Kings Walden Garden Manor

Kings Walden Garden Manor

Traveller (203)
view lightning tree
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 12 guest houses in Tzaneen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Laundry service
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Old Coach Road Agatha, Tzaneen 0850 South Africa
291Reviews0Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 208
  • 54
  • 15
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael C wrote a review Sept 2020
Mbombela, South Africa59 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I read about Kings Walden Garden Manor in the citizen review on the Saturday and on impulse booked in for two nights on the Monday and Tuesday evenings.
We were very well greeted by the staff on arrival and it being our anniversary the ladies had made up a wonderful heart from bougainvillea flowers on the bed. this delighted Jackie, set out for us was champagne and a beautiful view over the valley. The old farm house sets out a fantastic atmosphere of old hospitality. Bridget was a very good host and the staff were not intrusive in anyway but always near and we lacked for nothing. The evening meal was very enjoyable and being only two people staying over the staff went to extra lengths to satisfy us on both evenings. Breakfast was slick and varied on the days we ate there well worth the taking of the meals.
The atmosphere and history of the manor coaxes you in to get involved and we enjoyed the relaxed felling and well-being of the place. Thanks for giving us the time to enjoy. We enjoyed the silence and peace of the Manor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bridget Hilton-Barber, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 07 Sept 2020
Thanks for having such a lovely time at Kings Walden! We so enjoyed looking after you.Spread the word and share the love! Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anders R wrote a review Jul 2021
Polokwane, South Africa18 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During these tough Covid times it is great to see that a place like Kings Walden is keeping up the high standards of hospitality. Following a drive from the Kruger we arrived a little late. We were however met by a ray of sunshine, the host and owner Bridget. She made us feel extremely welcome and although we were late managed to get Chrissy the chef to cook us a superb dinner of Salmon. Walter our waiter was equally as attentive and let us feel like royalty. The best part of Kings Walden is the lush gardens and fountains and so we were glad that we could enjoy breakfast on the terrace with a clear view of the valley. We will definitely be returning soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 are the best - large rooms with a fireplace and a view over the pool area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bridget Hilton-Barber, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 04 Jul 2021
Thank you for your kind words and generous review. So glad you enjoyed your time in our beautiful space and we hope to be welcoming you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron Moloisi wrote a review Jul 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a breathtaking experience broadcasting LIVE globally from Kings Walden Garden Manor. The scenery left many green with envy 😅 and the uninterrupted WiFi connection provided smooth streaming throughout the show.
The staff are friendly and provides excellent service on call. The owners make you feel at home from the moment you arrive.

We can’t wait to visit again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arlene wrote a review Sept 2021
5 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We read about this beautiful manicured gardens and gourmet food and was so disappointed with it all. The place is neglected and needs serious TLC. We were 4 couples together and first of all they only had 2 half bottles of wine to offer us. They managed to scrape out 2 extra bottles. Then the waiter said that they only have the steak available and the chef managed to find 2 pieces of chicken so the rest had to have the steak. Wont wrote home about the food. We were told when we arrived that they had the best cheesecake dessert and when we ordered that there was nothing. They sold the big cheesecake to somebody that day so we had no dessert
We phoned the owner and she just did not take any responsibility for the events. The next morning we thought she will come and apologize but did not show her face. It left us very disappointed and we will not be back there. An email was sent to them as well with no response. The only good thing was the waiter who tried his best.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stilltldr wrote a review Apr 2022
Hannover, Germany18 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival at Kings Walden Garden Manor, our first reaction to the view was simply "wow" and so did guests who came after us - probably all guests feel the same way. The hotel is located on a hill in the middle of and overlooking avocado and macadamia plantations. The rooms are nicely furnished and spacious, the welcome is warm, the interaction very personal and the cuisine exceptionally good. If you want, you can even light the fireplace in the room.

The owner Brett offered us a little tour of the property and gave us some background on Kings Walden Garden Manor, so I can only recommend anyone to take up such an offer from Brett.

We literally sat in the garden for hours with our binoculars, enjoying the view and watching the Vervet Monkeys play. In the evenings, we enjoyed locally sourced, flavor-balanced, and handcrafted food in the restaurant, even under the stars one evening.

The Kings Walden left an unforgettable impression on us and I highly recommend this gem to anyone vacationing in the area.

