We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Boschendal Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Boschendal Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at Boschendal Dec 2 for 4 days. Weather glorious and fantastic views over the mountains behind the cottage. The cottages are nice, a little plain if the truth be told but very pleasant. We were a little taken back that the manor and winery are 2.6 k from the orchard cottages so a car is absolutely essential. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Agvickery
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The cottages at Boschendal are located in a special place. The mountains surrounding the site are simply spectacular. The grounds and gardens are breath-takingly beautiful and the staff want only to please. So why 4 and not 5 stars? Well, some of the things connected with what you would expect at that level and price point in such a chi-chi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David80209
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As the titles says .You couldn't really ask for more and if you did it would be on the request list anyway e.g. a microwave oven . The view is spectacular , vineyards on your doorstep going to a small dam with the mountains in the background. Bedroom and bathroom are spacious and the bed is huge and firm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilton S
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had the pleasure of staying at Boschendal Cottages with a group of 26. The place is beautiful and I enjoyed putting in my 5kms run every morning or evening through the vineyards. The food was just the right balance of healthy and indulgence especially the baked goodies. The home-made bread they make is just lovely and the malva pudding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LKS2703
Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in orchard cottages, in pomegranate. The configuration was ideal, with 4 ensuite double / twin rooms. Amazing living space, and huge stoep overlooking the vines and mountains beyond. Had everything you could possibly need and was spotless. Only small issue... dishwasher flooded kitchen floor! Another small point , was we had booked the Boschendal picnic, but upon checking in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrMrsW50
Israel
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Just spent two nights at the Werf cottages which were almost perfect except that one of the cottages had just been painted and the smell of paint was overwhelming and even dangerous. We were immediately offered another cottage but unfortunately it was much smaller. In our opinion, the cottage was not designed very well as the TV area was right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maggie061
LaurenBerry31, Public Relations Manager at Boschendal Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. We apologise for the discomfort due to the upgrading of the cottages, unfortunately this had to be done, however we agree it was not ideal to have moved you to another cottage. Thank you for the kind words though, and we hope to see you back...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We recently visited Boschendal for the weekend and stayed in the Orchard Cottages. These are beautifully appointed, spacious and luxurious. The rates are very reasonable and it is great value for money. It is self catering and there is a farm stall and butcher on the property when you can buy food. Alternatively, you can arrange for a continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanyaA530
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Beautifully appointed service excellent wonderful staff and great environment. Put you feet up and enjoy a braai or just warm yourselves around the fire pit. The cottages are fully equipped get your supplies from the manor cafe, butcher. Kids are happy and feel safe as this is a secure farm area. Stretch the legs take a long hike to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Our family of four had the most amazing stay in a 3 bed cottage overlooking one of the many dams. The cottage was well finished with le creuset pots, dishwasher, super comfy beds and an enormous shower. We stayed in Trout Cottage which included a fire with plenty of wood, a barbeque where we cooked up some Boschendal steaks and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt H
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We have made an unforgettable trip with our four kids in Africa, from Victoria Falls to Cape Town. We spent the last days in Boschendal Cottages, great for families, the quality of the accommodation was top, breakfast in the Deli was delicious, the kids played in the orchards, we all walked on the trails, my wife went horse-riding, and in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacoborm2016

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franschhoek
14.2 km away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
577 reviews
12.3 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
14.3 km away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
20.7 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1 540 reviews
13.1 km away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest accommodation is a recent addition to the farm with luxury accommodation options ranging from the historical Herbert Baker designed Rhodes Cottage to beautifully restored farm labourer cottages. With emphasis on stylish simplicity the guest cottages are authentic, rural yet contemporary in character. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Boschendal Cottages

Address: Pniel Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Price Range: R1 751 - R18 774 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Boschendal Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boschendal Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Boschendal Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Boschendal Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good where we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger Werf cottages”
 of 5 bubbles maggie061, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“newly built cottages with stunning views”
 of 5 bubbles jacoborm2016, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Werf Cottages are smaller, at walking distance to the Werf Restaurant (dinner) and deli (breakfast) and about 1 km to the tasting site.”
 of 5 bubbles ElisaG703, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Werf Cottages all have amazing views. Number 4 is the furthest from The Wine Press if you are attending a function there.”
 of 5 bubbles RubyCapeTown, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay