Satvik Backpackers

Satvik Backpackers

Gv72 Georges Valley, Tzaneen 0850 South Africa
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 2 hostels in Tzaneen
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled on the shore of the Tzaneen Dam, the Satvik nature conservancy offers rustic Self-catering cottages and backpacker-style accommodation and camping. Being in this tranquil atmosphere of Satvik's facilities will entice you to stay that extra day as you slip comfortably into “African time”.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
6Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
larene2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice location, friendly staff, rooms a bit dated but we had everything we needed and everything was nice and clean.
Close to river with beautiful views. No WiFi but we all had reception so not needed. Will visit again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sanet E wrote a review Oct 2022
Pretoria, South Africa17 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Satvik, you live up to the meaning of the word, everything nice and lovely 🤗 Thank you Louis and team for making us feel at home and helping to make my hubby Billy's 50th birthday celebration trip epic 🎊 We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
milouandre wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Satvik is an very good address for 1 or 2 nights before the Kruger! The room/cottage is basic but very cosy and comfortable, and the bathroom is really excellent (a really plus for the stay) with the shower outside, under the star (but private for each cottage).
The pumpy road to arrive in stavik is not easy, but if you have a big car it's OK!
Thank you for the welcome!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Satvik_Accommodation, Manager at Satvik Backpackers
Responded 22 Nov 2019
Glad you enjoyed your stay hope one day you will make a turn again sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Climber15881671920 wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice place in the bushveld quiet clean friendly helpfull will visit again and recommanded to friends and family peacefull place nice to go an relax for a few days away from the city in the clean open air
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Satvik_Accommodation, Manager at Satvik Backpackers
Responded 01 Jul 2019
Thank you for you comments and yes we will be only happy to have you back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dream15287114813 wrote a review May 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
when my guys got back they were not happy with the condition of the place as they had to clean the bed before could get in it they had to walk into the bush to get to bathrooms and showers that was also not the cleanest on photos it looks great but on the photos they showed me when they got back different story.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Satvik_Accommodation, Manager at Satvik Backpackers
Responded 04 May 2019
Hi there, Im not sure who you are and which guys were staying with us and which room they were in, i would like you to either whatsapp me or email me with the details, im not sure which showers and bathrooms they were using but if it was the shared or common ablutions then ill have to look into it as its semi connected to one of our Dorm rooms on the one side and open lawn surrounded by a grape vine on the other, the lawn is mowed regularly, as for the showers them selves ill have to have a look we have had many other contractor groups stay with us and as with many people ill need to check for build up also to see if gardens have been trimmed back, all our rooms are checked and cleaned daily unless the guests in that room are staying longer than a day then keeping beds tidy is their responsibility, if it was in the evening on their first night, then i do apologize but we do live in a nature reserve and we do have many little creatures constantly moving around fighting for survival even in the rooms, and sometimes the beds need another dusting off but its been the way of things in the bush. I took the photos and have made them look as close to what we have so that guests know what they are coming to so im really not sure what the guys were meaning.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoPlaces12729682746 wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly the pictures of the location and the location itself, was not the same.

The outside apearance was horibble. Broken bench and beer bottles outside.
I had to share a room with a stranger and I was told that I had to use an extra matress if the one on the bed was not enough.

After this ordeal, I could not get myself to stay there under those sircumstances. In other words, we paid for nothing.

This gives Satvik Accomodation a bad name, and I would be hesitant to use it in future...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Satvik_Accommodation, Manager at Satvik Backpackers
Responded 28 Mar 2019
Hi there Cornea, Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Satvik, we strive to help everyone where possible, looking at the pictures the only picture out of all of them that i myself did not take is the areal photo, and if you go onto google maps and do a Satellite view you will see exactly the same as we have submitted, as for all the other photos these i personally took myself even the dorm room which you were in. All our units are rustic and we are constantly improving as guests and friends pass through and give advice without changing the rustic natural feel of Satvik, I apologize about the bottles, i did speak to the other guest about keeping things tidy we cannot help when guests leave things around, we do try keep thing clean and tidy in between. As for sharing the room with someone else, you had booked a bed in a dorm room that sleeps 12 guests and this is our cheapest offer at Satvik you were charged R180.00 per day for a bed in a dorm room, at the time of arrival we had a guest who had been staying with us for a few days already and currently is still with us along with another guest who still has another 3 nights with us, the remark about the mattress was a courtesy remark as normally it is the younger generation that stay in our Dorms and they dont normally have any problem with dorm setup. If you had come to me and asked to be in a private room, i would have been glad to assist by placing you in a private double or a private en-suite room at an extra cost unfortunately you pay for privacy. I'm not sure how you can make comments like you have as you spent all of 20 mins on the premises and never returned most times when a guest is uneasy we find after the first night they thrilled to have been with us, I understand Dorm accommodation is best suited for youth travelers and this is why we have other options advertised.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tzaneen area.
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceTzaneen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SATVIK BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews (Tzaneen, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Satvik Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Satvik Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Vervet Monkey Foundation (4.8 km), Platform PubandGrub (4.0 km), and Magoebaskloof Pass (1.6 km).
What are some restaurants close to Satvik Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Olive Tree Coffee & Gifts, Crawdaddy's, and Monya's Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Satvik Backpackers?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Tzaneen HotelsTzaneen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TzaneenHotels near Satvik Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire