We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mbizi Bush Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mbizi Bush Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Mbizi Bush Lodge
 Click to rate
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It is a wonderful lodge to stay for people who like wildlife in the middle of nature , who love the good food in combination with the evening and morning drives. Sitting in the morning on your own terras with a cop of coffee the giraffes,impalas just pas your cottage. During dinner you can see all the wild animals who...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 715sietsep
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sietse Thank you for the nice reveiw, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the bush. We also relly enjoyed having you here and it felt as it was friends we waved goodbye to. lots of warm thoughts Mette & Michael

Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed the experience and choosing Mbizi was part that made this trip amazing for us we felt safe and the service was superb the owner of the hotel where there all the time for questions and advice about the area and how we can make our trip there full of excitement we planned a day trip to gods window...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762imana
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Iman Thank you for you very kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We also enjoyed having you here and really appreciated our talks on small and very big topics. You are definetly the best friends we have i Saudi Arabia ;) warm regards to you both Mette & Michael

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge has three Rondals which are Very clean and comfortable with little patios looking into the bush . Main lodge has a well stocked bar and lovely indoor dinning area , we opted to dine under the stars looking over into the bush , the watering hole attracts game of all sizes and the pool area can attracted the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 273carlt
Nelspruit
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not family friendly Travelling with 3 kids ranging from 23 months to 5 years Felt that kids were not welcomed No 5 star service We fekt on the way anything we asked felt that it was too much of an effort for the owners. When we checked out nobody even helped with the luggage Mbizi unfortunatley will not see us...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 547mireillep
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mireille, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much as our other guests. As a consequence of your review and as a consequence of the other guest complaining about your noisy children, we have decided to change our children’s policy; so, we can assure our future guests that no children under the age of 5...

Nice, France
Reviewed 21 March 2017

A lodge in the middle of the bush next to Kruger park. If you are looking for an Out of Africa experience were nature comes first and you are only a guests of nature - then this is the place for you.This is the kingdom of the animals. We saw every day (4days) animals at the waterhole, 250m from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willemienvc
Michael K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Will & Stewart Thank you so much for your very nice review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you were well rested and felt relaxed after your stay. You were really lucky with the leopard spotting at the waterhole, I wish I had seen it too. Take care and enjoy the whales Kind regards...

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We had the pleasure of staying three nights and very much enjoyed it. Our cottage was spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and we loved sitting on our little verandah surrounded by bush and birds singing. The lodge, pool area and deck are equally wonderful, breakfast and dinners are very delicious and I much appreciated the veggie option. Didn't see any animals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flauschipoohbear
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you nice review, we would love to welcome you back and remember that you can book directly at Mbizi's home page. Regarding the signage, I hope you saw the signs to Mbizi when arriving to the reserve. kind regards Mette & Michael

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Here we found a paradise in the middle of Africa's pride: the Kruger Park. We were well looked after by the dedicated, warm and talented hosts. Since Mette and Michael are Danish, it felt like we met at a common arena, in a respectful way in the African environment with Scandinavian touches/design. We highly recommend this resort! Martin and Tina...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 307christinan
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin & Tina We apperiated your stay, it is always nice to meet fellow Scandinavians. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Paradise. Lots of warm regards Mette & Michael

UK
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We recently stayed at the Mbizi Bush Lodge. The lodge itself is beautiful. it was clean, tastefully done and private. Only had space for 8 guests made the experience more special. The hosts were very kind and looked after us very well. We would highly recommend to anyone looking for accomodation in this area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F706DWlouisem
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay Kind regards Mette & Michael

Cullohill
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Truly one of the best places I have ever stayed. Beautiful buildings in the wilderness surrounded by nature and wild animals. A nearby watering hole draws the animals close and the infinity pool sometimes draws the elephants even closer. The breakfasts were great but the dinners blew us away. Amazing food freshly prepared and served in a beautiful dining area....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N5220JRwilliamb
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and the game drive with Michael. Kind regards Mette & Michael

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Mbizi, the rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and Mette and Michael are really great hosts. The most exciting part for us were the animals, the loge is not fenced so wild animals come and go ... We saw an elephant passing by and having a sip from the pool on our first day there....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anna Thank you for your review, it was very kind, we are glad that you enjoyed the stay and the elephants not to forget. Kind regards Mette & Michael

171 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grietjie Nature Reserve
15.1 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
249 reviews
39.1 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1 600 reviews
4.4 km away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
206 reviews
20.7 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1 028 reviews
21.6 km away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mbizi Bush Lodge includes all the elements needed to make a safari in Southern Africa an unforgettable experience. A stay at Mbizi includes a 3 course dinner and a full breakfast. Unique location in the heart of the bushveld, fabulous food, excellent game viewing and bird spotting makes Mbizi the perfect choice for long weekends, romantic get-aways and an ideal starting point for tours to the Northern Mpumalanga and Eastern Limpopo. Mbizi is an exclusive small lodge nestled in the African bush. A stay with us will provide you with a true nature experience. You can either watch the game in the privacy and tranquility of your own veranda or from the veranda at the main house overlooking our private waterhole. We are situated only 25 km from the Kruger National Park, Phalborwa gate. Mbizi is located in Grietjie Private Nature Reserve which is part of Balule Nature Reserve and unfenced to The Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mbizi Bush Lodge

Address: Plot 109, Grietjie Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Grietjie Nature Reserve
Price Range: R2 860 - R3 548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Mbizi Bush Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mbizi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mbizi Bush Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mbizi Bush Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have great views for sunrise”
Willemienvc, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Four identical rooms, all Perfect!”
ninal288, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only 3 rooms and they are all the same so don't worry”
safster24, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are going as a family group, ask for rooms 1 and 2. These are in the same building with a shared terrace.”
14aa, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All of the spacious lodges are with good view, hence can recommend all of them”
Terremoto_CH, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates