L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Traveller (414)
Villa Bedroom
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (30)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 8 villas in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa

Location

Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Cape Town Intl Airport
49.3 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles459 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas garners praise for its exceptional service and stunning location, easily accessible to the nearby town and offering picturesque views. The spacious, well-equipped villas are appreciated by many guests, who also commend the hotel's cleanliness and charming French-inspired atmosphere. While the amenities and decor receive positive remarks, some guests suggest they could be refreshed and enhanced. Opinions on value vary; some travelers find the experience affordable, while others question the price-quality ratio.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
459Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 237
  • 119
  • 56
  • 26
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
travellover988 wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have travelled to Franschhoek once or twice a year for 12 years and this was the nicest accommodation we have stayed in, conveniently situated on edge of town. A lovely chateau with view over lake was fabulous (do choose a lake view as the bird life is wonderful). Although we did not use it, the large kitchen is well equipped. Breakfast is excellent and staff in dining room are charming and helpful. Our springbok hock for dinner was very tasty and well cooked. Unlike some hotels, car can be unloaded outside room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaperone wrote a review Jan 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was disappointed because I wasn’t given the villa I had booked because the owner was using it and they could not inquire with us if we were comfortable with getting a substitute.

The breakfast was really not good, to get cereal you had to pay extra, toppings for omelette needed extra money what you pay for is just toast and eggs.

The house needs to have basic dishwashing things like the liquid and scrubber.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lermitage Reservations, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 09 Feb 2022
We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We are addressing your concerns to see how we can improve our services.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
SMouton2013 wrote a review Nov 2020
Bellville, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
L'Ermitage is offering a package deal that is simply awesome value for money! Top quality suites for two nights, wine tram ticket, B&B, cheese platter with wine AND a two course lunch at La Petite Ferme for only R2395. People, use it or lose it! Only valid until 12 Dec 2020.
We were two couples sharing one of the luxury suites overlooking the dam and the mountains. Fraimless glass enclosed patio gives you the option of closing up, but still enjoying the view when it gets chilly, but allows you to open up completely for those balmy evenings of late summer. You can either prepare your own meal in the fully equipped kitchen or explore Franschoek's spoilt for choice restaurants. There are SO many to choose from, but if you can't choose, just ask Elani, she will choose and make a booking for you. She is so helpful and friendly, it felt like staying with friends. LOVED every minute of our stay (we did have noisy neighbours, but they were dealt with swiftly!).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elani Kriel, General Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for this positive report on your experience and stay at L'Ermitage. We strive to give world class service and to go the extra mile is quite the norm at this stunning hotel and villas. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed every bit Franschhoek and L'Ermitage has to offer. I am looking forward to welcome you back soon - it was a pleasure to have you here, and for sure become friends was just magic! See you soon.... Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xcake wrote a review Sept 2022
Cape Town, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location and position are very good and the views lovely. Pity about the building going on across the way as you are having breakfast overlooking the serenity of the pretty little dam you have someone banging away with a hammer about 300 metres away. No safe in the room and the height of the end of the sleigh bed obstructs the view of the TV if you are lying in the bed. Rooms are clean and well furnished and appointed, however small detail really needs work for example you open the cupboards in both the kitchenette and in the bathroom and they are damaged and this kind of spoils things. If you look around the hotel you see similar signs of small wear and tear that has not been repaired, I look up in the bar and I see evidence of a leak around a light that has not been repaired. The dressing table in our room was scratched and the table in the bar was badly drink stained. White table cloths on the tables outside at breakfast (not those ugly black placemats) and not half laid tables to match the very nicely printed serviettes would also lift the bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly, some professional training and some decent new shirts for the poor waiters would sharpen up the game - overall we did enjoy our stay and any criticism is aimed in a constructive way to improve the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lermitage Reservations, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 25 Sept 2022
Thank you for your constructive review from your recent stay with us, we sincerely apologize for the shortfalls mentioned. Many of the issues raised are actually being dealt with as we speak. We do not appear to be able to link your tripadvisor profile with your personal details on our system in order to discuss your experience in more detail. We would therefore really appreciate you contacting our GM on gm@lermitage.co.za . Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siboniso N wrote a review Mar 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a villa with a lake view. The Villa was spacious & just wonderful. We really did enjoy our stay. I do think there is room for improvement in the minor details though. There was no soap to wash hands in the Villa, the breakfast can be better & we were charged extra for a cappuccino (i just felt this was unnecessary).

Overall the location & Villa's are a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elani Kriel, General Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 09 Nov 2020
Hi Brian, thank you for your positive and constructive feedback and kind word on your stay at L'Ermitage. We are always looking to improve our standards, and look forward to invite you back soon to enjoy more of this magic at L'Ermitage!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LorindaVoges wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved that our King Luxury Suite (known as the Chardonnay Suite) had its own private balcony that overlooks a beautiful lake overshadowed by the majestic mountain range that offered beautiful sunset views of Franschhoek.

The self-catering unit facilities in the suite ensured the freedom of a relaxing, uninterrupted afternoon, and it was the perfect way to start our weekend in Franschhoek.

I loved that our room was super spacious, with its own flat-screen TV, dressing room and a huge bathroom that had a stunning bath with a view.

The only recommendation would be is for them to add a better coffee machine and coffee in the room and the breakfast was pretty standard.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elani Kriel, General Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Good morning Lorinda, Thank you so much for your positive response on your stay at L'Ermitage. We value your input and will work on your suggestions. We look forward to have you back soon! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nqedi wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very dissatisfied by the service. At breakfast, we requested a champagne breakfast ( we were willing to buy champagne from them or bring a bottle from our room). They had told us that no alcohol was allowed until 11am (funny enough, that’s when breakfast ends). We had no problem as different places have different rules. When we got to our table. A table next to us was having champagne and gin that they had from their rooms. When we complained, the manager showed them our table that my group of friends were complaining. I don’t understand why they did that as the alcohol drinking table started making rude remarks to our table, and said they would drink alcohol anyways. Management just walked away and didn’t control the situation and just allowed them to drink after they told us not to.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Samantha Chatham, Sales at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 06 May 2022
Dear Nq_Johnson, Thank you for your review and subsequent email. We are of course extremely disappointed to hear that the incident you refer to, soured your lasting memory of L'Ermitage, especially as you had mentioned in your email, how lovely your weekend with us had been. Upon investigation, it appears to have been an exceptional and some what awkward situation. When you asked if you could bring in a bottle of champagne, in principal, the hotel had no problem with this. However, due to the liquor license laws as mentioned to you at the time, we are not able to serve alcohol until 11am. After chatting to you, a short while later, the manager happened to see the wedding couple from the previous day walking through the restaurant with a single glass of champagne each, left over from the night before. Trying to be as discreet as possible, and not wanting to upset them after such an awesome celebration, the manager tactfully called the groom on his phone and explained the exact same liquor license rules. The guest also understood and promised that they would drink up immediately. Gavin our manager is genuinely sorry about the misunderstanding and that your last morning with us, ended on a negative note. He has made it clear that he would like to personally contact you and make things right again. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris L wrote a review Nov 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights B&B in one of the hotel's six suites. (There are also many larger villas) Huge suite with compact kitchen. High quality linen. Everything very clean and pleasant. All the staff exceptionally friendly, helpful and accommodating. The two ladies on reception, the security personnel and the staff serving breakfast all made the stay very pleasant The manageress is friendly, personable and has client satisfaction as a priority. She checks daily with guests whether everything is satisfactory. Parking, meters from hotel entrance, mostly under cover. Repeated offers of help with luggage. Breakfast table service due to Covid issues. Large servings of delicious cooked breakfast, muesli, yogurt and fruit platter with copious amounts of tea and coffee. Our requests for assistance such as an additional small table for the room , ice etc were dealt with kindly and efficiently. In all, we had a wonderful stay. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elani Kriel, General Manager at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 17 Nov 2020
Dear Chris, We appreciate your positive feedback on your stay at L'Ermitage. I value your input and suggestions, and as always, we strive to give the best service and offers we can. I am looking forward to welcome you back soon, for another special weekend and a few pre-booked activities that we can reccommend. See you soon! Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AliGza wrote a review Mar 2021
Benoni, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a two-bedroom Villa. It was fantastic. Had an air BnB feel to it but mixed in with the 4-star treatment.

The staff was amazing and we even had a personal hello from the hotel manager.

The hotel organized a shuttle for us to dinner on Friday and safely returned us before curfew ended.

I would highly recommend L'Ermitage to anyone looking for a little bit of luxury that is well priced, in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The Villas are perfect for 2 couples
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lebo M wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose Lermitage Villas in Franschoek to spend my birthday weekend with my girls. I had been waiting months to stay here and driving in took my breath away …. Until we were told we would need to carry our own bags up the stairs to our villa (no porters working) The villa was spacious with all the amenities and the view was just dreamy ! We had views of the lake and mountains - purely magical like something out of a postcard . However , I imagine due to Covid they have had to downside considerably….and this was felt in the experience. Only breakfast was available at the hotel ( and it was delicious) and to order drinks calls went unanswered unless I called on my cellphone to reception. Housekeeping was very shoddy and our beds were made with very little care. This is a truly beautiful hotel but the service needs to really be elevated even on very skeleton staff compliment .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lermitage Reservations, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Responded 09 Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PortiaLAmos asked a question Nov 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa12 contributions4 helpful votes
Are there bbq facilities?
Answer from SiMac365
Harrogate, United Kingdom127 contributions70 helpful votes
there was a gas style grill on the balcony. very good piece of kit.
Answer from Esme O
Kindly note our rooms are non smoking rooms however you can smoke on the balconies Kind Regards
brianbW3791GX asked a question Feb 2020
Newcastle, Australia32 contributions
Do all 2 bedroom lake view villas have a pool?
Answer from Pauline K
Durham, United Kingdom54 contributions15 helpful votes
No the one we were in didn’t The ground floor had a plunge pool which we had requested but to be honest even though the weather was sunny during the day the water is a bit chilly There is a communal pool on the resort
TmariePhillips asked a question Nov 2019
Redondo Beach, California3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello, I’d like to ask if you have a car service or shuttle to the Airport.
Answer from Lara S
Cape Town, South Africa135 contributions31 helpful votes
You can call the hotel concierge and they can arrange.
Answer from Elani Kriel
We are currently running a promotion and will be happy to extend it to you if you book before end April. Rate is based on Stay 2 Night and Pay 1 Night only at R3400 per 2 bedroom villa. Regards Cynthia
Heidi M wrote a tip 07 Jul
Melkbosstrand, South Africa126 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own nespresso pods and if /when loadshedding resumes pack some ground coffee. There are some on offer but we always take our preferred brands "
Read full review
DOROTHYUPNORTH wrote a tip Apr 2024
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"10 chairs around a tiny pool which had chipped tiles and was not clean. If the pool is important choose another property"
Read full review
Ashley D wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please check when you pay for your stay. These people “accidentally” overcharged us and still have not payed us back the money they owe us."
Read full review
Val Prinsep wrote a tip Mar 2024
38 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Visit at the unit before booking! Check bathroom sewer smells, non-existent power back up and useable wifi. "
Read full review
Wally Bodin wrote a tip Feb 2024
Durban, South Africa14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well maintained and very central. Lots of restaurants in walking distance "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franschhoek area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,703 - R 3,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
l`ermitage franschhoek chateau & villas hotel franschhoek, l`ermitage franschhoek chateau and villas
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeFranschhoek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

L'ERMITAGE FRANSCHHOEK CHATEAU & VILLAS - Now R 2 744 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶0̶3̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Which popular attractions are close to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Nearby attractions include First South African Perfume Museum (1.0 km), Mont Rochelle Nature Reserve (0.2 km), and Huguenot Memorial Museum (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Protege Restaurant, Orangerie at Le Lude, and Oku Asian Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Xhosa.
All Franschhoek HotelsFranschhoek Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FranschhoekHotels near L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire