We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Zuurberg Road Addo, Addo Elephant National Park 6105 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (383)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20/10/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from River Bend Lodge
Updated 20/10/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available at Plumbago Spa. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Game room
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Spa
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa
602Reviews7Q+A78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 486
  • 78
  • 23
  • 12
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
mbronn wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
True five star experience. We jammed packed game drives and a hike in one day, but the environment is so relaxed and the individual attention made us feel as if we were in the bush for a week. Can be recommended for families with teenagers. My two had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 06 Oct 2021
Dear mbronn, Thank you so very much for your most wonderful review and for taking the time to put pen to paper. It means the world to us when our GUESTS love RiverBend Lodge as much as we do. For us its all about your 'luxury of choice' and as busy as you all were, (and that hike was a truly good one, some very real ups and downs ) that you even made and found the time, to also just experience the Lodge, and its beauty is wonderful. As they say 'attitude determines altitude', and if I may be so bold as to say you all were just wonderful and delightful to host, and I am so glad we could rise to meet you positive attitudes, and deliver. Your 'girls' were a delight, and so SO nice to see such well mannered, kind young ladies of that age group. Well done Mom. Looking forward to welcoming you back home to RiverBend Lodge soon. Sincerely, Debbie and the RiverBend Lodge Team.
Read more
sanchefrolich wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Lovely place, great food. Friendly staff and amazing game drives! For the price as South Africa’s, the rates are rather high and game drives are an extra cost. The rooms need a little upgrade, things like the blind rope broken, very old bathroom tiles. This is just based on other games farms we have been to. Tx
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 31 Oct 2021
Hi Sanchefrolich, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to do so, as this is how we manage to keep a finger on the pulse of our GUESTS and their response to their experiences while they stayed with us. As you are quite aware we 'stepped in' to assist another Lodge in the area, who due to reasons were not able to honor your booking made with them, you came to stay with us, at the same rate that the other Lodge had quoted you. We also honored the 2 FREE nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast, that you had won WITH THE OTHER LODGE, then your 3rd night that you extended too, you paid for at a really reduced rate again offered to you by the other Lodge rather than at our 5 star actual rate. And I was very happy to do this to help put the other Lodge, and for GUESTS in general not to have been disappointed at the last minute.....especially with flights booked and paid for. As such, you had also been quoted on the cost of doing a Game drive, by the other Lodge R1000 pp in all your correspondence, and this is what we then charged you. The other option was to do your own self drives in the Main Addo Camp at no extra charge. I think you will find it the norm that an All Inclusive rate includes game drives, where a B&B rate or a DB&B rate has additional aspects notes as payable extras. I am so sorry that you were upset by this and really wish we could have discussed it while you were here. Yes we are also aware that we have a few maintenance items to sort out this is ongoing, and we will ensure that the blind rope is repaired, again I do wish you had pointed this out to us at the time, be that as it may it will now be fixed. Unfortunately our tiles will not be changed for a while as we still have 20 staff not working due to COVID and before we spend any large sums of 'older tiles' we are focusing on rather trying to use our cash flow to support 20 families while they have no work, which I am sure you understand. Even converting to solar and new swimming pools are currently on hold. Again, sincerely Thank you for your review it is appreciated so that this discussion could occur. Sincerely Debbie
Read more
Jennifer S wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we were treated like royalty The Room was beautifully decorated and had all amenities required The food was delicious The game drives by Darlington were absolutely awesome , sharing so many facts with enthusiasm and really went the extra mile to show us the wild life & terrain both day & night This resort is definitely an awesome experience a recommended stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2021
Dear JennifersV5421FD, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Riverbend Lodge. Darlington is, I agree, an absolute treasure and his manner is just wonderful. The skill he has in tracking is legendary. Until we see you again do take care and be safe. Sincerely Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge team
