We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on Lake Superior

Save
Share
350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (370)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (323)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 21/05/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inn on Lake Superior
Updated 21/05/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary breakfast, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke-free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Black Woods Catering are among the luxurious extras setting The Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve online today!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1751Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 126
  • 356
  • 128
  • 91
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bekah L wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We loved the place so much! Right on the lake, amazing roof top warm pool and just so cozy! Our room was beautiful and very clean. Can’t wait to come back! Also, Ashley at the front desk was very friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 821bekahl, Thank you for your wonderful review. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Rachael H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I’m not sure how I really feel about The Inn on Lake Superior. It definitely didn’t feel clean, and it needs some TLC. I understand that COVID-19 has hit every employer hard, but some of the things we found in our room could’ve been easily avoided. The main area of our room was clean, but the bathroom was rather if-y. We found dog food behind the door, black long hairs in the shower, and toilet paper stuffed inside the door stop on the wall. The mirror on the outside of the bathroom had water marks and streaks all over it. The bathroom smelled like an animal had an accident, and it wasn’t pleasant. I understand that things get overlooked, but at $240.00 a night, I do expect a clean room, and that includes a clean bathroom, too. So, please, just be mindful of these things I mentioned above. :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 860rachaelh, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Please accept our sincerest apology for the many issues with your room. The details that were missed while cleaning your room are unacceptable, and I will share your comments with our housekeeping team so we can correct where we fell short. Based on your review and profile information I wasn't able to find your reservation in our system. Please reach out to me directly at kbeck@innonlakesuperior.com with more specific reservation details to give us an opportunity to make amends. Thanks again for sharing your review! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Carly S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed here during a busy weekend in October and it was great! The front desk staff, Carolyn, Anthony, and Miranda were warm and friendly upon arrival and departure. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet and the view of the lake was beautiful. I always look forward to coming to the Inn because they treat me like a VIP!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Carly S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you had a great time in Duluth, and it means so much to us when our customer service is a memorable part of our guests' experience. You are most certainly a VIP in our book, and we can't wait to see you again soon! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
MNteacher wrote a review Oct 2021
38 contributions5 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior in the past, although not for a couple years. Unfortunately, it's not the nice hotel it used to be. The drain plug in our tub wouldn't stay up so we had to jam a washcloth in it so that water could drain. I had to trade my comforter for a different one because the one on my bed was dirty on the edges, as though it had not been washed in a while. The new one was clean but very lumpy. The carpet in the hall is coming up at the seams in spots, making it easy to trip. The location is great and the staff was friendly, though.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear MNteacherT7263ZC, Thank you so much for staying with us in the past and for visiting us again during your recent trip to Duluth. I sincerely apologize for your broken drain, the lumpy comforter, and the worn carpet. We will certainly address these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Also, we are happy to hear that our customer service and location were positive aspects of your stay. Thanks again for your comments--we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Jana M wrote a review Oct 2021
Ontario's Near North, Canada40 contributions35 helpful votes
I have been the phone 26 mins with Inn on Lake Superior trying to book 3 rooms. At which point, Joe the manager dropped the phone, and I could hear laughing then he hung up on me. I called back, got hung up on again, waited a while and called again, asked for him and got hung up on again. When I finally did talk to him he said they are busy. This is horrendous customer service. I guess this hotel does not need or appreciate their guests. I posted my comments on their Facebook page and they keep deleting it, rather than offering to reach out and try to resolve the issue.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Jana M, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your phone experience. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing customer service you received. Unfortunately, there are more details to this situation that weren't shared in your review, and we feel it is unnecessary to share Joe's name publicly in this context. We appreciate his hard work and loyalty as an employee, and we are happy to have him as part of our team. Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn on lake superior hotel duluth, hotel on lake superior, lake superior inn, on lake superior duluth, lake superior hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaDuluth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn on Lake Superior
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Nearby attractions include Lake Superior Art Glass (0.09 km), Aerial Lift Bridge (0.4 km), and Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northern Waters Smokehaus, Vitta Pizza, and Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Inn on Lake Superior located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Duluth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Inn on Lake Superior offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate (4.8 km), Clayton, Jackson, Mcghie Memorial (0.8 km), and Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial (0.7 km).