We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1025 Beach Ave Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (185)
Room & Suite (163)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#12 of 37 hotels in Cape May
Travellers' Choice
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May.
Read more
Room & Suite (163)163
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
1160Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 665
  • 310
  • 106
  • 47
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ShelaL wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
We had a third floor oceanfront room. Unfortunately, one of the outside dining areas was directly below. There is also another outside dining area on the second level. There was constant noise from patrons and the live nightly music. One night the patron noise lasted until 11pm. The balcony was useless in this situation. The lack of communication from the front desk is unacceptable. We were not given correct instructions regarding the beach tags. They are to be returned daily to the front desk. No one told us. We read the receipt which indicated to return tags prior to check out. We received a call from the front desk requesting we return the tags immediately. On Sunday, 7:50am, we received a call from the front desk asking if we wanted maid service on Monday. We said “No”. When we returned from a tour Monday afternoon, two staff members were in our room. They indicated no one told them we didn’t want maid service. Needless to say, we did not enjoy our time at the Montreal Beach Resort. Will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Jet624407 wrote a review 18 Jun
3 contributions
This was our first visit to the Montreal Beach Resort and it was wonderful! The staff were all very helpful and friendly. When I made our reservations the woman who helped me asked if we were celebrating anything special (we were — the end of the school year), and then when we arrived we found delicious cupcakes (and a note) in our room for our boys to celebrate! Our kids really enjoyed the pool, and I loved that we had a view of the beach from our balcony. We enjoyed Harry’s as well! We would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Call to make your reservations (vs. reserving online) - they are super helpful and will help you...
See more room tips
Janet T wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel room was just okay. Really loud party going on in a nearby house the first night of our stay which sounded like it was right outside our room. Hotel can’t do anything about it. Would never stay at this property again. We are in Cape May not Wildwood. Should have selected a different hotel to stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Dustin Seraile, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. Unfortunately, the house party adjacent to the hotel was out of our control, as they were well within their rights to have a party on their property, and they were abiding by Cape May's noise ordinance laws. Again we thank you again for staying with us here at the Montreal Beach Resort.
Read more
Lauren M wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
The hotel was a little over-advertised. An upscale motel, not a beach resort. Spotlessly clean, lovely views. Very over priced- not a $200 room. Harry's restaurant was a huge disappointment. We ordered the Lobster Eggs Benedict and the crab and avocado omelet for breakfast. Neither was edible. Lobster was soaked in salt and omelet was missing avocado and tasted fishy. Both stayed on the plate. There's $50 we'll never see again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms closest to office have views partially blocked by building. Other end of building has live...
See more room tips
Response from Dustin Seraile, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay. The information you provided was greatly appreciated and will be pass on to the necessary departments. Thank you for staying at the Montreal Beach Resort.
Read more
anonymousA9870PC wrote a review May 2021
Atlantic City, New Jersey7 contributions2 helpful votes
Got confirmation email that would receive 10% off voucher for Harry's restaurant in lieu of housekeeping during 2-night stay. Upon check in, was told that we would not be receiving this. Private balcony was not private at all. Very noisy and overly well lit while on balcony except in the middle of the night and just before sunrise. Suite was very small for the price. Went in the "off-season" (mid-May) but even the AAA discounted suite was expensive. Bathtub drain plug did not work so had to just use the shower. Had to park on the street Friday night because the hotel lot was full. Excellent location. Harry's dinner was very good but we were not allowed to have the charge added to our room bill. Could not check out from the room. Were told that the pool would be open for our full stay but there was no lifeguard on duty so the pool was off-limits. Ice machine very close to room but the type of ice that melts very quickly so we had to refill it often. Sofa bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Sheets and pillows were provided for it but no blanket(s). Housekeeping did respond quickly and positively to request for additional coffee packets.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Response from Dustin Seraile, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your stay, but we would like to respectfully bring some information to your attention that you presented that was not accurate. The confirmation does not state you get a 10% off voucher in leiu of no housekeeping during your two day stay. What is stated is that you receive a $10 food credit per day. In regards to the pool being closed due to no lifeguard on duty, we don't have life guards for our pool and the pool hours are from 9am-7pm. The only reason the pool would have been closed is if it was after it's operational hours. Again, we thank you for sharing your feedback and concerns about your stay and we hope you come visit is again in the near future.
Read more
US$168 - US$575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
montreal hotel cape may, montreal inn cape may, montreal cape may
Montreal Inn
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Montreal Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Montreal Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cape May City Beaches (0.2 km), Emlen Physick Estate (1.0 km), and Washington Street Mall (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Montreal Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Montreal Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Montreal Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Montreal Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Montreal Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Washington Inn, Peter Shields Inn & Restaurant, and Cape May Peanut Butter Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Montreal Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Montreal Beach Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Cape May.
Are any cleaning services offered at Montreal Beach Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Montreal Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Montreal Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting World War II Lookout Tower (4.9 km), Historic Cold Spring Village (4.9 km), and Sunset Beach Gifts (5.2 km).