We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holden Manz Country House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (471)
Room & Suite (51)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 small hotels in Franschhoek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Spa
24-hour security
Concierge
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Neck massage
Pedicure
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
687Reviews2Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 616
  • 45
  • 19
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jane E wrote a review 05 Feb
1 contribution
This is a magical & stunning place. Set in its own beautiful grounds but within the HM Vineyard. . Without exception the staff are friendly & efficient . The main house is spacious, comfortable and beautifully decoratedRooms v comfortable. There is always someone there to help provide drinks, advice etc. It is a very very special place. Gerard, Migo, Frank are perfect hosts supported by a special team
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ben wrote a review Aug 2023
Caesarea, Israel24 contributions2 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
We really liked the hotel. Breakfast was amazing. Staff were super nice. The rooms were very beautiful. The views were amazing. The location was excellent, close to town center and to other wine estates. Another thing that we liked about the hotel was the privacy, there are only five rooms in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Passport721063 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Although the main house, grounds and staff were very good our room left a lot to be desired. I did ask if the room could be changed but this could not be done. Although we were offered the chance to look at an hotel across the road instead, after a long road journey, 30c heat and cases already in our room, we were tired and decided it would just be easier to stay as only 3 nights. Unfortunately the tap in the kitchen area fell off immediately when we went to fill the kettle. It was repaired the following day. The kitchen area itself was poor with no fridge, so unless we asked constantly for ice or cold water, which is a nuisance, we couldn’t keep anything cool. The tap in the bathroom was also leaking profusely and needs repairing and the arm came off the chair. The other issue with our room was a steep outside staircase which one had to negotiate with care. It was a shame as other than our classic suite 5, Holden Manz had much to offer. All the hotels on our South Africa trip lived up to expectations with the exception of room 5.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Judith D wrote a review Jan 2024
Greater London, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
What a wonderful place! The estate is simply beautiful- manicured lawns, tranquil ponds and the most amazing views. Having delicious breakfasts on the peaceful terrace in the freshness of the morning was delightful. The owners are very friendly and the place is totally relaxed. Most of the time we were the only ones by the pool. Our room was very comfortable with everything we needed. Food at the estate restaurant was extremely good. Nothing else to say really apart from we’d definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David M wrote a review Jan 2024
Chester, United Kingdom345 contributions172 helpful votes
Firstly the location is splendid, the common areas are excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The problem was our “classic suite” which was way below par. Steep outside stairs, very steep! No fridge and this is rated 5*. Tea making area dismal, see photo so whilst this may be a great place avoid this room at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Dignon, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear David We are not surprised to receive your review given the fuss you made when you arrived and your wife being adamant she would not stay with us for your three night booking. We offered to refund you but you said you would stay. You stated you were very happy with the service from our country house team including booking transfers, serving drinks and providing regular supplies of fresh milk for your hot drinks. We don’t understand your criticism of the tea and coffee station. It is fully stocked with a variety of teas, coffee, sugar, milk together with a kettle and an espresso machine. It is refreshed twice per day. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser01749689911 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Beautiful estate and home with lovely pool and surroundings. We enjoyed a wonderful couple of days with our six year old. Rooms were comfortable and spacious, breakfast was excellent, honesty bar and free wine tasting was appreciated. Would recommend food in the restaurant at lunchtime too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Darren B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
An absolute beautiful location, property and wine estate, however, we stayed in the Franshhoek River Suite (upstairs) and it didn't have a fridge or a dressing table, warm wine and milk is never good and not having somewhere in a lovely room where ladies can't get ready isn't good either. Apart from that, lovely place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ben H wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
Me and my partner stayed at Holden Manz at the end of our trip to South Africa. The estate is located in a charming setting with beautiful manicured gardens and jaw dropping views. Our room was large, clean and had some really nice personal touches. We were made to feel so at home by the owners Migo and Gerard and their two children. An honourable mention also go to the staff at Holden Mainz in particular Frank, Charlene and Zimi who were attentive at all times and nothing was too much to hassle. I couldn’t recommend Holden Manz highly enough, and on our returning visit to Franschoek it’s the only place we will be staying.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
George P wrote a review Nov 2023
Peterborough, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Wow, wow, wow! This place is absolutely unreal, the location is stunning as to is the house and grounds. The staff’s attention to detail is impeccable from the welcoming front of house service ensuring that every need is met to the maids and grounds keepers doing a great job with a smile - and they’ll make you feel like royalty. The breakfast is so tasty, with a good range of choices. We hope to return one day! So if you’re considering booking, our only advice is to do it and for more than two nights if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Dignon, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House
Responded 19 Nov 2023
Dear Peter Thank you for your review, it is highly appreciated. It was our pleasure to be of service to you. Kind regards Frank
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
camara b wrote a review Oct 2023
San Francisco, California10 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent 5 lovely days at this delightful estate. It was our base while in Franschhoek. The managers, Charlene and Frank were so lovely and accomodating. We felt so welcome from the start and they provided excellent tips for dining ( essential as dinner is not available on property) and great days out. This was essential as the recent bad weather had disrupted the natural flow of life in the area. The roads to a few of the popular spots were still being repaired. Nevertheless, we had a beautiful and relaxing time. Our breakfasts were exceptional.The array of fresh fruit was so beautifully presented. We had the option of starting each day on the lovely terrace with a view of the mountains.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Temperatures swing wildly: bring sweaters scarves and a jacket regardless of forecast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frank Dignon, General Manager at Holden Manz Country House
Responded 06 Nov 2023
Good evening Camara Thank you for your review, it highly appreciated. Please send our greetings to Aron. Kind regards Frank
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franschhoek area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,727 - R 6,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holden manz guest house hotel franschhoek
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLDEN MANZ COUNTRY HOUSE - Now R 2 286 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶9̶0̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Franschhoek, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holden Manz Country House
Which popular attractions are close to Holden Manz Country House?
Nearby attractions include First South African Perfume Museum (2.4 km), Glenwood Vineyards (3.6 km), and Franschhoek Pass (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holden Manz Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holden Manz Country House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Holden Manz Country House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holden Manz Country House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holden Manz Country House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hari Kitchen, Arkeste, and La Petite Colombe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holden Manz Country House?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holden Manz Country House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Holden Manz Country House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boschendal (14.6 km).
Does Holden Manz Country House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.