Vida Nova Retreat

Vida Nova Retreat

Disa River Road & Valley Road,, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Traveller (41)
Dining (4)
Family room
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 2 small hotels in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
An eco-luxury, high-tech hotel, and meticulously cared-for gem found in the picturesque village of Hout Bay. Our eco-friendly Hout Bay hotel is secluded, with the benefit of being a short trip from the bustling Cape Town City Bowl. It is perfect for those who value a comfortable stay, while enjoying all the things to do in Hout Bay, with a gateway to everything that the Mother City and surrounds have to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkelling
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Minibar
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Disa River Road & Valley Road,, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Cape Town Intl Airport
21.3 km
See all flights
15Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
geezers2 wrote a review Jan 2024
geezers252 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a tranquil retreat away from the hustle of downtown Cape Town this is the place to go. Set in the hills above Hout Bay it is a short drive and has secure parking on site. Our room (4) is on the ground floor, opening out onto the beautiful garden and pool area, complete with comfortable sun loungers that have mattresses and towels supplied. There are relaxation pods set in the gardens and lots of sheltered areas to get out of the sun if needed, there is even an outdoor bar and fire pit that looks beautiful when darkness falls. Service is absolutely top class, there is always someone waiting on you for drinks and snacks etc. Breakfast is superb with a huge choice, the dinner menu has loads of vegetarian choices and local beers and wines and spirits are plentiful. The rooms are huge with large tv’s set on the wall, complete with Netflix, ceiling fans and very high quality bedding. Next to the beds, on both sides, are double UHB ports for your devices, this is very convenient. Rooms also have an unstocked mini fridge.The bathrooms are lovely with loads of hot water available all the time, and the products are fabulous and sourced ethically, there are also hair dryers in the rooms and they are spotlessly clean. The two combined pools are big enough (kidney shaped) and were kept very clean at all times. You can easily get an Uber into town for about £4 sterling where there are restaurants and shops and an ATM. The best thing about Vida Nova is their staff, they are brilliant and could not be more helpful or professional, whilst they are all excellent I want to pay particular thanks to George, Brian and Anthony and Cyu on reception, these guys made our stay very very special. The food here is really lovely, and the building has lots of solar panels so we were totally unaffected by any load shedding power outages. We stayed here for five nights to end our long trip around the garden route, it really is an oasis of calmness. Thank you again to the very special staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1 and 2 as you can hear the traffic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Owner at Vida Nova Retreat
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always endeavour to give the best possible service and we are so happy to hear that we live up to our reputation. We will most certainly convey your review to the staff - they are always happy to hear when they're efforts are noticed! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe wrote a review Jan 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding Service at this hotel, we absolutely enjoyed our stay here and would return tomorrow if we could. The staff were all so incredibly professional, George, Anthony, Cassandra, Agnes, JB and Peter just to name a few, their manners were impeccable and their attentiveness to our needs was always clear, they delivered a high quality service every time. I must also recommend dining at this retreat, the chefs are so hardworking and create masterpiece fine dining dishes at a reasonable cost. Breakfast was included for us and every morning we were more than satisfied.

A massive thank you, Vida Nova, a must visit retreat in Cape Town! We will be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are hot and cool pools, we never struggled to get a sun bed if we required, you must have a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trisha wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A large group of ours visited Vida Nova for a dinner as well as stay over. There were 28 of us in total and from the moment we arrived we were all so exceptionally taken care of. Every single staff member was warm, welcoming and friendly. The managers Neil and Tim were on the ball with everything. They especially set up our large dinner group on the lawns with a marque tent over the tables. The food was lovely and well prepared, waiter staff well trained and attentive.

The venue itself is an absolute hidden gem, everything is so meticulously maintained. It is so beautiful there that you just want to stay forever. The rooms are all stunning, clean, fresh, comfortable, modern yet still homely. The superiors rooms are all voice activated which is great. I love the automatic black out blinds.

Highly recommend this venue for any type of stay, short, long, just for dinner or even for working at during the day in their work pods.

They are very equipped at handling large groups.

One of the most beautiful spots in Cape Town.

*Our photographer took much nicer pictures but I hope these will give you an idea in the mean time of how stunning Vida Nova is.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jacques c wrote a review Aug 2022
Oudtshoorn, South Africa10 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beyond spectacular!

From the prestine setting against the Houtbay slope,from reception,cleanliness attention to detail...not even mentioning the fine dinning experience and mouth watering breakfeast!!

Something is being done right by a great team of people at this special place....this is bucketlist stuff!

Well done Vida Nova!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lmca wrote a review Dec 2023
Dublin, Ireland11 contributions
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This was hugely disappointing . Rooms are dated and bathroom is actually dirty . The shore area in room is tight with small sink adjoining with little space for toileterries . Jacuzzi area could do with proper upgrade . Room not cleaned 2.30 pm second day . 20 min wait to order for breakfast - which came having waited for hr and wrong order . Lunch salad took 30 mins .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Owner at Vida Nova Retreat
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and bring some issues to our attention. As our numerous 5-star reviews can attest, this level of service is not what we normally deliver. The only excuse I can offer is that it was peak season with a full hotel and we experienced some staff issues, but this still does not excuse the negative experience you had, and we can only apologise profusely for this. We have spoken to the management and staff involved and I am satisfied that a repeat of this will not occur. I hope we can welcome you back again and prove that we take all complaints seriously and treat you to our excellent service, for which we are famous.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nobuntu Cummings wrote a review Sept 2023
8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a perfect way to cap off our time in South Africa/Mzantsi. We were welcomed at Vida Nova by our dear friend, Manager Temwani Mngoma, whom we first met in the hospitality industry in the Eastern Cape. At Vida Nova, Temwani introduced us to all that is beautiful about this truly special Hout Bay location. The facilities are stunning and peaceful, our lunch (delicious prawns) was incredible, the views were gorgeous, and one of our contingent said she had the best massage of her life: all thanks to massage therapist Diandri. Amazing! We were so thrilled to see that Temwani's renowned hospitality skills were also alive and well in the staff. Brian, JB, and Rika treated us with the utmost respect and were so welcoming and attentive to our every need. Vida Nova is a gem. We urge you to take the time to visit and to stay. It was the perfect way to relax before readying ourselves for the loooooong journey home. Thank you, Temwani and staff, for everything. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynette Whittaker, Marketing at Vida Nova Retreat
Responded 07 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Vida Nova Retreat. We hope you’ll be returning soon and would love to learn more about your projects and how we can potentially collaborate with our conservation and community projects driven through our NPO, Fire Island Conservation. All the best! From the team at Vida Nova Retreat
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quintin S wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the privilege of spending four nights at this jewel of a destination. The breakfast is for kings, or a queen, in my case. They have a heated pool surrounded by the mountains and trees of the Western Cape, which welcomed me as part of my daily routine. A facial and body massage at the spa rounded out my stay to perfection. All with lovely personal and friendly service sprinkled over my whole experience. I’ll be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Smith wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been going to Vida Nova Retreat for the last 12 months and really enjoy having working lunches in the Pods in the outside garden. The internet connection is good and we usually end our day with a lunch at the restaurant. There are a few foodies in our team and they always remark on the quality of food at Vida Nova. In my opinion, probably the best hotel in Hout Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Great wine selection
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan C wrote a review Dec 2022
78 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A warm & relaxing welcome from all of the staff. In a superb location with beautiful well kept gardens and a sense of tranquility. Rooms perfect, had wonderful spa treatments. We had breakfasts and dinner in the outside pods. One pool was cold which was perfect for swimming the other one very warm for relaxation. The food was lovely with many of the ingredients grown in the gardens
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sandhum wrote a review Oct 2023
Singapore, Singapore143 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A late post but nonetheless, we had a fabulous time in Hout Bay, and even expended out 5 days stay at this exclude retreat. Bring July, it was a bit chilly, but the fireplace was always near to keep us warm. Special thanks to the General Manager Niel Els for ensuring our stay was comfortable and memorable. Special thanks too, to the team that was always available for our every need.
Reception: Agnes, Johan
Waiters: Anthony, Brian, Cassandra, Njabulo, Husain, Phumza, George
Housekeeper: Zimasa
Thank you so much! A definite return trip to Cape Town and Hout Bay! Simply beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ample parking for self drive guests. Easy access to almost anywhere in the Cape area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
geezers2 wrote a tip Jan 2024
geezers252 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms 1 and 2 as you can hear the traffic."
Read full review
sandhum wrote a tip Oct 2023
Singapore, Singapore143 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample parking for self drive guests. Easy access to almost anywhere in the Cape area."
Read full review
Chloe wrote a tip Jan 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are hot and cool pools, we never struggled to get a sun bed if we required, you must have a massage when visiting, the spa is amazing."
Read full review
Alexander Smith wrote a tip Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great wine selection"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hout Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,243 - R 2,832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIDA NOVA RETREAT - Now R 2 409 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶5̶4̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hout Bay, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vida Nova Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Vida Nova Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Table Mountain (7.6 km), Chapman's Peak Drive (6.6 km), and Platteklip Gorge (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vida Nova Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Vida Nova Retreat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vida Nova Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Vida Nova Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vida Nova Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bo-Vine Wine & Grill House, Chefs Warehouse Beau Constantia, and La Colombe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vida Nova Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Vida Nova Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Vida Nova Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Vida Nova Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (4.4 km) and Fort Goede Hoop (7.4 km).
Is Vida Nova Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hout Bay HotelsHout Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hout BayHotels near Vida Nova Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire