Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast

1 Yellowwood Drive, Bergview Private Estate Champagne Valley, Central Drakensberg, UKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3340 South Africa
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in UKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Cathkin Cottage B&B is for those people who want to capture the essence of the Drakensberg...The peace, charm and magnificent beauty. Centrally situated you will find that we are conveniently positioned being close to all activities and amenities.

Our rooms at Cathkin Cottage are private and each has an en suite bathroom, with a mini bar fridge, tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms are bespoke with attention to detail..And our breakfasts served on the patio a brilliant start to your fantastic day.

Rejuvenation and relaxation are mandatory - you will leave having reconnected with yourself and the beauty around you.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Mini golf
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Outdoor fireplace
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
182Reviews1Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 120
  • 47
  • 6
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SolskjaerZA wrote a review Nov 2020
Durban
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our group of 4 friends just completed a 2-night stay at the cosy Cathkin Cottage, situated a stone’s throw away from the Drakensberg Sun.

From the moment I made the booking online, the owner Roger was in constant contact, enquiring about any special needs or dietary requirements for breakfast. The day before our arrival he was kind enough to email us detailed directions on how to reach the establishment.

Upon arrival at the Cathkin Cottage, Roger was there to welcome us and show us around. We rented the entire house which consisted of 5 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, all with their own entrances opening out to the garden. Roger was kind enough to help us store our bicycles in one of the rooms.

The staff were helpful and kept the place clean at all times. The breakfast was tasty and had all the essentials. The surroundings were peaceful and serene and was the perfect place to relax and unwind. There are many nice restaurants and coffee shops nearby, and the location was perfect for us due to the proximity to the Cathkin cycling trails.

The personal touch of the owner shines through at this house. My friends and I had a memorable stay at the Cathkin Cottage and look forward to returning in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Dear Sir, I do apologise for the delayed reply but I have been experiencing some problems with my WiFi. It was a great pleasure to have you and your friends with us and that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and in the area is very important to me. It was lovely to have you here and your review is much appreciated and I have shared this with my staff who get hugely motivated by this positive feedback. Thank you again and I take this opportunity of wishing you, your family and friends a truly blessed and joyous festive season. Stay well, stay safe and keep up the good spirits. Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgunth652605 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We felt very warm welcomed in cathkin cottage. The ownernis very friendly and helpful. As the Fan didnt work in our room it was immediatley taken care of and fixed.
The Destination is situated very nicely andsurrounded by a beautiful garden. The breakfast is delicious and upon request we were encouraged to use the kitchen for our own cooking in the evening.
Absolutely recommendable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RogerP2304, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 07 Feb 2020
It was such a pleasure having you with us and I am really humbled by your lovely comments on our breakfast and the destination in general. It is very important to me that our guests feel really at home and that you felt this is so important to me. Thank you for your valuable feedback and I trust you had a safe journey home. Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thacki170414 wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Well situated for exploring the Drakensberg with lovely garden and pool. Friendly host with good breakfast. Minor downsides are poor WiFi in our room and the Hollywood themed room decor - something more in character with the setting would have been nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 24 Feb 2020
It was an absolute pleasure having you with us and your comments following your stay are really appreciated. I am humbled by your comments on our breakfasts, thank you. Thank you for your constructive criticism on the room décor which will certainly be considered when next we are up for a refurbishment. Safe travels and all the absolute best. Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ivannaid00 wrote a review Jun 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had wonderful stay at Cathkin Cottage.
The owner- Roger, was exceptional in so many ways, to much to mention regarding his hospitality. Just a few listed below, any more and I would be drafting a comprehensive report. We paid the deposit for a room and my son decided to join us and I offered to pay a further deposit, Roger trusted me enough and agreed that I settle on arrival. Roger suggested excellent eating places and sites of interest. Breakfast was special, Roger gave us options and even accommodated my wife on her non meat day. As i wanted my car washed, Roger made a few phones call to enquire about availability, he even offered the facility to hose and wipe the car down. Rooms were clean and tidy, sporting a fan and electric blanket. We were short a verandah light though, for the outdoor evening tipple. In closing, we had a wonderful time at Cathkin Cottage and will definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dea Ivan. It was such a pleasure dealing with you from before you arrived here and on meeting you it just got better and easier to make sure that you enjoyed your time with us and in our valley. Thank you for such an amazing review following your stay and I really do hope that the next time you visit the central Drakensberg, we will see you here again. Please look after one another and until we meet again, Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raksha M wrote a review Jul 2023
Centurion, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On January 27,2023 we secured a confirmed reservation, for 8 people (and 5 rooms), to stay at Cathkin Cottage for 3 nights (24 – 27 June, at R7,500 per night) and a reservation number was provided. The total cost of the stay came to R22,500. We were required to pay a 50% deposit to secure the booking (i.e R11,250). In good faith, we paid R18,750 (R7,500 more than 50% of the required deposit). On June 16, 2023, I informed the Cottage that we will not be able to continue with the stay as two of the ladies have fallen seriously ill. One was in critical condition in ICU, on a ventilator, and the other had serious cardiac issues. Proof of the emergencies were offered to the Cottage but we were told that won’t be necessary as they “do not doubt” us.
While there was some empathy from the Cottage, they blatantly and outright refused to refund the R7,500 or any part of the payment we made. Instead, we were only offered an option to make an alternate booking within 30 days from date of the original booking. We were literally forced to book an alternate time in July 2023, as a result booking the weekend of July 14th. Even with that booking, we were given only a 2-night stay and not a 3-night stay, with 3 rooms and not 5 rooms, as originally booked.
On July 5, 2023, the one lady had to undergo a cardiac procedure, and on July 7, 2023, heartbreakingly, the other lady passed away. As a result of these emergencies, we were unable to fulfil the “forced” stay for the weekend of July 14th and had to cancel. The Cottage now has those rooms open for occupation, and has refused to refund us, at minimum, the R7,500 we paid over and above the 50% required deposit. It is frustratingly sad to see one human take advantage of another’s pain and suffering! We lost a sister and a lot of money, with no mercy from Cathkin Cottage!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 13 Jul 2023
Dear Raksha. Sadly, you have taken to this platform to express your opinion having not stayed here which is in no way a reflection on my property, my staff and the quality of accommodation, breakfast and service we provide. The terms and conditions of the booking were stipulated at the outset and at no point did I ever doubt you or question your integrity. I was in contact with numerous people that were due to stay with you and they completely understood my position in offering you alternative dates, which they gave to me, but unfortunately, due to non-availability, I was not in a position to assist you. Alternative dates were given to Vasti, who was happy to accept. It was only yesterday that she told me that she wanted to cancel yet again and move the booking to new dates. Sadly, I was not able to assist. I have been holding rooms for you and declining business to accommodate you, and when I explained this to Vasti, she said that she understood my situation. July 14 was not a forced stay; it was dates that you requested where I was able to assist. I never took advantage of you or the situation, and I take umbrage to this remark. I was and am very sympathetic to your situation, hence my decision to offer alternative dates. I look forward to having you with us in the future. Roger Petyt
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claudia G wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Drakensberg is not only one of South Africa’s most acclaimed tourist destinations but also my favourite venue for the past 50 years. Cathkin Cottages, set in the breath-taking Cathkin Peak area of the Drakensberg Mountains, offers guests panoramic views of the region and is central to some of the best central Drakensberg resorts, hiking trails, outdoor activities and restaurants. If you’re interested in visiting the central Drakensberg during your next holiday or spend time for a writing retreat, Cathkin Cottages B&B is the accommodation offering for you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 10 Jul 2022
Top of the morning Claudia. It was so special having you here and that you have taken time to share a review of your recent stay with us is truly appreciated. Thank you for your lovely comments and it is just so heart warming to know that through the years you have enjoyed your time in our valley. I hope to see you here again soon, until then, keep well, stay safe and stay warm. Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ohavix320610 wrote a review Jul 2023
Unna, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The B&B is located at a spot that offers spectacular views on the Drakensberge mountains and you get to see many animals. While the common room is very cosy and provides space to sit together any time of the day, the bedrooms are good for sleeping only. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi did not work properly when we were there, but it was made up by the stunning views, the hospitality of the landlord, who guves useful tips and serves a delicious breakfast and a very friendly cat that roams the premises.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 weeks ago
Your review following your stay with us is hugely appreciated, thank you. Your positive comments on the breakfast, the views and our hospitality are really appreciated, and I will share this with my staff, so thank you again. The connectivity of the Wi-Fi has been rectified and I do apologies personally for this and for bringing this to my attention. As we speak, I can see the cat sunny himself out on the lawn... Thank you again and please take care. Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AndreaKiki wrote a review Mar 2020
Cologne, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The cottage is very well located, only a few minutes drive from the hiking area. We spent 2 nights there and enjoyed the calm and the fantastic service from host Roger and his team. The breakfast was one of the best we had during our trip. Everything was decorated and prepared with great attention to detail. Roger gave us lots of useful hints and was able to answer all our questions -thank you! We would definitely recommend this cottage to travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you did taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am humbled by your comments on the breakfast and thank you for this. I will share this with the staff who really do enjoy the positive feedback. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your journey and a a safe trip home. Best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mowgol wrote a review Apr 2022
Assagay, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cathie cottage has a very peaceful atmosphere. Our host, Roger, was very knowledgable about the area, places to visit, eat at etc. The room was clean and serviced every day. The breakfasts were amazing. No TV which was fantastic. Just nature at its best.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 25 Apr 2022
It was such a pleasure having you here and I am very humbled by your lovely review. Thank you and I hope on your next visit back to the Berg we will have the pleasure of you company here once again. Take care and best regards Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrolli668525 wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very nice stay in the idyllic surrounding. The B&B is very nice and clean. I want to mention the host especially. He lives for his job, was absolutely friendly and made great recommandations for hikes and restaurants.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Petyt, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Dear Marcel, it was just so special having you guys here, to meet you and to make sure that you enjoyed your time in our very special valley. Your kind words humble me, thank you. I am sure you will enjoy the rest of your time in SA and may you have a safe flight home. Best regards, Roger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Roger Petyt
5 contributions
Good morning and thank you for your valuable enquiry. The rooms are all en suite and have their own private entrances and are suitable for 2 persons. I only sell the cottage as a self catering establishment if a group of max 10 people take it in its entirety. Unfortunately I am fully booked on the dates in question. So sorry. Best regards Roger
portdonald2 wrote a tip Mar 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Safe parking at Cottage. No issue with dietary requirements but try and email ahead so they know in advance."
Read full review
Gil Ratcliffe wrote a tip Sept 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The two rooms at the front of the property are the best."
Read full review
Kate H wrote a tip Jun 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room facing the pool have gorgeous views"
Read full review
TracyUnitedKingdom wrote a tip Mar 2016
United Kingdom27 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms 1 and 2 face the lovely front gardens."
Read full review
Allan T wrote a tip Oct 2015
Dubai, United Arab Emirates27 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Poolside great. Room 3 and 4 private."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the UKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,257 - R 1,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalUKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CATHKIN COTTAGE BED AND BREAKFAST - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (UKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Drakensberg Boys Choir School (1.7 km), Falcon Ridge Bird of Prey Centre (3.4 km), and Drakensberg Mountains (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Valley Bakery, The Drakensberg Chocolate Memories, and Champagne Bistro - Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire