We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
18 Princess Street, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hout Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Beach House Guest House, a 9-bedroom all en-suite guest house is the only one set on the golden beaches of Hout Bay. Here in comfort you can experience the beauty of Hout Bay valley and superb panoramic mountain scenery thus the perfect base from which to explore the Cape Peninsula tourist attraction.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Massage
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Squash
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
288Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 99
  • 25
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cheryl wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
We had such a lovely stay. The place so clean and well kept. The lady Silvia went out of her way to make us feel comfortable after our horrible experience at another B&B in houtbay. She made our day even more special. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Meg wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions6 helpful votes
Staying at The Beach House in Hout Bay feels like staying in the perfect beach home you never had. I am sitting writing this review currently sitting in the lounge with a fresh pot of filter coffee and a muffin from the lovely ladies in the kitchen whilst looking out over the private courtyard and pool. I stayed upstairs in an en-suite looking over the dunes and directly onto the beach in a king sized bed. The hotel is put together with the perfect combination of comfort and luxury, of casual beach feel and style, and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Pauline D wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa28 contributions
We stayed at the Beach house for our Anniversary and even though it was just for a night, we felt treated and relaxed. Warm and cosy reception hosted by the delightful Sylvie and Max. Stylish and modern bedroom with en-suite and a beautiful deck to take in the breathtaking views of mountain and sea. A wonderful Breakfast dining experience with wonderful service as well as a quick cuppa around the fireplace before we left. Hout Bay market and town within walking distance or a short trip by car or Uber. Thank you for making our Anniversary special. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael S wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
Imagine being awoken from sluber at 11.40 pm not by the ocean - but by the roar od traffic on the road 5 metres away, neighbours banging their doors and talking. Paper rhin walls, a noisy fridge next to the bed (ugh) and light pouring in everywhere are not conducive to sleep. Location is not everything - go somewhere else. ANYWHERE else
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Beach House Guest House
Responded 24 Mar 2021
Dear Michael Stow, It is with some surprise to read your review and to be honest, this is the worst review we have ever received in our five years of business. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service at the lowest rates, albeit we are a three star establishment. We are so sorry you had such a terrible time here and that it was so unbearable. We changed your room after your first night as you advised us that you had a sleeping disorder and struggle to sleep. We purposely switched off our outdoor lighting in the courtyard to be considerate of your situation and for the record all our rooms have block out curtaining. The building is solid double brick between all our rooms. You were happy with the new room which led out on to a private courtyard for your second night. Your review is derogatory and malicious particularly as you were so friendly and thanked us for a lovely stay. Kind Regards, The Beach House
Read more
Fearless16322335742 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
From the moment I walked into the Beach House I felt the peace.... Truly a lovely weekend with delicious food, beautiful people and tranquil environment. A beautifully managed business with amazing attention to detail. Thank you so much! We will see you soon xxx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jothene N wrote a review Feb 2021
Fourways, South Africa13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Stunning accommodation, exceptional service and 2 minute access to the beach. What an amazing guest house. Thank you so much for making it a home away from home! We will definitely be seeing you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Busisiwe Ngwenya wrote a review Feb 2021
9 contributions
The accommodation is nice and quiet. Central to nearby attractions and very affordable. The hosts was very attentive and helpful when we needed assistance. It is really good value for your money and you get what you pay for. As for the scenery no words can fully comprehend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , General Manager at Beach House Guest House
Responded 04 Feb 2021
Thank you Busisiwe, we really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Read more
Mark Farmer wrote a review Nov 2020
Ubud, Indonesia14 contributions1 helpful vote
Arriving home to Hout bay after 12 years was a huge stress for me, however, I found Beach house Guest house through a friend Jean Irvine. The host is amazing, the energy is awesome, the rooms are sooooooooooooooo quiet. The breaks (all included) (me a Chef, always turn up my nose to tacky food) well, I have to say that this place should be in the Michelin guide (if guests houses got stars). Very Safe, amazing decor, Super friendly staff, easy access to the property (all my America friends - Security is Top-notch). The pool has views of the mountains. I stayed in a room at the back as I was struggling with jet lag. wifi is South African wifi, get used to it. The breakfast is my favourite, it is a place to really heal your soul. Walking distance to everything. The host and the son run this, professional and very well put together, I travel a lot with Airbnb and booking.com, I hight recommend this place. There is (US) style convenient stores, wine stores, groceries and close to the beach for walks and the best sunsets. This was a very welcome "home Mark"
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I like my sleep, I usually work on 4 to 5 hours sleep, here I was getting 7 hours - Top room is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robyn wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
From the moment i drove through the gates i felt at home. The hospitality and the warm welcome myself and my mom received was incredible. The beds are HUGE and super comfortable. The rooms are extremely clean. And what is a B&B without an exceptional breakfast... delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Liezl S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Fantastic place to stay. Right on the beach with views of Houtbay main beach and harbour. Walking distance from shops, restaurants, pubs and museums. Right by Chapmanspeak and 6km's away from Constantia's Wine farms. Multiple hiking trails on your doorstep. Rooms are immaculate and well equipped. Great breakfasts and Sylvie is a sweetheart ready to help with whatever you need.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$47 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beach House Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Beach House Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Bay Harbour Market (0.3 km), Hout Bay Beach (0.4 km), and This Shop Rox (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach House Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Beach House Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach House Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach House Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dario's Cafe, Mariner's Wharf, and The Wharfside Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beach House Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Beach House Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hout Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach House Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (6.8 km).