Brett and Monica: I wish you that the shadows of the Corona pandemic will leave you soon and that you will be able to realize all your plans for the Kings Walden.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Monica de Castle, General Manager at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 24 Apr 2022
We are so happy you had a good trip. Thank you for your warm wishes and we seriously look forward to hosting you again!! Till the next time....cheers. Warmest regards Monica and Brett
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne-Dorthe M wrote a review Sept 2022
Bjerringbro, Denmark2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here as a group of 5, my children (14-12 years), my husbond, my mother and my self.
Great food - great service. Loved the story of the place, the family picture wall, the spirited garden tour - the passion for the place was clear and heartfelt.
We had a massive picnic lunch full of goodies, simple but very well prepared. Great attention to detail, doing a fire in our rooms for the night, keeping the coffee bar in the room stocked and great laundry service.

We would happily come again anytime.

Only thing is breakfast service was slow, especially on the coffees. But we managed and food was delicious at every meal. They took great care to do special meals if we had any requests outside of the menu.

Please treat yourself and go here, and please go on the guided tour of the garden.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Monica de Castle, General Manager at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 26 Sept 2022
Brilliant - thank you and come again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tash wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am very well travelled & this was one of the most amazing holidays & incredible weekend away. I urge you to try this wondetful place - service was brilliant & I am so grateful - thank you to the warm & welcoming Brigitte Hilton Barber & Phil for your hospitality - plus, the food was out of this world & the serene, perfectly manicured gardens left me feeling so revived & refreshed. Will definitely be back ASAP
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Udette Kruger wrote a review Dec 2021
Bela Bela, South Africa18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arriving at Kings Walden we were welcomed by monkeys frolicking on the roofs of the nearby buildings. The place has a rich history, a beautiful garden with pathways ideal for playing hide and seek, and a spectacular view of the valley and the Lowveld far beyond. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are romantic, and ideal for a romantic getaway where you can forget about any troubles back home. Thanks Kings Walden. We'll come again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bridget Hilton-Barber, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 01 Apr 2022
Brilliant brilliant. See you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine S wrote a review Jun 2021
18 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went with family.
Was asked if i wanted a bedside lamp.
Clean room
Food was average...5/10
Host tried but not the same standard as the previous Belgium manager.
Communal tea coffee station had the cat food next to it. I thought it was a biscuit at first.
They hosted a party on late afternoon which took away all the peace and tranquility of the beautiful garden.
Dont go with your family.
A nice place to go for a drink, but thats it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bridget Hilton-Barber, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 27 Jun 2021
Dear Janine, clearly you had a terrible time at KW and on behalf of the team, we apologize. Just a few points. Your varsity friends must have been extremely rich to have such splendid and spacious digs. We don't actually have a communal coffee station, you must have seen the urn and thought the worse. Yes the hotel cat's biscuits were on a table, our mistake. You were asked about the bedside lamp because the last guest broke it. Glad you weren't offered it to eat! The host is me, Bridget, and the Belgian's were last here in 2012.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storyteller504912 wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The food, service, bed linen and pillows, setting and garden were all first class. The crispy rolls served warm with dinner were absolutely delicious. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill with a stunning view.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Monica de Castle, General Manager at Kings Walden Garden Manor
Responded 06 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
yanacav wrote a tip Sept 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 5 & 6 have lovely garden/pool views"
Read full review
Explore813252 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A view over the pool"
Read full review
Anders R wrote a tip Jul 2021
Polokwane, South Africa18 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 5 and 6 are the best - large rooms with a fireplace and a view over the pool area."
Read full review
Centaur_SW1 wrote a tip Mar 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa97 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"2 suites (5&6) look over the pool and gardens and the other 3 (1,2,3) look over the lawn and Drakensberg mountains"
Read full review
Sandi C wrote a tip Dec 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa55 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I loved my room, 5, overlooking the pool and magical gardens."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tzaneen area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,132 - R 3,390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceTzaneen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KINGS WALDEN GARDEN MANOR - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Tzaneen, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kings Walden Garden Manor
What are some of the property amenities at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kings Walden Garden Manor?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Kings Walden Garden Manor have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Kings Walden Garden Manor accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tzaneen HotelsTzaneen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TzaneenHotels near Kings Walden Garden Manor
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire