We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
16 Minor Road, Franschhoek 7690 South Africa
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$125
US$93
View Deal
SAVE US$32
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$125
US$93
View Deal
SAVE US$32
Free cancellation until 21/08/12
Prestigia.comUS$122
TravelocityUS$93
StayForLongUS$125
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (659)
Room & Suite (135)
Dining (64)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 18 hotels in Franschhoek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the world famous Cape Winelands, Le Franschhoek Hotel and Spa has become one of the most romantic getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of luxury, the impeccably appointed Le Franschhoek offers unparalleled views of the Franschhoek Mountains & is the perfect setting for a taste of the legendary Cape Wine Routes. Features include a destination Camelot Spa & world class conference facilities. Included in Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa's many accolades are * 2007 AA Travel Guide- Gold Achiever * Conde Naste's top 130 New Hotels of the world- 2006 Hot List * Diner's Club Award- 2006 Wine List * Diners Club Wine List award Gold 2009.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
1 117Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 290
  • 176
  • 95
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LeanneD wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions
Our first stay here, we were celebrating our 22nd wedding anniversary! Our villa was stale, tired and in desperate need of maintenance and upgrading! Not what we were expecting from this 4 star rated establishment at all. Staff were friendly and polite and listened to our complaint. I definitely wont be recommending, but would like to re-visit once the place has had an upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: sorry, I have yet to experience a good room!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Snyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 days ago
Dear DavidsLandL, Thank you very much for the feedback albeit disappointing that you were not happy with the accommodation booked. Our refurbishment rollout will be commencing in May 2021. Please contact me directly at your convenience as we would appreciate the opportunity to redeem or good name.
Read more
NicoleH wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I made a booking for the Valentines dinner. We were 3 couples that felt very flattered on arrival at the reception desk and we were politely directed to the dinner room, before entering we were welcomed with a bright smile and an offer of bubbly (Champaign). Entering the room a lovely female greeting while showing us to our table. I absolutely loved the seating spacious (covid) yet elegant and serene. The chef came to our table and introduced himself also informing us he will be preparing our meals for the evening. We as couples were delighted with the atmosphere while enjoying our delicious meals, we absolutely loved the food and variety was divine, portion amount of the meals must say value for money! will definitely be visiting @Le Franschhoek SOON :-)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Paul E wrote a review Feb 2021
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked a two nights stay Valentines package based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and Booking.com, expecting the level of quality and attention the major reviews were depicting. From the moment we arrived, I had the disappointing feeling that something was not quite right. The place seemed a bit ran down, lack of apparent basic maintenance, not many guests around, saw even fewer staff (no one came to greet us) between the restaurant parking and the hotel reception. There, we were barely welcomed, besides being immediately invited to upfront pay the bill (which was the deal anyway). The villas all face each other which makes the large balconies totally useless when you are looking for a minimum of privacy. Same for the windows shutters which will have to remain closed. The room, bathroom and lounge was fairly large, and besides an old feel to it, the bed was super comfortable and the room very quiet; we spent a great night. The pools naturally warm were a nice distraction but the service there was to the minimum. The staff was very polite in general and with a few exceptions seemed to lack the training for the category level the hotel pretends. Nerbert was the most professional, attentive, omnipresent and effective staff we had to deal with. The 60mn couple massage (freelanced) was of very good quality. Breakfast was good. To resume, despite a good bed and a good massage, I was disappointed by the value for the money, specially for a Valentines occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
678brandon wrote a review Feb 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Very disappointed in my stay, and it being my second stay.My first stay was amazing which brought me back but my second stay definitely not returning based on second stay. So from my side I will not be recommending the spa. Very disappointed client. Which I am a regular traveler to franshoek, I atleast travel here 4 times a month.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
connect2021 wrote a review Feb 2021
White River, South Africa1 contribution
On arrival we were checked into unit 69 that was not properly maintained, both rooms air conditioner was "out of gas". Maintenance came and looked at it, but couldn't do anything about the situation. Our Reception clerk/admin person had to prepare a brand new Villa for us, but here the maintenance also seem to lack behind, cracked tiles, lights and electrical cords exposed (dangerous), light bulbs not being replaced and was offered the way it was...not in working condition. No two prong plug insight, to charge cellular phone. Situated in the most breathtaking valley, sunset was gorgeous, breakfast was really nice on the stoep. Pillows are due to be replaced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Snyman, General Manager at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear connect2021, Thank you very much for the feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced and be assured that Maintenance is top of mind. We are in the planning stages of refurbishing our villas this coming winter to ensure an enhanced product and trust we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Chris C Snyman
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le hotel franschhoek, franschhoek le hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include First South African Perfume Museum (2.6 km), Franschhoek Pass (2.9 km), and Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Petite Colombe, Orangerie at Le Lude, and Le Coin Francais.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.