Beach House Guest House

Beach House Guest House

Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#5 of 27 guest houses in Hout Bay
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Beach House Guest House, a 9-bedroom all en-suite guest house is the only one set on the golden beaches of Hout Bay. Here in comfort you can experience the beauty of Hout Bay valley and superb panoramic mountain scenery thus the perfect base from which to explore the Cape Peninsula tourist attraction.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Massage
BBQ facilities
Secured parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Squash
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Room features
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

18 Princess Street, Hout Bay 7806 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Cape Town Intl Airport
24.8 km
See all flights
291Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 156
  • 99
  • 26
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark Farmer wrote a review Nov 2020
Ubud, Indonesia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arriving home to Hout bay after 12 years was a huge stress for me, however, I found Beach house Guest house through a friend Jean Irvine. The host is amazing, the energy is awesome, the rooms are sooooooooooooooo quiet. The breaks (all included) (me a Chef, always turn up my nose to tacky food) well, I have to say that this place should be in the Michelin guide (if guests houses got stars). Very Safe, amazing decor, Super friendly staff, easy access to the property (all my America friends - Security is Top-notch). The pool has views of the mountains. I stayed in a room at the back as I was struggling with jet lag. wifi is South African wifi, get used to it. The breakfast is my favourite, it is a place to really heal your soul. Walking distance to everything. The host and the son run this, professional and very well put together, I travel a lot with Airbnb and booking.com, I hight recommend this place. There is (US) style convenient stores, wine stores, groceries and close to the beach for walks and the best sunsets. This was a very welcome "home Mark"
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I like my sleep, I usually work on 4 to 5 hours sleep, here I was getting 7 hours - Top room is...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudia wrote a review Jan 2020
Salzburg Region, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
from the first step into the beach house, i felt comfortable. the guy at the reception who turned out to be zac welcomed me like an old friend although it was the first time he saw me. after my return this january, he welcomed me as friend which i certainly became after my first weeks at the beach house 2019. and i found everything which i was longing for almost one year: the beautiful decorated rooms, the relaxing atmosphere in the breakfast room, the inspiring patio, the pool and the terrace upstairs which provides a breathtaking view on the bay and the stars above. there was one thing i missed: max. but as tippy follwed him, she is the most charming little dog i met and always happy about some caressing minutes. last but not least: zac and sylvie are the most precious people, always helpful even round midnight when loadshedding prohibit the normal way out. thank you so much for having me, this place has a special place in my heart <3
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: if you want a seaview, book a room upstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BEACHHOUSE790, Owner at Beach House Guest House
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Thank you so much, Claudia. We do hope that you visit us again, it is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for being such a wonderful guest! Wishing you all the Best for a Happy and Successful 2020! Best Wishes Zac & Sylvie (The Beach House)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at The Beach House in Hout Bay feels like staying in the perfect beach home you never had. I am sitting writing this review currently sitting in the lounge with a fresh pot of filter coffee and a muffin from the lovely ladies in the kitchen whilst looking out over the private courtyard and pool. I stayed upstairs in an en-suite looking over the dunes and directly onto the beach in a king sized bed. The hotel is put together with the perfect combination of comfort and luxury, of casual beach feel and style, and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jamiechooper wrote a review Feb 2020
Brighton, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are pensioners and lucky enough to travel extensively but only post a review when a place is exceptional (see our Jan 2020 review for the Strand Pavillion) or unfortunately has problems to alert fellow travellers. Firstly the positives, clean room next to the beach with a sunny deck and pool. Also Zac, the owner's son is a friendly, helpful guy. But this was overwhelmingly overtaken by the downsides.
Zac told us on arrival that we could watch the TV in the breakfast room where there is a settee and lounge chairs. We went out for dinner and case back at 9.30, turned on the TV to watch a BBc programme. Almost immediately a lady came along, didn't introduce herself, and wanted to know what we were doing there. I politely asked who she was. It turned out to be Zac's mother, Sylvie. She said the lounge was not available after 6pm. I said I had already asked Zac if I could watch the 6 Nations rugby the following evening (starting at 6.45pm), and she said that was different! So we felt banished to our room to find that the bedroom TV was not able to change channels from a local sports news one. We thought OK, let's log on to the wifi, but that wasn't working either. (See separate comments about poor wifi by other reviewers). My wife didn't want to disturb Zac so she sent a polite email to him explaining what happened.
Next morning we are having breakfast, when Sylvie comes up to speak to us because she knows about the email to Zac. Instead of suggesting we have a chat after breakfast somewhere we can talk not in front of other guests, she continues on from where we finished talking the night before. I said there was no notice at the entrance to the breakfast room saying what hours it was open. Sylvie said" it is written in the book in your room."
What was not written inn the book was any information about how to operate the TV, or what happens when there is load-shedding (power cuts for non South Africans). The next night we are having dinner in the Dunes Restaurant when there is a power cut at 8pm. We wanted to go hope after our meal but we didn't know how to open the electric gates to the property or the one to the entrance door. Also Zac had said they had no generator (but Sylvie told us we left today that they did have one but didn't want to use it!). So we thought no lights in the room, and we might be stuck outside with an electric gate not working. So we stayed at the restaurant until the lights came back no at 10.15.
I asked Sylvie today why there was no information given to guests when load shedding is very frequent, but she wouldn't answer.
Sylvie is a forceful lady that likes to get the last word. Really, it is not the best policy when you run a hospitality business!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BEACHHOUSE790, Owner at Beach House Guest House
Responded 04 Feb 2020
Dear Jamie, I read your review and treat it with the contempt it deserves. We do not entertain negativity and rudeness, as it impacts on other guests who are enjoying themselves. You were clearly in the wrong knowing the house rules the evening you arrived, and made me feel very uncomfortable in your approach late at night in a darkened dining room in the way you spoke to me. I was aware that you had made arrangements to watch the Rugby the following evening, and as it was not late, would wait to lock up our office and dining area, which we do every evening, after you had watched the rugby We have a lounge for our guests which is open 24/7, but the dining area is not left open, as our tables and dining area have been prepared by our staff for the breakfast in the morning. When I went to greet you in the morning at breakfast, I was confronted by complaints regarding your TV & WIFI in the room, which you insisted was not working. You did have WIFI on your phones, but could not connect your IPads which Zac subsequently helped you with.. It did not take us very long to reset your TV very shortly thereafter and clearly there was no problem. We have more channels than most, with all the sports channels. Every room is equipped with an information manual with the house rules and you clearly were aware that the dining room was not available after hours. unless otherwise arranged with us. I do not address problems with guests in the company of other guests and especially not whilst they are having breakfast and was very polite and offered to reset your Television for you. One of our other guests staying with us commented that I was extremely tactful with you, and commended me on how well I dealt with your rude attitude in the breakfast room. You should rather have addressed these issues privately with us after breakfast. You spent two nights with us, and spent the entire day enjoying our swimming pool and facilities, We had a power outage between 8 and 10pm which you were aware of as you had been in South Africa for some time and we were the last stop before going home. When we have a power outage, we are on duty to assist our guests, and there is no problem with accessing the property through our main gate as we have battery back up and emergency lights for our guests. You arrived back at The Beach House after 10pm, and your emergency lamp was left outside your room. Our other guests took advantage of some star gazing with a glass of wine on the deck and enjoyed the quiet ambience. In closing, we accommodated your request with politeness for a very late check out, albeit our staff had to have the room ready for the next guests arriving shortly after your departure. You did not even bother to leave them a gratuity. Kind Regards, Sylvie The Beach House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Busisiwe Ngwenya wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation is nice and quiet. Central to nearby attractions and very affordable. The hosts was very attentive and helpful when we needed assistance.

It is really good value for your money and you get what you pay for.

As for the scenery no words can fully comprehend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , General Manager at Beach House Guest House
Responded 04 Feb 2021
Thank you Busisiwe, we really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline D wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Beach house for our Anniversary and even though it was just for a night, we felt treated and relaxed. Warm and cosy reception hosted by the delightful Sylvie and Max. Stylish and modern bedroom with en-suite and a beautiful deck to take in the breathtaking views of mountain and sea. A wonderful Breakfast dining experience with wonderful service as well as a quick cuppa around the fireplace before we left. Hout Bay market and town within walking distance or a short trip by car or Uber. Thank you for making our Anniversary special. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JLSpr1958 wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An awesome homely smart accommodation. Delicious breakfast with freshly baked muffins.
Safe parking but also on the city and sightseeing bus routes.
Beautifully decorated clean comfortable rooms with on suite bathrooms.
Friendly and kind staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had such a lovely stay. The place so clean and well kept. The lady Silvia went out of her way to make us feel comfortable after our horrible experience at another B&B in houtbay. She made our day even more special. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liezl S wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic place to stay. Right on the beach with views of Houtbay main beach and harbour. Walking distance from shops, restaurants, pubs and museums. Right by Chapmanspeak and 6km's away from Constantia's Wine farms. Multiple hiking trails on your doorstep. Rooms are immaculate and well equipped. Great breakfasts and Sylvie is a sweetheart ready to help with whatever you need.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fearless16322335742 wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I walked into the Beach House I felt the peace.... Truly a lovely weekend with delicious food, beautiful people and tranquil environment. A beautifully managed business with amazing attention to detail. Thank you so much! We will see you soon xxx
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mark Farmer wrote a tip Nov 2020
Ubud, Indonesia14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I like my sleep, I usually work on 4 to 5 hours sleep, here I was getting 7 hours - Top room is the best for views."
Read full review
Claudia wrote a tip Jan 2020
Salzburg Region, Austria1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you want a seaview, book a room upstairs"
Read full review
SwissGuest2015 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Geneva, Switzerland6 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose room #2 or #3 on upper floor with view over beach and Chapmans Peak"
Read full review
Charlotte P wrote a tip Jul 2018
Klerksdorp, South Africa373 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the first floor has the best views."
Read full review
akay07 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Truro, United Kingdom336 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our first floor room towards the rear of the property had a fabulous view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hout Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,331 - R 2,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownHout Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BEACH HOUSE GUEST HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Hout Bay, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Beach House Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Beach House Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Bay Harbour Market (0.3 km), Hout Bay Beach (0.4 km), and This Shop Rox (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beach House Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Beach House Guest House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Beach House Guest House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beach House Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mariner's Wharf, Dario's Cafe, and The Lookout.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beach House Guest House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Beach House Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hout Bay.
Are there any historical sites close to Beach House Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Groot Constantia (7.0 km).
All Hout Bay HotelsHout Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hout BayHotels near Beach House Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire