We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Hotel trincomalee

42 Alles Garden Uppevelli, Trincomalee 31000 Sri Lanka
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (217)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#34 of 38 small hotels in Trincomalee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We have accommodation to suit all budgets from Backpacker Caves to Standard rooms. The facilitis are what makes Aqua Inns attractive an outside pool, Herbal Steam Room, licensed beach bar, italian coffee machine serving espresso and cappuchino. A top 5* padi dive center, water sports and pigeon island trips. An aryuvedic spa, sun beds, Fernando's bar and grill restuarant serving , BBQ and many western and sri lankan dishes, beach bonfires, DJ parties on occasion. Yoga has just been introduced at sunrise and sunset
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
350Reviews4Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 91
  • 68
  • 59
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
AnkaW wrote a review Jul 2019
Bern, Switzerland27 contributions2 helpful votes
We only took this hotel because it belongs to Fernando‘s bar. That‘s also the only thing we really liked about this place: the location. Fernando‘s bar is great, we had a lot of fun there. We also did a snorkeling tour to Pidgeon Island here. There‘s a lot of partying going on, so be prepared for loud music at night. The rooms are very basic, which would be fine if they weren‘t so worned out. The water from our shower stayed on the bathroom floor and the entire building looked terrible. You definitely just pay for the location here. Next time, we would take another hotel nearby. They say they have a no-straw-policy (plastic in the oceans) but we got straws all the time, even when we asked not to.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Floortje P wrote a review Sept 2018
Nijmegen, The Netherlands27 contributions48 helpful votes
Everything about this was terrible. - we had a frog in our toilet!!!! Yes a frog, we are travellers we know in what kind of country we are. But it was so bad, the badroom was terrible it smelled really bad everything was old and broken. There were holes in the walls everywhere and some spots witch you don't want to know where it came from. - walls in the room are full with mole, when we were laying in our bed we felt the nasty things in our longs. Woke up coffing and we both had a cold. - airconditioning was so old when from cold to warm on his own. And it looked like it could fall off the wall every moment. - the bed was hard, net for musquitos couldn't close so we are full with bites now. - service: changed our room to another but it was just as terrible! The boy who changed the room with us looked drunk. He told us that the frogs also need a place to go??? - swimming pool: you could see the cleaning stuff on the water. The beds next to the pool are really old. Do yourself a favor and don't book this hotel!!!!! It's way to expensive for the things you get!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah H wrote a review Jul 2018
7 contributions8 helpful votes
The room is basic but adequate for the price. Great location right on the beach front. Breakfast included in the price was also delicious. Unfortunately the hotel seems to be adding more and more table/sun beds/ bar stools but adding no extra staff!! The service is so slow and for this reason, we never ate an evening meal here. Breakfast service is supposed to start at 7.30am however at 7.40 we were still trying to get someones attention to place our order. This isnt ideal when their own diving school starts their sessions at 8am. At 8.10 we were till waiting for both breakfast and coffees. Avoid the restaurant if you want quick service. Hotel and rooms ok.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Massimo wrote a review May 2018
2 contributions
The hotel is nice, facing the sea. The room was not the best but average in Sri Lanka. The most negative aspect is that someone came into our room, just bought for 3 days, rummaging in our suitcases and stealing over € 100. The staff did nothing to help us, the surveillance cameras present did not work. The staff told us that the police would not come and that in order to make a complaint we would have to go to the police station the following day. We decided not to go in order not to waste precious time, also because it would not have helped us to recover our money. We were very disappointed by the incident and we recommend to be careful of thieves in this structure. The beach bar however is very nice and quaint, the waiters are friendly and the food is good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Trip754280 wrote a review Mar 2018
14 contributions3 helpful votes
Originally planned staying 2 nights in trinco but stayed 4 nights in the end. The rooms are clean and basic (bed, mosquito net, bathroom, balkony or terrace). Had a fan room in the first floor with an amazing ocean view from the balkony. Because of the sea breeze i didn‘t need an air-con could easly sleep with open balkony doors. The staff was super helpfull and nice. Always there to sort out problems and to answer all the questions). I also choosed the b&b option. The breakfast is at fernando‘s bar at the beach. The breakfast options are really good (four different menu options) and the breakfast has the perfect size to start the day. If you getting bored from lying at the beach you can book some tours (deepsea fishing, pigeon island snorkling, whale watching, etc.pp.)... There are many restaurants in the area and also a coffee shop (café on the 18th) with real espresso. Only little complain from my side is the mosquito net in my room (few holes inside). They really should by new ones. And the bathroom walls need a bit renovation work. I also recommend to call them for a reservation or show on (don‘t know how it is during the high season) because its way more expensive about booking.com.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Patrik B wrote a review Dec 2017
90 contributions36 helpful votes
The only positive thing is location and facilities - both very good, first impression is therefore very nice, positive. Then - bad food in restaurant, very expensive, also very expensive breakfast and beer. Very unfriendly staff, almost all of them. Rooms dirty, quite ugly, the worst thing was that when we didnt eat there, everybody was so unfriendly, i have never felt so unwelcommed in place i was staying, just horrible experience
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cynthia L wrote a review Oct 2017
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
This hotel is actually very cool. The decor and facilities available is good and the food is decent, and fairly affordable even for a backpacker. They have dorms if you're travelling solo too which is great. I stayed in an a/c room with a friend and I thought it was the most comfortable sleep I've had in all of Sri Lanka. Give this place a chance!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from celticfernando, Owner at Aqua Hotel trincomalee
Responded 24 Mar 2018
Thank you so much , it was a pleasure having positive people like you in our little paradise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rizza A wrote a review Oct 2017
Barangay Buena Suerte, Philippines34 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
If your looking for place with spacious room and working AC , to meet travellers , beach activities like scuba diving , snorkelling and beach volleyball this is the place . They have cool beach bar , clean room , swimming pool and working wifi . Be more patient with the service sometimes , i like Nasreen his the cool waiter of fernandos . Also we got a chance to meet the owner , his cool and give us the special fernandos cocktail . Thank you. And i will definitely book this place again . Cool and chill place to be in trincomalle .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from celticfernando, Owner at Aqua Hotel trincomalee
Responded 24 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for choosing to be here and sharing your views, it was our pleasure to have you here and you are very welcome anytime, take care see you soon 🥂
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MGD2907 wrote a review Sept 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands9 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights in a 3 person room with AC. Room and bathroom was ok. But the hotelstaff wasnt friendly at all. Everyday they told us a different price about checking out later, they lied several times and were slowly and not helpfull. Taxi to airport is too expensive. Btw, location is very good! Nice atmosphere, crowded (in a good way). Only thing that is missing are pillows for on the beach beds and chairs. So do come here (fernando's bar) for a drink!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from celticfernando, Owner at Aqua Hotel trincomalee
Responded 24 Mar 2018
Thank you for your VALUBLE input, I would like to point out that you were not forced to take this taxi you can’t afford! and we do not have our own taxis, we help the customers by calling a local taxis,perhaps next time stick to the bus to suite your budget or new carrier 🤣 as for the beach sun bed , they are free and we do not charge extra, we are a budget hotel ,all hotels in our price range do not include sun beds or provide even for a fee , you can’t expect the world for peanuts 🥜
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elena B wrote a review Sept 2017
Tübingen, Germany52 contributions3 helpful votes
The bar and hotel looks both very nice and idyllic at the first glance. Until they show you your rooms... Rooms: We didn't expect anything special due to previous reviews, but at least a clean room would have been nice. As soon as we walked in the room we were welcomed by a number of flies and mosquitos. Certainly due to the fact that we couldn't close our window properly, which is a problem in itself being on the ground floor without a safe. The fan is very loud but it's essential to have it on of an evening, the bathroom floor was wet and smells due to water sitting there for a long period. All in all dirty and pretty unhygienic. Restaurant/bar: The location couldn't be better. The bar by itself looks very nice and has a Jamaican touch. Although the staff could be much nicer, nobody smiles, nobody talks, nobody is polite! You might get the feeling you are annoying them. Very disappointing considering everywhere else we have travelled the people have been so welcoming and incredibly helpful. I wouldn't expect too much food wise. But I would recommend the devilled chicken:) Pool: Be careful sharp edges. Even though they clean the pool every day, the water smells . Make sure you wash your swim stuff afterwards, ours stunk the day after we wore them in them in there. I wouldn't come back! I'm very surprised this place is busy even with a bad/ lack of management and bad facilities. Must be the great location, but that's it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from AquaandFernandosbar, Manager at Aqua Hotel trincomalee
Responded 13 Sept 2017
Dear Guest, Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused in this regard and Thank you very much for your comments. Accordingly we will make sure to enhance the staff performance so that you may not face the same in the future. Thank You.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Trincomalee area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aqua Inns
LOCATION
Sri LankaEastern ProvinceTrincomalee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AQUA HOTEL TRINCOMALEE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aqua Hotel trincomalee
Which popular attractions are close to Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Nearby attractions include Uppuveli (0.01 km) and Sandun Gems And Clothings (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Conveniently located restaurants include Be Cool Juice Bar & Sea Food Restaurant, Ubay Seafood Restaurant , and Rea Beach by Nero kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Aqua Hotel trincomalee?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Velgam Vehera (3.8 km) and Girihandu Seya Temple (4.3 km).
Does Aqua Hotel trincomalee have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.