Read more
Okidokie wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
I had the most wonderful time staying at River Bend. The lodge is situated on a private concession to Addo national park. Even though I was there during the worst drought since over 100 hundred years, I was baffled by the amazing abundance of wildlife, especially birds. In five days I saw no less than 85 birdspecies! This was made possible by the absolutely amazing guide, Chris. His knowledge about wildlife is astounding. He is passionate about what he does and it shows. He does everything he can to make the gamedrives even more impressive and fun than they already are. I learned and saw so much in just a few days, it was incredible. The lodge does everything to make your experience unforgettable. It is small scaled and personal. For two days I had private game drives. They
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 08 Jul 2021
Der BarbaraB, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. Indeed RiverBend is an exquisite gem, and we are so delighted to have been able to share it with you. Chris, is a wonderful Guide, one of whom we value highly. The Lodge has been blessed to find Guides who believe and carry through the Aim of the owners,...' create an opportunity to awaken a passion for conservation ' Again Thank You so much for your wonderful review, and just to let you know we miss seeing you on your pool lounger, as you sort through your treasure trove of 'phenomenal' photos from the day. Please do take care and be safe until we see you again. Sincerely, Debbie & the RiverBend Lodge Team
Read more
awilso977793 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
An incredible experience - we didn’t want to leave!! Debbie was so organized - nothing was ever too much - she accommodated us with our every need! We were made to feel very special. The accommodation, food and staff were amazing. Game drives were BRILLIANT, our absolute highlight was a very special encounter with the elephants. The night drive was magnificent, we stopped for a star gazing treat - it truly was awesome, Chris was a super informative ranger and made every effort to give us the best experience. I can highly recommend a visit to Riverbend, you won’t be disappointed! Side note - every COVID measure was taken into account, super professional!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 08 Jul 2021
Der awilso977793, Wow, Thank you so much for your stunning review. It truly means the world to us. The fact that you loved your stay with us is everything, and it makes all the little bit extra that we do so worthwhile. Our aim at RiverBend Lodge is to deliver an authentic bush experience where the Guest has the Luxury Of Choice, and that the team met that is wonderful to hear. Please do take care and be safe during these crazy times. Sincerely Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge Team
Read more
Robyn K wrote a review Jun 2021
Cape Town, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
We recently spent three nights at lovely Riverbend Lodge. Debbie and her team were welcoming and professional allowing us a very relaxing weekend with excellent food and comfortable accommodation. Nothing was too much trouble - dinner next to a roaring open fire and special dietary requirements attended to efficiently. Darlington (the resident guide) was top class and we were treated to some lovely sightings expertly tracked by him. Definitely a return visit for us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 08 Jul 2021
Dear Robyn, Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us. It always means so much to us when our GUESTS love RiverBend as much as we do. I will pass on to the team your wonderful comments and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back 'Home' soon. Please do take care out there, stay safe until we see you again. Sincerely Debbie & The RiverBend Lodge Team
Read more
aduran206661 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
A wonderful place to stay. Relaxing and beautiful. Cottage chalets, stoeps with stunning views, large bath, outside (and inside) shower, log fires in the lodge, cosy bar, helpful and friendly staff... The game drives are superb and magical, the guides knowledgeable and passionate. The vegetarian cuisine wasn't the best and the single restaurant soundtrack may send you round the bend, but breakfast is sumptuous. I highly recommend staying here, though we couldn't have afforded it in "normal" times. (Be aware that a 7.5% park tax will be added to your bill.)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Good Morning aduran206661, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review River Bend Lodge, and your stay with us. We sincerely take note of every comment and find all feedback to be constructive. I have since your stay been working on the Vegetarian dishes that were served to you and have added to our options there as well. So thank you again for your feedback at the Lodge as well. Oh my gosh - i am so sorry that the tape was not changed up, this was an absolute oversight on our behalf, as we have so may options to play. This has been addressed with the team and it is now a wonderful variety again. Please do take care, and we would love to see you again and WOW you with our Veggie meals. Sincerely Debbie & The River Bend Lodge Team
Read more
dorischristina2015 wrote a review May 2021
Hamburg, Germany51 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
I spent two days with my husband at the lodge. The manager Debbie and her team were amazing and the rooms are very nice - especially the additional shower outside and the coffee maker. The guide we had for the safari drives war fantastic and we managed to see the pride of lions, a lot of elephants, a herd of buffaloes and two white rhinos! However, for the high price you pay for the accommodation you would expect the internet to work and also the showers in the bathroom. Both had serious problems in in our case (no access to any webpage or possibly to send/receive mails in your room). Also being charged 550 Rand for just a soup and a malva pudding for dinner I feel is excessive. I am aware of the struggles the hospitality industry is facing due to Covid and am happy to pay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 15 May 2021
Dear Dorischristina2015, I sincerely Thank You for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I must agree with you that regardless of the special B&B rate, of R1796.90 per person, that you paid to be staying inside a Big 5 National Park, at a 5 Star Lodge, one would still expect there to be the free 'working' internet, so I must firstly apologize for the fact that the Internet was going through issues when you arrived, as discussed with you during your stay we had IGEN HEROTEL come out, just before your arrival, and were under the impression that the issue was sorted out, only to call them back again during your stay, and once again when checking with the technicians, it really appeared that the issue had been resolved. I have again reported to IGEN HEROTEL and requested that they do another call out. I do wish you had mentioned the issue with your shower while here, so we could have sorted it out for you. Please if you get a chance, can you let me know what the problem was, so we can sort it out. manager@riverbendlodge.co.za Then with regards to the extras you had, such as dinner, I was not informed that you had, had a dinner of just the soup and the desert, and had not had any main course, please do send me your details and I will happily refund you the R560 we charge for a 3 course Dinner. I truly do wish you had chatted to me about this on the day as i would have sorted it out immediately. I will also discuss this with my staff and do some further in house training. The other SAN Park extras, as noted when booking, are fees due to SAN Parks by every Guest that visits a SAN Park property, and are unfortunately beyond our control, but we hope, at the end of the day very worthwhile as a contribution to conservation. Again Thank You for your constructive comments as without them we would not be able to continuously strive to improve. Sincerely, Debbie
Read more
725carinev wrote a review May 2021
Port Elizabeth, South Africa9 contributions1 helpful vote
We spend two days at River bend lodge. Absolutely amazing lodge. Our game ranger was Chris and he was amazing. He gave us so much information throughout our game drives, and truly went the extra mile. Saw lions, buffalo's and so much more. Once in a lifetime experience when lion roared right next to us. The staff was wonderful, from Debbie to the chef and cleaning staff. The rooms are 5 star, meals was fine dining with the best food prepared for us. Best 2 days ever! Would really recommend this absolutely gem ..you will not regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear 7255carinev, Wow what an absolutely stunning review on River Bend Lodge, I am so thrilled that you loved it as much as we do. Chris, is an absolute gem, as are all my other staff (fondly referred to as my A team), they take such a personal pride in River Bend and its wonderful when its noted. Travel safely and take care Sincerely, Debbie & the A Team
Read more
Chris A wrote a review Apr 2021
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location within the Nyathi concession of the park surrounded by lots of wildlife. Very friendly staff and onsite dining made it a relaxing stay for us and our baby so we would gladly recommend to others! The room would have benefited from more efficient LED lighting and a low flow shower head to save water.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Debbie Carinus, General Manager at River Bend Lodge
Responded 13 Apr 2021
Dear ChrisA5676, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on River Bend Lodge and our stay with us. We love nothing more than when a family have stayed with us and hear that Mom & Dad were able to relax and also enjoy their stay with us, especially with a little one. Thank you also for your very constructive showerhead suggestion and I will definitely be looking into this. You will be happy to hear that as we replace globes we are replacing with LED's. Stay safe until we see you again. Sincerely Debbie & the River Bend Lodge Team
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$443 - US$913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
river bend hotel addo elephant national park
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeGreater AddoAddo Elephant National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing