We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auberge Daniella

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 8 villas in Franschhoek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the charming village of Franschhoek and set against the backdrop of the Middagkrans Mountains, Auberge Daniella is a delightful haven of comfort and authentic French country charm. The elegantly restored Victorian homestead comprises of three luxurious apartments, each individually styled, spacious and equipped with all the comforts of a home away from home. A sunny veranda and deck, with breath-taking views of the majestic vineyard-clad Drakenstein Mountains, provides an idyllic space to simply relax, sip on a sundowner or enjoy an al fresco meals at one of Franschhoek’ s well known restaurants. An azure splash pool, set in the tranquil enclosed garden, offers a welcome respite after a long day exploring the many shops, vineyards, historic sites and restaurants in the area. Ideal for a romantic weekend getaway, business trip or languid holiday, Auberge Daniella is the perfect place to stay when you visit this alluring corner of the Cape Winelands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Ironing service
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
207Reviews1Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 40
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Laurie C wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Perfect location, town is right on your doorstep, secure off street parking, great staff, enjoyed the 10 nights stay, an assortment of untensils, plates, cups and glasses, would have been helpful, pool was more a plunge pool and not for swimming.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Auberge Daniella, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. The apartments are fully equipped with utensils, a selection of glasses, crockery and cutlery for your use. We were delighted to have hosted you at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek enjoyable. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams Auberge Daniella
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa_J_100_12 wrote a review Feb 2024
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom75 contributions60 helpful votes
My cousin who lives in Cape Town recommended. Lovely accommodation, situated very close to town and the tram stop. The room/villa was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. We chose not to take up breakfast as there were plenty of places to eat in walking distance. The reason for not scoring 5 Stars was due to the road works that went on during the night and we were not made aware of at the time of booking. Carla and her team make you very welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Auberge Daniella, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We were delighted to have hosted you at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek enjoyable. Unfortunately, due to the devasting flooding we received late last year, the municipality has been fixing the road at various times. We are not notified of such, but thankfully that is now complete. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken1539 wrote a review Feb 2024
Cheshire, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
The accommodation at Auberge Daniella is excellent. A lovely large bed, gorgeous lounge area with sofa and chairs and a good sized TV. The apartment kitchen was fine, everything you needed for a stay of a week. We did not take up the offer of breakfast, as we like to visit different places and there are plenty of options within a 3-4 minute walk, although we did hear this was recommended by other guests. Carla and her team are the real bonus, very helpful with advice or booking taxis and restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Auberge Daniella, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We were delighted to have hosted you at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek enjoyable. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hildewautraets wrote a review Dec 2023
Franschhoek, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very Nice B&B with self catering facility. Bed of top quality. Very friendly team - this was our second stay. Situated near the main road, so everything is on walking distance. Only inconvenient is the traffic, however our room was at the backside and is not impacted by that. It is in particular when you sit outside enjoying the nice terrace and beautiful trees that it is somewhat disturbing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Auberge Daniella, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 19 Dec 2023
Dear Ms Hilde Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We were delighted to have hosted you at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek special for your birthday celebration. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shaken007 wrote a review Oct 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom106 contributions67 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at Auberge Daniela. The property is perfectly situated in town for walking around and exploring all that Franschhoek has to offer. Staff were lovely and everything was spotlessly clean. The decor is lovely and as well as exploring you’ll want to stay in for a night and make the most of your lovely surroundings. Recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Auberge Daniella, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 17 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We were delighted to have hosted you and your wife at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek special for your Anniversary celebration. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wongam2023 wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
Good value for money, clean, safe, cosy accomodation with power back up. very good breakfast. pity about the absence of a fire place . two very friendly and helpful hosts, Carla and Zama. one couldn't ask for better hosts. the accommodation is within walking distance of the CBD, and the wine tram station - this makes it ideal place to 'operate' from
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Williams, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 08 Jun 2023
Dear Mr Wonga, Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at Auberge Daniella. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We were delighted to have hosted you and your wife at Auberge Daniella. Thank you, that we could be part and make your stay in Franschhoek special for your Anniversary celebration. Once again, we are pleased that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kestonsmith007 wrote a review Mar 2023
Warlingham, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
Terrible noise, really loud pub opposite, high volume of traffic noise, no sound proofing to help, aircon faulty and noisy. Staff were nice, but no refund by the owners when it’s so noisy was unacceptable. DO NOT STAY THERE. This review thing is unreliable, how can there only be 4 &5 reviews??? Warning the converted garage is certainly not luxury 4 star apartment as misleading advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: AVOID GOING THERE, very noisy, no sound insulation, pub opposite very loud.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Williams, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 31 Mar 2023
Dear Mr Smith, It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting positive aspects of the guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. We do have a Cancellation Policy of 100% non-refundable, therefore we are in no obligation to refund if it was your choice to check out earlier. We accept that we may be criticised, but we say it should be fair and factual. When your criticism becomes insulting, threatening and defames our business then this can be offensive and there could be repercussions. Firstly, Lavender Cottage was never a converted garage. Secondly, we do not tamper with reviews. Thirdly, the Station Pub only have live music at certain specified times on weekends and they are aware when having live music to keep the volume at an acceptable level within municipality regulations. They continually engage with the local community and their neighbours in this regard. They have many of our guests coming to the pub and enjoying their establishment. Fourthly, we do have double glazed windows. I felt bullied, interrogated, and frightened by you in such a way that I had to call security by panic button, you also threatened to take property belongings and would not return our keys until security arrived. You were booked in Huguenot Apartment, and I do not recall that you went into the Lavender Cottage, where your friends stayed, to see or hear for yourself whether the air conditioner was faulty or not. We tested the air conditioner together with the guests that stayed in Lavender and could not find any fault. You were happily eating breakfast at the time. We have had many guests staying in Lavender Cottage and none of our guests have complained before or after you about the air conditioner being noisy or faulty. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused by matters beyond our control, but the benefit of being close to the mainroad is everything is easily accessible by foot. The Supermarket are across the road, we are 100metres within walking distance to the winetram, less than 400 metres walking distance to all restaurants, boutique shops and world-renowned art galleries. Regards Carla
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
_adelehenderson63 wrote a review Mar 2023
Mersea Island, United Kingdom23 contributions25 helpful votes
What a wonderful place to stay. The accommodation is beautifully presented the bed and pillows were so comfortable. There was everything you needed for a relaxing stay with the added bonus of all key appliances still operating during load shedding. It is so close to bars restaurants and the tram for the wineries. Spotlessly clean and hosted with huge smile and fab welcome.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Williams, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 11 Mar 2023
Dear Ms Henderson Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay in Franschhoek. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. Once again, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
h-vanbaaren wrote a review Mar 2023
Chagford, United Kingdom1 contribution
It is unfortunate that it is so close to the main road which is very noisy with traffic, and the garden is very small, not leaving you much space to relax outside. The room was very comfortable and the service was very good and friendly. Carla the manager was very good indeed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Williams, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 09 Mar 2023
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay in Franschhoek. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. Once again, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
StephenH1954 wrote a review Feb 2023
Lancashire, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
A really lovely cottage with the bonus of a small pool. We didn’t have breakfast but the couple in the adjoining cottage did & what was provided each morning looked more than adequate. Although it is on the main road the trees provide shade & cover from the traffic noise.The bedroom is at the back so any noise was minimal during the night. Carla was friendly & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate to recommend Auberge Daniella & would happily return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carla Williams, General Manager at Auberge Daniella
Responded 09 Mar 2023
Dear Guest Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to send us your feedback about your recent stay in Franschhoek. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments highlighting particular positive aspects of our guesthouse and staff. This is after all, one of the best guidelines to evaluate and improve our services. Once again, we are delighted that you chose to stay with us and look forward to the privilege of serving you again in the very near future. Kindest Regards Carla Williams
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franschhoek area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,300 - R 2,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AUBERGE DANIELLA - Now R 2 396 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶0̶2̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (Franschhoek, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge Daniella
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge Daniella?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Auberge Daniella?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge Daniella?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge Daniella?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Auberge Daniella?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Auberge Daniella have airport transportation?
Yes, Auberge Daniella offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge Daniella?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.