We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Superior Shores Resort

Visit hotel website
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Superior Shores Resort is located on Lake Superior in Two Harbors, Minnesota, twenty miles north of Duluth. The resort offers a variety of accommodations at three unique properties that include the Main Lodge, Burlington Bay, and the Lakehomes. Situated on sixty acres of north woods forest, the resort features over a mile of Lake Superior coastline. Conveniently located at the center of many North Shore attractions, including Gooseberry Falls, Split Rock Lighthouse, Canal Park and the Superior Hiking Trail, the resort is the perfect base camp location for your day tripping activities. With something for everyone, visit Superior Shores Resort and experience the North Shore at its best!
Read more
Property amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Hot Tub
Business Centre with Internet Access
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Suites
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Harbour View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
Getting there
Duluth Intl Airport47 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
501Reviews
545Photos
11Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 194
  • 134
  • 79
  • 56
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The employees of the hotel really turned us off upon arrival, and it never got better. Inappropriate in their conversations and not really interested in the guest. Vernon in the restaurant was wonderful, and she was the only reason we had a passable dinner in the on site restaur
Read more
Response from JennaP845, Manager at Superior Shores Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi JT564, Thank you for your review ~ we do really appreciate your feedback. This will be addressed!
Read more
We go to Duluth twice a year so we can stay at Superior Shores. Love the Burlington Bay penthouses. Great view from the balcony, two fireplaces, whirlpool tub, and neatly decorated. Always clean. Personnel are always friendly. Kamloops Restaurant serves a great breakfast. We usua
Read more
Response from JennaP845, Manager at Superior Shores Resort
Responded 08 Nov 2018
Hi Stampwhenican, Thank you so much for the awesome review ~ we so appreciate the feedback! The Burlington penthouses are really so spectacular and we can't wait to have you back. Breakfast at Kamloops is my favorite meal :)
Read more
Was there for a Campground and Resort Conference and unfortunately there is no way way I could recommend this venue to travelers or those looking for a a future venue.

They knew that we were coming and they were also aware of our schedule. Tuesday arrival, check-in time is no
Read more
Response from JennaP845, Manager at Superior Shores Resort
Responded 06 Nov 2018
Hi Paul, Thank you for your review ~ we do appreciate the feedback! It is very important and helpful to hear this from your perspective - it will certainly help us amend things in the future. Your group had almost 100 rooms in it - even with a full front desk staff, no front desk can check in 100 rooms at one time - we offered our very discounted rates to the dates before and after the conference to accommodate any travelers that would like to extend their stay to avoid just this scenario. Chicken Fettucini Alfredo is a one-toned colored meal, you are right about that. I will bring this to our team and let them know that perspective; however, we grill our chicken and do not use boil in a bag eggs. We crack eggs, whisk them, then put them on the flattop to make scrambled eggs that can feed 80 at one time. We were asked to make a soup (and all meals) that can feed all dietary inhibitions when it comes to diners - a gluten free, vegan, dairy free, nut free, soy free soup - I thought our organic homemade tomato basil was delicious; I am sorry you did not agree. Thank you for your review - it is very helpful to hear the perspective of the conference goer in a conference that requires 4 complete room resets, closes our restaurant and lounge, and rearranges our lobby - when we went above and beyond to fit and accommodate all of the changes that the group required. It is our endeavor to take your comments and use them to improve. Thank you!
Read more
Very nice views overlooking the lake in the distance and the immediate grounds. Some family members were in a suite with everything one could want for cooking meals. Both rooms were extremely clean and well-kept.The desk staff could be a little more friendly. In a three day sta
Read more
Response from JennaP845, Manager at Superior Shores Resort
Responded 29 Oct 2018
Hi Trishdf, Thanks you for your review! We appreciate your feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, the rooms, and the view. We can't wait to have you back!
Read more
Have been a fan of this resort for over a decade...not anymore. A series of relatively minor issues added up to a not so great stay - bad enough (did not complain), then I decided to call over an extra mystery charge on my credit card - what happens next is almost comical.

First
Read more
Response from JennaP845, Manager at Superior Shores Resort
Responded 23 Oct 2018
Hi Stoked24R, Thank you for your review - we really do rely on this type of feedback to address situations we are unaware of. I am just as surprised as you are regarding this interaction with one of our staff members. I find it completely unacceptable and it will be addressed. You say you've been coming for over a decade - I do hope that you realize this one interaction is not indicative of our resort culture - although I have no excuse for why any staff member would treat a guest like you were treated, I must tell you it is not at all what we teach our staff, or stand behind. There has been so shift in management, so this really is the case of one unfortunate experience. I am dismayed you had this experience, after so many years of good experiences. It is a shame you won't be back. We will address the situation. Thank you!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSuperior Shores Resort
The Superior Jacuzzi with Fireplace at the Superior Shores Resort
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSuperior Shores Resort
The Superior Inn Bedroom Lodge Suite at the Superior Shores Resort
Our room
Under the bed cover that the Maid Made...want to jump right in
Previous
Funny you say that the employees were rude. I just called there to make a reservation and the lady was extremely rude! I called her out on it. Not good at all! She acted like I was a big bother. Where is a better choice to stay?
Hi Daybreak, Thank you for bringing this up! We certainly don't want our potential guests to have an experience with any less than excellent customer service. So, I will endeavor to track down and speak with the agent you spoke with, to make sure this doesn't happen again. Now about your question, I believe this is the best place to stay, so I can't help you on that one - but there are very nice places up and down the shore, from Duluth to Grand Marais. Please enjoy your trip Up North, wherever you stay :)
0 votes
are small dogs allowed and what is the charge
Hi Gigsby53, We do have a select number of dog friendly rooms - we have rooms with two beds, a single king bed, or one bedroom suites. We do have a $15/night pet fee. You will sign a pet contract at check-n as well (just to acknowledge our pet policies). Hope this helps!
1 vote
are dogs allowed and what is the charge
Some units allow dogs...I think it is $30/night. When you look online at the units it will specifically say if dogs are allowed. Dogs are allowed in the main lodge area and throughout the grounds.
0 votes
How far from the Burlington bay building is the pool
Hi Kim J - thanks for the note! Here's the short answer: Burlington Bay has an indoor pool, and indoor/outdoor hottub in the facility. You can reach the pool without going outside. Here's the long answer: We have three main properties; the lodge, the lakehomes, and Burlington Bay. Our lodge and Burlington Bay both have indoor pools that are open this time of year. If you stay at the lodge, you can use either pool, and if you stay at Burlington Bay, you can use either pool - but it is a 1/2 mile between the lodge and Burlington Bay. If you stay at Burlington Bay, the access to the pool area is found from any building you stay in, via an underground tunnel (we're talking maybe 25 feet, so no further than a "normal" hotel's pool). Either place (lodge or Burlington) has a pool. I hope this helps! Thank you!
0 votes
Show all answers
Does the one bedroom suite at Burlington Bay have an oven?
Hi Heppalou, Yes, all of the suites have a full kitchen - to include stove/oven, microwave, full size fridge, dish, glass, and silverware, dishwasher, blender, toaster, and the obligatory junk drawer :) Hope this helps!!
0 votes
Previous
"The restaurant has a lakeside view."
"Avoid the Restaurant at all costs"
"Request a lake view. Also, if quiet nights are a must, request distance from the elevator."
"All rooms face Lake Superior"
"Burlington Bay Lake Home is awesome"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
superior shores hotel two harborssuperior shores two harborssuperior shores resort
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaTwo Harbors
NUMBER OF ROOMS
225
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing