the wood also got wet in our wood shelter. Due to Covid-19, not a lot of people are travelling and therefore on this weekend you were the only guests at our guest house. We do get most of your points and we will improve on them. We just do not get why, you did not tell us about the things when you were still at the guest house. You even gave a tip and did not seem like you had a bad time with us. We hope that you will give us another chance. Kind regards Annabel Konen Owners Representative
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rodney2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
Miami, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The towels were stiff and not what I am use to which is soft towels. The toilet seat should be replaced it had stains and did not look clean. The home is beautiful and has great view. The parking works well with compact cars, we arrived in a pickup and had to back out to the street as we were not able to the turn around in the parking area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nmatla598526 wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Second time staying at the guest house. Lovely house located in a great area. Enjoyed the scenery and rooms were clean. The area is also quite accessible to all the major areas and tourist attractions.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lotsandlotsoffood wrote a review Mar 2020
Petersfield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having travelled from Joburg , via Safari , via Stellenbosch the bar had been set quite high. Pure delivered in every way possible , views , property , the room and hosts all spectacular . Ralph was a good start and Patric took it to the next level. A big thanks to Porscha who gets special mention for her good grace and diligence. We cannot recommend Pure enough , such a special place .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
segli332996 wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really did enjoy our 3-day stay at Pure Guesthouse Hout Bay. It is perfect located for short drives in all directions and not that windy as in Camps Bay. The staff is friendly, serving good Breakfast, nice pool area and with the Panorama Romm you also get a private sundeck.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KEOB1 wrote a review May 2016
Towcester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pure Guest house is an ideal place to stay and explore Capetown and the peninsula.
The rooms are spotless , views to the sea amazing, lovely gardens and pool.
Ralph and Patrick are are very good hosts and make you feel very welcome.
Breakfast is a very nice continental but if you ask they will serve an English for us die hard Brits!!
No need to spend hours online wondering where to stay like I did... you will be happy here!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for room with a bay view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saarfari wrote a review Nov 2015
Munich, Germany
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay while in the Cape Town area! The owners, Ralf and Patric, and their team are very nice and helpful. We stayed at a suite and had the most amazing view from our bathrom. The room itself was very spacious and had a walk-in closet. The guest house is perfectly clean and beautifully appointed. Its location is up in the hills of Hout Bay, a five-minute drive from the town centre. Breakfast was delicious with a broad selection: fresh fruit salad and orange juice, diverse bread rolls, croissants, cheeses and charcuterie, fresh veg, jam, yoghurts, a yummy cereal variety, eggs of your choice... The only potential for improvement is the wifi which is rather bad.

We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
I Taylor wrote a tip May 2019
Düsseldorf1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend rooms with a view of the Bay."
Read full review
Frederik Scherpereel wrote a tip Apr 2019
Ghent, Belgium5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Panoramic room - with a stunning view on Hout Bay"
Read full review
JodieB wrote a tip Jan 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great views, quiet location, perfect location for seeing cape town and surrounding areas if you have a car."
Read full review
srgmatesco wrote a tip Oct 2017
Paris, France3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have great views of sea or mountain. Choose your room with the help of the guesthouse website."
Read full review
KEOB1 wrote a tip May 2016
Towcester, United Kingdom11 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room with a bay view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hout Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,770 - R 4,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PURE GUEST HOUSE - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Hout Bay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pure Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Pure Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Table Mountain (7.6 km), Chapman's Peak Drive (6.6 km), and Platteklip Gorge (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pure Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Pure Guest House?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pure Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pure Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pure Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House, Chefs Warehouse Beau Constantia, and La Colombe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pure Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pure Guest House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Pure Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (6.5 km).
Does Pure Guest House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Hout Bay HotelsHout Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hout BayHotels near Pure Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire