We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carroll Villa Hotel

19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Site
View deal
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (238)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 19/11/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19/11/27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#4 of 37 hotels in Cape May
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
1679Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 087
  • 425
  • 97
  • 44
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephani C wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
My husband and I had a lovely stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Beautiful room, delicious breakfast and steps away from the beach. The staff could not be more friendly and accomodating. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
seanart wrote a review 20 Jun
Manchester, Connecticut22 contributions1 helpful vote
It’s all about the feeling of being part of a family. The owners, their children and the staff seemed like one big family and they invite you in if you’re open to it. With a small delightful hotel (a half a block from the beach), delicious restaurant and vibrant bar who wouldn’t want to belong? The desire to make the guests feel comfortable, accommodated and welcome was their number one priority. As self-described adventurers we don’t usually visit the same place twice but this is somewhere we would definitely return to. If you’re traveling to Cape May don’t miss an opportunity to stay at the Carroll Villa. You won’t regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good walking shoes. Beach attire. Healthy appetite.
See more room tips
Response from Mark Kulkowitz, General Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Seanart, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, The Carroll Villa Staff
Read more
Kenyon H wrote a review 20 Jun
Collingswood, New Jersey11 contributions5 helpful votes
Absolutely loved our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel! Set right in the heart of Cape May, super convenient to everything! It’s located at one of the towns best restaurants, Mad Batter, so you literally can have breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks, enjoy live music and take in all the good vibes. The staff is super inviting and excellent. Rooms are updated and kept extremely well. This is an all-around great Bed and Breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mark Kulkowitz, General Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear KenyonH, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, The carroll Villa Staff
Read more
Leslie B wrote a review 16 Jun
Downingtown, Pennsylvania4 contributions
Having only been to Cape May once prior for a weekend wedding, we wanted to get back for a few more days and really enjoy it. The Carroll Villa was a perfect find. The accommodations were beautiful and clean, staff very helpful and friendly. I loved that the Mad Batter restaurant and bar were on site. Delicious food. By booking directly with the Inn, we were provided $30 credit toward breakfast per room, beach tags and access to beach umbrella and 2 each chairs. SO convenient and a real benefit to our family. We had 3 rooms, all different, and beautiful. There was a nice parlor area for us to gather when we had a rainy day. One thing is you need to remember it is a stairs only Inn, no elevator. We didn’t mind this…helped get our steps in. Plus it was worth it. Really enjoyed our stay at the Carroll Villa Inn and trying to think when we can get back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Mark Kulkowitz, General Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear vacaNEtime, Thank you for he amazing review of our hotel!! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you all and we hope to see you all again soon. Sincerely, The Carroll Villa Staff
Read more
Michael wrote a review 14 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It pains me to write this review, because I REALLY wanted to like Carroll Villa, but I just returned from a stay there that was so disappointing and bizarre, that I'm struggling to find any redeeming quality besides maybe the location. Yeah. The location is quite nice. End of "redeeming quality list." We checked in on 6/2 around 3:30. We were given our room keys (room 18), breakfast vouchers, and a pass for complimentary chairs and an umbrella for the beach. We were lead to "the annex" part of the building, the entrance to which is inconveniently located behind the restaurant's host stand. We set out to find room 18. Well, room 18 doesn't exist. We were told we were given keys to the wrong room. We were *actually* in room 23. Okay. No big deal. We begin to settle into our room and I receive a text from the front desk that, since we were given the wrong keys, we also needed to exchange breakfast vouchers. Now it's getting redundant, but tomorrow is another day. We ate at The Mad Batter for breakfast on 6/3. Food was good, service was bad. First time I've received a drink I ordered at the start of the meal after I received the check. One and done for us. We planned on spending the day at the beach, but guess what we didn't get when we checked in? Beach badges. Had to go back to the front desk to get those. We then hit the beach and it was lovely. We returned to our room to shower and get ready to go out. I was in the shower for a few minutes when I could hear someone knocking on our door. My fiancee opened the door and was handed a stack of towels by the woman at the front desk and was told that our shower was leaking and that we needed to put the towels down on the floor. Perplexed, she took them. The floor outside the shower was completely dry. But my fiancee did as was instructed and put down the towels. Fast forward three minutes. My fiancee is now in the shower. Someone knocks on the door *again* and I don't answer right away because I'm in a towel and in the middle of shaving. Within a matter of seconds the knocking turns to POUNDING. Incessant, loud, pounding on our door. I rinse my face and crack open the door, where I am greeted by the woman from the front desk and (I assume) the hotel maintenance man. I'm informed our shower is leaking downstairs (we were somewhat above the bar) and we need to change rooms. Grrr. Awesome. Turn off the shower. Throw on clothes. Pack again. We treck back to the front desk, half wet from our showers, and receive keys to a new room. Room 20. Room 20 is bigger than our previous room. As is the bed. But it shares one wall with the restaurant and another wall with the annex staircase so it's very loud. The bathroom wasn't as nice as our previous room, and it's also street level, so all the folks waiting for the restaurant are right outside your window. To say it was an upgrade would be a stretch. I don't think it was an even exchange. Bigger isn't better. My fiancee is finishing getting ready in our new room and, after all this, know what would be great? A cocktail! I went out to the bar and wouldn't you know it, they were closed because of "an incident." That "incident" was the issue in my room. But I was refused service at the bar because our shower had leaked and they needed to fix it or clean up or whatever. Also, it's important to note that there were folks drinking at the bar (one of them named Mike because the bartender asked if I "was with Mike?" Maybe I should have said "yes") and some of the folks with drinks were the maintenance folks "working" on the leak. I went back to our new room cranky, disappointed, and drinkless. I'll also add this was all on my fiancee's birthday. We heard nothing from the front desk or management for the remaining two days of our stay. I guess in their eyes moving us to a new room (which they literally *had* to do) was enough. Although they did text me tonight to ask how I was enjoying my stay. Six hours after we had checked out. I'm sure not all experiences will be like this. I mean, I hope not. Just be aware of poor management. Cape May vacations aren't cheap, maybe consider spending your money elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Mark Kulkowitz, General Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear michaeljay89, We appreciate your feedback on our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, unfortunately we had a major leak coming from your bathroom that day and caused a flood in the bar area over where the drinks are made those at the bar already had drinks before this occurred, and everything had to be drained and wiped down due to the water coming through the ceiling which had insulation in it. There are somethings you just can not control and this was one of those situation. We do apologize and hope you have a wonderful summer. Sincerely, The Carroll Villa Staff
Read more
US$185 - US$487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
carroll hotel cape may, carroll cape may
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreCape May CountyCape May
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carroll Villa Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Carroll Villa Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Washington Street Mall (0.2 km), Cape May Stage Professional Equity Theater (0.3 km), and Out of the Past Antiques (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carroll Villa Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Carroll Villa Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carroll Villa Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Carroll Villa Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carroll Villa Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cape May Peanut Butter Co., Hot Dog Tommy's, and Chill.
Is Carroll Villa Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cape May.
Are there any historical sites close to Carroll Villa Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting World War II Lookout Tower (4.1 km), Historic Cold Spring Village (5.0 km), and Sunset Beach Gifts (4.4 km).